Better With Sprinkles

The Colourful Side to Healthy Living.

Cheesy Spinach Casserole

5 Comments

I hope my last post was received well! I’m turning it into a 3 part series, so keep an eye out for those.

Lunch

When you have tacos for dinner one night,  that means only one thing for lunch the next day…

Taco Salad!

Lettuce topped with leftover chicken, salsa, that amazing guacamole, sour cream, and crumbled Food Should Taste Good Sweet Potato Chips.

It’s all about the toppings.

So good!

Pretty sure that’s one of my favourite things about taco night…the taco salad the next day!

Dinner

A few days ago, I saw Jenna’s recipe for Cheesy Spinach Stuffed Shells – and it instantly got my mouth watering. It looked so good! However, I only had large size pasta shells (as opposed to the jumbo ones) and didn’t want to run to the grocery store. Also, I am much too lazy to actually stuff the shells. I decided to alter the recipe a bit (also took out some of the cheese) and turn it into a casserole. I was definitely very happy with the result!

Yum.

Cheesy Spinach Casserole (inspired by Jenna)

  • about 400 grams large shell pasta
  • 1 1/2 300 gram containers ricotta
  • 350 grams 1% cottage cheese
  • 1 package frozen spinach – defrosted and drained as well as possible
  • about 1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese
  • 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 bottle roasted tomato sauce
  • 120 grams mozzarella, sliced and cut into pieces
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Place pasta in large pot of boiling water until al dente – drain and rinse.
  2. Mix the ricotta, cottage cheese, spinach, nutmeg, salt, pepper, Parmesan cheese.
  3. Combine pasta and cheese/spinach mixture. Spread onto bottom of a 9 x 13 casserole dish.
  4. Pour the tomato sauce over the shell mixture, making sure it’s spread evenly.
  5. Place mozzarella on top of sauce, scattering pieces evenly throughout
  6. Top with tin foil and bake for 25 minutes. Remove foil and let bake for 5 minutes more.
  7. Let sit for 5 minutes, then dig in!
Enjoy!
A good chunk of the mozzarella I used when preparing this went straight into my mouth, so I just plated myself a small serving. Not that that stopped me from attacking the pan with a fork while I was cleaning up the kitchen (or, going for a few bites of whoopie pie as a tasty palate cleanser)!
So happy with how that turned out. Although I’ve been cooking for a while, it’s still very much a learning process for me. I love getting inspiration from other bloggers and from cookbooks and putting my own little twist on them – it makes me feel creative!
Good night!
<– Where do you get your cooking inspiration?
<– Are you a recipe follower, or a fly-by-the-seat-of-your-pants kind of person?
5 thoughts on “Cheesy Spinach Casserole

  1. Hey Babe! I’m so proud of you and your blog. You make the tastiest, healthiest food I’ve ever had. You’ve made me realize how awesome vegetarian meals can be 🙂 I love you sooo much!

  2. Yum!!!! I love taco salads 😀 This spinach casserole looks amaaaaaazing – I could definitely sneak some veggies into my husband’s diet this way!

  3. Pingback: Let’s Rehash. « Better With Sprinkles

Leave a Reply

