Better With Sprinkles

The Colourful Side to Healthy Living.

Getting in the Greens.

3 Comments

Good evening!

I had a long day, but a good day today. Let’s get right to it!

After I finished work I headed to the gym to do Livefit Day 32 – Arms/Abs/Cardio

Workout

3 x 10 barbell curls (30 lbs)

Superset:

3 x 10 standing inner bicep curl (12.5 lb dumbbells)

3 x 10 cable hammer curl – rope (27.5 lbs)

Normal sets:

3 x 10 alternate hammer curl (15 lb dumbbells)

3 x 10 tricep extensions (20 lbs)

3 x 15 tricep dips

3 x 10 seated tricep press (25 lbs)

3 x 25 tricep pushdown – rope (20 lbs)

3 x 25 air bike

3 x 25 jackknife situps

3 x 10 leg raises on captains chair

30 minutes on the elliptical – zoning out to Food Network Star

Another day done! Even though I’m in phase 2 right now, I’d still like to do a review of phase 1 soon – while it’s fresh in my mind. Also something to note: While I’m following the workouts closely, I am changing up the occasional exercise – due to personal preference or gym equipment available.

Magic Mike

Oh, goodness. Let’s discuss, shall we?

Although the movie doesn’t have the best storyline, needless to say, I was entertained. I went with my mom and a group of girls – obviously a group of females  is the best way to see it. I saw maybe 3 males in the crowded theatre – and they did not look happy to be there, haha.

As a huge True Blood/Alcide in True Blood fan – this was pretty much the reason I went (not that Channing Tatum hurt). I rather enjoyed looking at him/his body parts (ahem). Certainly was not a disappointment!

Did anyone else find that the actress playing Brooke was kind of awkward? I did not find any sort of chemistry between her and Tatum’s character.

(Magic Mike pictures taken from here)

The Eats

Lunch:

romaine, carrots, tomato, red onion, peppers, old cheddar, ham, balsamic dressing.

Lunch was a packed salad, plus a bunch of samples from work. My job was at a cheese stand in the Western Fair Farmers Market. And c’mon, when a chunk falls off the cheese you’re cutting, clearly you’re supposed to snatch it up 🙂

Preworkout was an unpictured Granny Smith apple the size of my head. Seriously, massive.

Post workout I whipped up a quick protein smoothie to have before I headed over to the theatre.

3/4 cup almond milk, frozen banana, 3/4 serving protein powder, handful spinach

I adore this protein powder. This smoothie tasted  like a Reese’s, but with a bit of banana added.

After the movie, we headed to the Jack Astor’s across the road.

My mom and I got the spinach and artichoke goat cheese dip to split as an appetizer. Sorry, no photo – overcome by the I-take-pictures-of-my-food-in-public shyness 🙂

But I wanted to remember the gorgeous salad I got as my main – the Smiling Buddha.

Mixed greens, quinoa, chicken breast, strawberries, pears, cucumber, spiced pecans, honey dijon dressing

Considering that Jack’s is more of a burger/sports bar sort of place, I was really impressed with this salad! Although I realized about halfway through eating it that it was supposed to come with goat cheese – le sigh. The addition would have been amazing, I love me some goat cheese.

I just realized how many greens I got in today – I’m sure my body is appreciative. 🙂

That will definitely keep me satisfied tonight!

Until tomorrow!

<— Do you feel awkward taking food pictures in public? In certain restaurants, or with certain company? Do tell!

3 thoughts on “Getting in the Greens.

  1. SAM! I’m so glad to see (from Meg’s High 5 Friday!) you finally started a blog!! I too am in the process of creating my own after reading them for years and years so I know what an accomplishment this is!! Can I put you on my blogroll? Congratulations sweetheart, I look forward to lots of wonderful posts!
    xoxo

  2. Pingback: Adventures in Suburbia + Phase 1 Review « Better With Sprinkles

Leave a Reply

