Better With Sprinkles

The Colourful Side to Healthy Living.

Let’s All Go to the Market

7 Comments

Hi loves!

My day started bright and early – 6:30 am to be exact. I know for a lot of my healthy living bloggies that’s the normal time they get up – for me, it’s ridiculous! If I’m out of bed before nine, I consider it a success 🙂

Quick oatmeal breakfast:

1/3 cup oats made with cinnamon, banana slices and a splash of vanilla.

Topped with blueberries, peanut butter and granola.

I’m a big fan of Love Crunch Dark Chocolate and  Red Berries Granola. Although apparently by the time I got to this bowl of oatmeal, I had eaten all the chocolate out of it. Le sigh.

I packed a bunch of snacks to take with me to the market.

Vibrancy bar, plumcots, trail mix, carrots and hummus

I think with pretty much any job where you don’t get a designated break time (retail, waitressing, ect.) This is pretty much the way to go when packing for lunch/snacks. A lot of small, grab and go type things you can snack on throughout the day. Things ideal for running to the break room, shoving in your mouth as fast as possible before you have to run back out to the floor. 🙂

Best friend during a busy shift.

Not going to lie, not complaining that I don’t have anymore of these bars left. The stats and the ingredients are great, but it tasted a little (for lack of a better word) green for me. I like my bars to be a little bit sweeter.

This is where I spent the day! As I mentioned before, I worked here while I was in undergrad to earn a little bit of extra cash.

From behind the counter!

I sold cheese! Before this job, I knew absolutely nothing about it. I knew of one or two that I liked, and that I absolutely hated blue cheese (that hasn’t changed at all).  I actually ended up learning a lot – namely, the pure awesomeness of cheese in general. Goat chevre is delicious, obviously, but you need to try goat gouda. or Oka cheese. or goat cheddar soaked in red wine. (I could really go on all day).

Random treat – one of the guys from the Habitual Chocolate stand down the aisle gave me a frozen chocolate drink to try. It was interesting – they specialize in unsweetened, Latin or Mexican style chocolate. Not something I have a lot of experience with.

It was definitely unlike interesting I had every tried before. Rich, a little bit bitter, and it had a hint of chile pepper to it. I liked it, but I couldn’t handle more than a few sips.

Clearly, I couldn’t work in a farmer’s market for 7 hours and come home empty-handed.

Whoopie pie, blueberries, salmon, goat chevre, bell pepper, green beans

I’m so excited for that whoopie pie – it’s from the gluten free, vegan bakery across the aisle from the cheese stand (The Sweet Lemon Bakery). It was calling my name all day! I’m intrigued to see how good the buttercream filling is – I feel like it’d be hard to pull off a vegan version of it! As soon as I break into it, I’ll let you guys know.

I had every intention of doing Livefit day 34 today – the plan was to come home, unpack my groceries and head over to the gym. I took a nap on the couch instead :-). Between the early morning wake up and then being busy and on my feet for 7 hours, the gym was not happening today. When the body needs rest, it needs rest! Tomorrow was supposed to be a rest day, so I’ll just switch the two.

The boyfriend and I declared it date night tonight, and headed to Victoria Park for the Sunfest Music and Crafts Festival. It’s a festival in downtown London with an international theme. I’m going back tomorrow – I’ll go into more details about the festival then. Today was all about the food.

Dinner Round 1

The goal for dinner for the boyfriend and I was to pick two random cuisines and get combo plates to share.

We started with the Indonesian stall – I honestly could not tell you what most of the stuff on the plate was (well, I can tell you some of it now, thanks to Wikipedia). It included a salad with peanut sauce, Mi Goreng (a Chinese-influenced fried noodle dish), beef rendang (beef cooked in coconut milk) and a chicken sate skewer. It also came with some sort of cracker – it tasted like a pancake but with the texture of styrofoam (I promise, it was better than it sounds). This was my first time trying Indonesian food – and it was pretty tasty. Anything that uses a thick coating of peanut sauce = fine by me.

Dinner Round 2

Round 2, we went straight for one of the Latin stalls.

I have such a weakness for Latin food. This included a pork and cheese Pupusa, a beef Empanada, Chicken Tostada, rice and beans, coleslaw and salsa – freakin’ delicious.

Totally being dominated.

Fortunately, the boyfriend seems to like as much as I do. Aka – lots of Latin foods in our dating future. 😀 Definitely an amazing choice for round two – I could eat pupusas all day.

Introduction to the blog world.

Speaking of the boyfriend – this is him. His name is Eric, we’ve been together for a year and he is wonderful. 😀

After 2 round of dinner, clearly dessert was needed.

The “OMG YAY FROYO!!” face.

We headed across the street to Yoyo‘s and split a bowl.

Bowl of delicious

Cotton Candy and Vanilla yogurt, Reese’s peanut butter cups, bananas, maraschino cherries, marshmellow, skor bits, brownie chunks and (duh) sprinkles. Normally when Eric and I split meals it’s 60-65% him, the rest me. But I totally dominated that bowl. 😀

We went home stuffed and happy. Holy monster of a post – guess I had a busy day today!

Date night success.

7 thoughts on “Let’s All Go to the Market

  1. Pingback: It Sucks You in Like a Vortex of Awesome. « Better With Sprinkles

  2. Pingback: I Really Wish I Liked Coffee. « Better With Sprinkles

  3. Pingback: Sometimes, Dinner Happens at 10 pm. « Better With Sprinkles

  4. Pingback: The Science of a Breakfast Sandwich. « Better With Sprinkles

  5. Pingback: When Nice People Work at Bakeries. « Better With Sprinkles

  6. Pingback: Reconnected. « Better With Sprinkles

  7. Pingback: One Day, I Will Rival Sabra. « Better With Sprinkles

Leave a Reply

