Better With Sprinkles

The Colourful Side to Healthy Living.

Chicken and Waffles…Minus Waffles.

1 Comment

Everybody having a good day?

Mine was pretty lazy…one goal I have during my summer of unemployment is catching up on the HBO shows and miniseries I haven’t seen yet. The boyfriend and I (I feel like he’ll need an introduction in a future post!) watched the first three episodes of Mildred Pierce.

Kate Winslet does no wrong.

(img source)

So far, it’s definitely getting my approval! Although watching the scenes in the restaurant, I was finding myself wondering about chicken and waffles. Is that strictly an American thing? Until a few years ago, I had never even heard of putting the two together. Is it any good? Might be something that goes on my food bucket list!

Lunch

Today’s lunch was a random mishmosh of stuff from the fridge.

There was: two sunny-side up eggs on spinach, leftover taco filling (chicken breast, brown rice, taco seasoning) with homemade salsa, baby carrots and hummus. A bunch of different flavours to satisfy every taste bud possible!

A lot of my lunches tend to go like this – I open the fridge and throw whatever I can find on a plate. I guess I’m too lazy to put much effort into it?

My afternoon snack was a slice of homemade zucchini banana chocolate chip bread I made last week. I based the recipe off of Courtney’s, but with a few alterations to take out some of the sugar. I may post my own changes in the future.

Turned out a bit dense/gummy, but I’m still enjoying every last slice!

Dinner

Tonight’s dinner was an interesting one for me mentally. My future mother-in-law suggested we bake up the chicken fingers she had in the freezer. A year or two ago, my answer would have been no. Absolutely not. Chicken fingers = not on the acceptable foods list. But now, I can roll with it when the opportunity arises.

No problems here!

The ones we had on hand were from M&M Meat shops (is that strictly a Canadian brand? I have no idea), and I was actually pretty surprised by these. The nutrition facts weren’t terrible considering that they are indeed, chicken fingers. Per one serving (two strips) they had 10 grams of fat, 1 gram saturated, and 12 grams of protein. While it was admittedly for a small serving, I was fairly impressed.

The ingredient list wasn’t the worst I’d ever seen either. Chicken, water, salt, breading (wheat crumbs, water, corn flour, wheat flour, corn starch, sugar, palm oil shortening, baking powder, salt, spices). The chicken was surprisingly light and tasty, without the greasiness you naturally associate with chicken fingers. Normally, I’d prefer to coat and bake my own chicken fingers, but not too bad when you’re short of time/ingredients or are suffering with general laziness 🙂

It goes back to the idea that no food should be off-limits. This would not be my ideal dinner every night, but once in a while, why the hell not?

I had two fingers with Diana sauce (best with plum sauce, but Diana sauce is a close second) and a side salad with homemade maple-balsamic dressing. I also had a few unpictured bites of potato salad.

This dinner was definitely on the smaller side, so I’m sure I’ll be wanting a snack before bed.

Until then, relaxing with the boyfriend and blog reading are the only things on the agenda for the evening.

Good night bloggies!

<— Are you willing to put effort into lunches? Or do you just roll with whatever you can dig up?

One thought on “Chicken and Waffles…Minus Waffles.

  1. Pingback: Adventures in Suburbia + Phase 1 Review « Better With Sprinkles

Leave a Reply

