Better With Sprinkles

The Colourful Side to Healthy Living.

Awesome Body Day.

5 Comments

How’s everybody doing this lovely Saturday? Pretty humid, but not too bad today. 🙂

I was up and off to the market this morning, so I had a quick breakfast first thing.

Pumpkin Greek Yogurt

Made with 1/2 cup 0% Greek yogurt, 1/2 cup pumpkin (both eyeballed), cinnamon, vanilla, nutmeg and a few drops of liquid stevia. Topped with peanut butter and Love Crunch Dark Chocolate and Red Berries.

Between oatmeal yesterday and pumpkin today, apparently I’m really feeling the fall foods for breakfast right now!

My market job today was a little bit different. I was only there for a few hours, and instead of selling cheese, I was sampling ice cream!

My old boss got a contract with the London Ice Cream Company, so today I got to dole out free samples to people to try to generate some interest.

The London Ice Cream Co. has been in London for years and is well known in the city. Right now, my boss is selling a selection of 5 flavours in 2 litre tubs.

I was handing out samples of Moose Tracks ice cream – vanilla with a fudge ripple and mini peanut butter cups – Umm yea. amazing. The biggest challenge of the morning was trying to avoid a “one sample for you, two samples for me!” sort of approach. I walked out of there with only a few spoonfuls taken for myself – impressive feat considering how tasty it was!

Despite being surrounded by fantastic food for the morning, I only took home a few goodies.

A small bag of baby carrots and a loaf of fresh-baked whole grain bread. I can’t remember the last time I had bakery bread, I’m excited for this!

I swear, baby carrots are like crack to me. I munch on them constantly – I always need them in the fridge. If I’m preparing a meal, there’s like a 95% chance I’m munching on these while I’m cooking. 🙂

Workout

Livefit trainer Day 41 – Legs.

Supersets

  • 3 x 10 seated leg curl (95 lbs – up 10 lbs)
  • 3 x 10 leg extensions (105 lbs – up 20 lbs)
  • 3 x 20 walking dumbbell lunges (22.5 lbs dumbbells- up 2.5 lbs)
  • 3 x 20 abductor machine (90 lbs – up 15 kbs)
  • 3 x 15 lying leg curls (55 lbs – up 5 lbs)
  • 3 x 20 adductor machine (90 lbs – up 5 lbs) – hope I don’t see that machine again for a while…still so awkward!

Normal sets

  • 3 x 10 deadlifts (90 lbs)
  • 3 x 10 one legged dumbbell squat (50 lbs)
  • 1 x AMRAP drop seated leg press (started at 270 lbs)
  • 3 x 20 seated horizontal calf press (170 lbs – up 20 lbs)
  • 3 x 20 standing calf raise (85 lbs – up 10 lbs)

Either I wasn’t giving it my all last time I did this workout, or I showed massive improvement this week! Either way, I love watching those numbers go up that much. Also, today marks the halfway point in Livefit…I’m proud of myself for getting this far! I’ve definitely been enjoying it and eager to see what the next 6 weeks have in store. 🙂

Once in a while, we all get a bad body day. You feel bloated, “fat”, just basically down on yourself. By no means, am I immune to these – especially during recovery, I got them quite often!

But right now – I’m feeling the exact opposite. I’m so happy with myself and my body at this exact moment! It’s by no means perfect, but I love it nonetheless right now :-). This is especially surprising to me, considering that I spent the morning eating ice cream. In the past, I would have instantly felt down on myself – just because I had indulged a little bit.

Not any more though! I’m not sure if it’s the ego boost from the gym, or just the fact that I’ve been having a good day. But these feelings don’t come all the time, so I’m going to own it and enjoy every moment. 🙂

Love yourself!

Lunch

Sampler lunch plate today.

Clearly, had to break into the market finds. 🙂

I’ve got baby carrots, bell pepper, red pepper hummus, cherries, and a toasted slice of the bakery bread with goat cheese and a microwave poached egg.

That bread was delicious – I’ve definitely been missing out by walking past the bread at the market and buying it at the grocery store! I foresee sandwiches and french toast in the near future 🙂

I’m feeling like I want to play around in the kitchen this afternoon, so I may have a recipe for you tonight! (Hint: it involves my favourite berry that I have copious amounts of right now…)

Talk to you later!

<– Favourite kind of ice cream?

<– When was the last time you bought bakery fresh bread? Have you ever made your own? I’ve only ever made bread from scratch once – yeast freaks me out a little bit! Something I would love to do again though.

5 thoughts on “Awesome Body Day.

  1. YAY! I love Farmer’s Markets! I swear their breads are always better there 😉 Enjoy your Saturday!

  2. Pingback: Lunch for Breakfast and Breakfast for Lunch « Better With Sprinkles

  3. Pingback: The Science of a Breakfast Sandwich. « Better With Sprinkles

  4. Pingback: When Nice People Work at Bakeries. « Better With Sprinkles

Leave a Reply

