Better With Sprinkles

The Colourful Side to Healthy Living.

We’ve Got History.

2 Comments

Fitness and I do, anyways. 🙂

I realize it’s probably still just the crickets and I right now, but I can pretend, right?

On my way to the gym this morning, it was dark, thundering, pouring rain – an ugly day, basically.

On the drive home…

Sunny skies

I love it when that happens, don’t you?

So I wanted to talk a little bit about my history with fitness and the gym.

In high school, I took two gym credits, and left it at that. One credit because I needed it, one that a friend of mine convinced me I should take. Although I was pretty active growing up (I played soccer, I danced, baseball, figure skating…name it, and I probably tried it at some point), I didn’t have any interest in working out in the traditional sense. I played field hockey in high school and absolutely loved it, but really, I started because a friend of my brother’s was the team captain in grade nine; she convinced me that I should try it. The fact that I got to wear a kilt was a bit of a selling point too. 🙂

I think I was better than Kate?

(img source)

When I hit university, I became interested in losing a few pounds. Although I was never officially overweight, I was getting pretty close (according to BMI standards, but I could go off on a whole other tangent with that) and wanted to slim back down. I joined the campus gym and started hitting the elliptical a few days a week. When I came home that summer, I started using my parents treadmill for a run/walk routine, trying to build up a bit of a running base. It made sense to me – it seemed to be the most effective way to burn calories! By that point, I had lost about 10 pounds and was looking to lose more.

From that point on, I fell in love with running. I would run on my treadmill for 30-45 minutes 3 days a week. Eventually, I started moving runs outside – it was the best way I’d ever found to clear my head. However, as I started to develop an eating disorder, my running became less about enjoyment and health and more about burning as many calories as possible. I started to run too much and too often, especially considering how restricting my eating had become.

Throughout my recovery, I had to tone down on my running, but I didn’t stop completely (side note: I do NOT recommend this when in recovery for an eating disorder. If a professional wants you to stop exercising while you try to gain weight, you need to take their advice). When I got to the point where my recovery and my weight was stable, I started to focus on running again. I ran my first race July 1st 2011, a 10k with a time of 53:18 – much faster than expected, so I was definitely proud of myself!

I almost died laughing when I saw my number. I’ve got the mind of a 16 year old boy sometimes!

Although I continued to focus on running, last November I started focusing more on weights. Due to dancing and running I’d always had strong legs, but my upper body was always cursed with noodle-y arms. As I started lifting heavier, I realized how much it was changing my body…for the first time in my life, I have a bicep!

BICEPS! Mine aren’t quite at this stage, but I’m working on it.

(img source)

Right now, I’m currently in the middle of doing Jamie Eason’s livefit trainer. I’m following the workout plan almost exactly, but decided to skip out on the diet plan (I’m perfectly happy with how I’m eating right now, I didn’t really feel compelled to follow a plan. Plus my way of eating is pretty similar anyways – lots of protein, frequent meals, minimizing sugar/processed stuff, ect). I have to say, I was having lots of anxiety at the beginning of the plan – the first 4 week phase involves no cardio whatsoever. I hadn’t gone that long without cardio is years! Of course, the little seed of an eating disorder insisted that that was unacceptable – if I didn’t run for a month I’d gain a billion pounds and lose all my running ability I had built up! But I decided to follow the plan as prescribed, and found myself really enjoying the month off running just to focus on building strength.

I survived Phase 1, and am currently on Phase 2, Day 31! (I probably should have started the blog and the trainer at the same time for review purposes, but I digress).  The workouts are getting harder, and 30 minutes of medium intensity cardio has been added back in 4 days a week. Today was a leg day, so no cardio – but my legs will definitely be feeling it later!

Workout:

2 x 30 leg extensions (55 lbs)

2 x 15, 2 sets to failure wide stance barbell squat (75 lbs, and 10 squats @ 90 pounds)

4  x 8 leg press (2 45 lb weights on each side)

3 x 20 walking dumbbell lunge (2 20 lb dumbbells)

3 x 10 barbell step up (40 lbs)

3 x 15 plie dumbbell squat (45 lbs)

3 x 20, 1 set to failure standing calf raises (75 lbs, and 15 raises @ 90 lbs)

3 x 20, 1 set to failure horizontal calf machine (110 lbs, and 22 @ 150 lbs — guess I should have done the sets at a higher weight)

I had a bit of the bambi legs thing going on leaving the gym, so I know I’ll be sore tomorrow!

Breakfast:

Today’s breakfast was a variation of STUFT mama’s Protein Pumpkin Cookie Dough. I do mine with one full scoop of protein powder and minus the PB2 – I’d love to try it, but unfortunately the shipping costs to Canada for PB2 is ridiculous. About $18.00 for a $15.00 purchase – just can’t get around spending more on the shipping costs than the actual product itself!

Looks kinda gross, tastes like awesome.

I added a scoop of peanut butter on top to add the peanut butter taste – delightful! (p.s. according to thesaurus.com, pussycat is a synonym for delicious. What the…?)

See you  guys later!

<— Tell me, cardio queen or strength training machine?

2 thoughts on “We’ve Got History.

  1. Pingback: Back to Sunfest « Better With Sprinkles

  2. Pingback: It Sucks You in Like a Vortex of Awesome. « Better With Sprinkles

Leave a Reply

