Better With Sprinkles

The Colourful Side to Healthy Living.

Never Too Hot For Oats.

3 Comments

Happy Friday!

Anyone have any exciting plans for the weekend? I’m at the market for a few hours tomorrow, and then on Sunday my friend Mel and I are hopping on a bus to Toronto and going to Warped Tour!

I’m so excited for this. I was big into the punk/metal scene when I was in high school (and still enjoy that type of music – not something people expect when they look at me!) so this is going to be a fun experience for me. I went to see the tour in Barrie about 6 years ago, and I can’t remember the last time I had so much fun. Tons of bands, about 8 stages, lots of interesting people to meet….definitely a fun way to spend a day!

My day started off as usual – the gym!

Workout

Livefit day 40 – Shoulders/cardio

  • 3 x 10, 1 warm up seated dumbbell press (20 lbs)

Superset

  • 3 x 10 upright dumbbell rows (20 lbs, up 2.5 lbs)
  • 3 x 10 standing dumbbell military press (15 lbs)

Normal sets

  • 3 x 10 incline bench front dumbbell delt raise (8 lbs)
  • 3 x 10 bent over dumbbell flies (15 lbs, up 2.5 lbs)
  • 3 x 10, last @ dropset lateral raise (8 lbs, 10-5lbs)
  • 3 x 10, last @ dropset rear delt raise (15 lbs, 20-10 lbs)
  • medium intensity treadmill run

The humidity is creeping back up, so I was delegated back to the treadmill. When I’m doing a steady treadmill run, it’s really easy for me to get bored. Basically, to make it more entertaining for myself I start at warm up pace, and then move the speed up a few points after every commercial break. It’s more interesting than running at one steady pace, and I don’t have to look at the timer every few minutes – that makes runs absolutely crawl for me! I much prefer looking at the timer and noticing that 10-15 minutes have passed. 🙂

After the gym (I wrote ‘work’ first – I guess if you go almost every day it is kinda like a job!) I stopped by to see my mom at work. Fortunately for me, my mom works about 5 minutes away from where I live, so I’m able to visit her and speak with her often. My mom and I are very close, so it’s important for me to be able to see her whenever I want. 🙂

Today she had a present for me from my dad and herself…

Lots of saffron!

I’m expecting lots of delicious saffron rice in my future – I love the stuff, but am way to cheap to buy it. So thank you mom and dad! 🙂

Breakfast

Even though the temperature feels like 35 degrees right now (95 for my American friends) I still felt like oats. Never, ever, is it too hot for a nice bowl of oatmeal. 🙂

Enter chocolate peanut butter protein oats.

(I love how unappealing my breakfasts always seem to look – I promise they’re tasty!)

I made this batch with 2/3 cup water, 1/3 cup large flake oats, 1/2 tablespoon of chia seeds (adds some good fats and a bit of volume to the oats) and 1 scoop chocolate peanut butter protein powder.

Added a nice big scoop of  PB & Co’s Dark Chocolate Dreams. Quite possibly the best peanut butter in existence – if you haven’t tried this stuff yet, you need to do it. Like now.

(Provided you don’t have allergies or anything – wouldn’t want anyone to get sick on my account!)

Because I usually go the gym before breakfast, I like to make sure my breakfasts include a scoop of protein powder. I’m not a huge fan of just protein powder and milk/water mixtures, so this works best for me. If I don’t feel like the powder, I make sure to have eggs or something similarly high in protein.

Have a lovely day!

<– Favourite type of music to see in concert? While I do have a love of Britney Spears/Lady Gaga/dance music in general, my heart is in my metal music – it’s what I grew up on!

<– Favourite use of protein powder? pancakes, smoothies, in baked goods…give me recipes if you have a good one!

3 thoughts on “Never Too Hot For Oats.

  1. I don’t have a favorite music to see in concert per say – but I am dying to see Michale Buble, Adel or Lady GaGa on stage 😀

  2. Pingback: White Chocolate Blueberry Explosion Muffins. « Better With Sprinkles

Leave a Reply

