Better With Sprinkles

The Colourful Side to Healthy Living.

Back to Sunfest

1 Comment

As I mentioned last night, today I had another trip to Sunfest planned.

Sunfest is a festival held every summer in London, put on by the London Committee for Cross-Cultural Arts. The goal of the festival is to celebrate music and dance from diverse countries all around the world. It is a free-admission festival with music, arts and crafts, and food representing a large spread of different cultures.

I make sure to attend this festival every year – it’s so much fun! They have 4-5 stages set up with performers at literally every moment of the day – you can hear amazing music from every corner of the park. They also have vendors set up selling trinkets, jewellery, blankets, clothing – pretty much everything you can imagine and usually at pretty decent prices. And the food – oh dear lord, the food. You can try pretty much any cuisine you could ever want, as well as try foods from local restaurants you probably wouldn’t have otherwise. I’ve discovered some amazing restaurants in my city this way!

But rewind to this morning….

Because I missed Day 34 yesterday of Livefit – I moved it to today. Leg Day!

Supersets

  • 3 x 10 seated leg curl (85 lbs – I think. I need to bring a pen and start writing it down instead of trying to remember it later!)
  • 3 x 10 leg extensions (85 lbs)
  • 3 x 20 walking dumbbell lunges (20 lb dumbbells)
  • 3 x 20 abductor machine (75 lbs)
  • 3 x 15 lying leg curls (50 lbs)
  • 3 x 15 adductor machine (85 lbs – I kind of hate this machine. Ugh, so awkward)

Normal Sets

  • 3 x 10 stiff legged deadlifts (90 lbs)
  • 3 x 10 single legged barbell squat (40 lbs)
  • 1 dropset to failure seated leg press (210 lbs, 150 lbs, 90 lbs)
  • 3 x 20 horizontal calf machine (150 lbs – learned by lesson from Wednesday!)
  • 3 x 20 standing calf raise (75 lbs)

Overall, I enjoyed this workout – lots of supersets, which I love! Quick and dirty 😉

Breakfast

Something about Sundays just screams pancakes to me (actually, today it screamed french toast, but I didn’t have bread. So pancakes it is).

I made these from a WW blend pancake mix with egg whites, unsweetened vanilla almond milk and blueberries. Topped with peanut butter, and my beloved caramelized bananas and real maple syrup for dipping on the side.

Whenever I have syrup with my pancakes/waffles/french toast, it’s always on the side – I don’t like drizzling it on top! Am I the only one?

Definitely a perfect Sunday breakfast. 🙂

The Festival

I met up with my mom and my Aunt to do some shopping at the festival. You can walk the whole thing in a few hours – definitely a lot to see! I saw a lot of cute jewellery and clothes, but due to the none-employment thing, I had to reign it in a little bit.

So many vendors to see!

I walked away with:

  • sunglasses (I lost my last pair)
  • a cute dress (black with lace up the back – $8!! Ridiculously awesome)
  • present for Eric
  • a cute sunhat!

Another line of defense for my vampiric skin.

(And yes, laptop, multiple reusable water bottles, multivitamins, and a coloured picture of a pug in the background. Story of my life).

I didn’t spend too much money and got some cute stuff, so definitely consider the trip a success. Of course, I was mainly just excited for lunch. 🙂

Appetizer plate split between my mom and I. This came from Thaifoon – easily one of the best Thai restaurants I’ve ever been too. Again, they didn’t disappoint. I had the fresh veggie rolls – and tried bites of the other stuff. So good!

For my main meal, I followed my nose (and lots of smoke) to a Persian stand (could not for the life of me remember the name of the stand – sorry!)

Chicken shish kebob on a pita with lettuce, tomato, hot sauce and tzatziki.

This was quite possibly the best chicken I’ve ever had – so tender, with the right amount of spice. I got about 3/4 of the way through it, before I ditched the pita and just ate the filling 🙂

Side note: ignore the hideousness that is my thumbnail in that picture. I wore gel nails for about 6 years, and just got them taken off last week. Now, I have the thinnest, most paper-like nails known to man.

My mom picked up some churros for dessert – which she was nice enough to share with me 🙂 (also note her gelled, much-nicer-then-mine nails. Le sigh)

We had one chocolate and one dulce de leche. Normally I am 100% a chocolate girl – but I couldn’t stop nibbling on the dulce de leche option. So.freakin’.good.

The long-ness of my weekend was started to catch up to me by this point, so I said goodbye and headed home.

Definitely a successful festival! The only issue I have with it – they need to find a way to make the aisleways wider. It’s a popular festival, so it’s crowded to the point of ridiculousness.

My too-many-random-people-are-touching-me face.

Dinner

I didn’t really get hungry for dinner until late tonight – and all I really wanted was a simple salad.

Romaine, chicken, goat chevre, carrots, bell pepper, blueberries, balsamic vinaigrette. Piece of hummus toast on the side.

I’m glad my first weekend blogging was such a busy one – gives the impression that I have more of a life than I actually do. 🙂

But it has definitely caught up with me, so the couch and the tv are calling my name.

G’night!

Doubles as a hiding place.

<— Any suggestions for me on how to make my nails stronger?

<– Any summer festivals in your town you plan on hitting up?

One thought on “Back to Sunfest

  1. oooh it is no longer sunday but now you have me shouting PROTEIN PANCAKES 😉

Leave a Reply

