Better With Sprinkles

The Colourful Side to Healthy Living.

Mexican Night/Beginning the Blog

9 Comments

How was everyone’s afternoon? I had a pretty lazy one today – definitely nice once in a while.

Lunch

My appetite’s still off, so not a huge lunch today either.

Quinoa, chicken, spinach, green onion, jalapeño greek yogurt dip.

Topped with avocado and tomato slices.

The yogurt dip was a Costco find from Skotidakis. They’re a Canadian company that uses 100% goats milk for their products – I’m curious to try some of their regular greek yogurt.

Quinoa is one of those ingredients I tend to forget about. I’m glad I discovered it again – more protein than brown rice, and I think it has a better flavour/texture as well! One of those things that makes you feel like a true ‘foodie’. 🙂

Dinner

One of my favourite things in existence is taco night. It (or some other form of Mexican cuisine) happens in my household at least once a week. To amp up the health factor a little bit, I use lean ground chicken as opposed to beef.

I just cooked up the ground chicken with some taco seasoning, heated up some taco shells and we were good to go.

I had an orange Zevia on the side. I love this stuff – I used to be an absolute diet coke addict years ago, and although I cut back a lot I still get cravings for it. I figure if I’m going to drink pop this is probably the way to go – and the orange flavour is really good!

For toppings, we had: lettuce, salsa, shredded cheddar, sour cream (as in regular, full fat sour cream. I appreciate the efforts to use fat free or greek yogurt, but honestly. A little dab of real sour cream goes a long way, and tastes sooo much better, in my humble opinion).

And featuring this gorgeousness…

Guacamole!!

From scratch!

I have a bit of a guacamole obsession. When I was in Mexico about a month and a half ago, I’m pretty sure I ate it with 90% of my meals. At home, I need to have it in the house every week. Due to sheer laziness, I usually end up buying it. Thinking about it – that’s pretty silly. It’s so easy to make and tastes so much better homemade! Also much more cost-effective. As a currently-unemployed-soon-to-be student, that makes the extra work completely worth it. 🙂

This is the recipe I use! (loosely adapted from The Looneyspoons Collection by Janet and Greta Podleski)

Classic Guacamole

  • 2 very ripe avocados, mashed
  • 1 1/2 tomatoes
  • small bunch green onion
  • approximately 2 tbsp cilantro
  • juice of 1 lime
  • 1/2 teaspoon cumin
  • hot sauce (depending on how much you like spice – I’m definitely a spicy girl, so I used several dashes)
  • salt and pepper to taste

Just mash together and you’re done. Takes ten minutes and tastes amazing.

I like the addition of cumin in this recipe – adds a nice twist!

Beginning the Blog

I wanted to talk a little bit about how I came up with the idea for this blog.

It was a thought that had secretly been on the back of my mind for a long time (probably about a year and a half) but I was too scared to take that step and actually do it. I guess my fears revolved around my abilities to actually write a blog – I was afraid that it would be boring, that no one would read it, and that my writing would be atrocious. Fear of failure, basically. I’ve always had issues with perfection, and I tend to be afraid to try anything I don’t immediately know I’ll be good at.

It was actually Eric that talked me into it. He saw how much I loved reading HL blogs, and suggested I start my own. At his urging, I agreed. I mean, if it’s that obvious how passionate I am about them, what do I really have to lose? I wasn’t going to let my perfectionist tendencies stop me from doing what I wanted to do.

Once that decision had been made, the next step was thinking of a name. Eric and I brainstormed for a few days, but couldn’t come up with anything.

Every year, my parents have a July 1st BBQ. Whenever my parents have a party, I’m always in charge of the jello shooters. I guess they’re just a talent of mine 🙂

It’s what I do.

So I had the shooters ready to go, appropriately coloured red with whipped cream (red and white!) and I started thinking that I should find some sprinkles to throw on the top. “Because,” I thought to myself, “everything’s better with sprinkles!”

BOOM.

Blog name.

I love how it came to me in an “A-HA!” sort of moment.

I think it basically displayed how I feel about healthy living and how I wanted to approach blogging. As much as I love eating healthy, the bottom line is that I need my treats once in a while. If I’m feeling like I’m going to have a bowl of frozen yogurt, ice cream, a cupcake or what-have-you, adding a little bit of sprinkles on the top just makes it that much more decadent and special. If you’re going to splurge on something, you might as well make sure it’s 100% worth it. 🙂

That;s it for tonight! My stomach’s still feeling off, so my evening plans are finishing laundry and going to bed early.

Good night!

<– If you have a blog, how did you come up with the name?

<– Do you have perfectionist tendencies? How do you deal with them?

9 thoughts on “Mexican Night/Beginning the Blog

  1. Pingback: Cheesy Spinach Casserole « Better With Sprinkles

  2. Pingback: Foodie Paradise. « Better With Sprinkles

  3. Pingback: All About the Mexican + Phase 3 Review. « Better With Sprinkles

  4. Pingback: The “Violent Girl” Problem. « Better With Sprinkles

  5. Pingback: The Newest Fitness Plan. « Better With Sprinkles

  6. I would love to feature some of your recipes in my E-book I am creating! If you could email me, I can send you some more information! 🙂 Thanks!

  7. Pingback: WIAW # 6–Taco Tuesday. « Better With Sprinkles

  8. Pingback: Taco Night Makes Life Better. « Better With Sprinkles

Leave a Reply

