Better With Sprinkles

The Colourful Side to Healthy Living.

Turkers.

1 Comment

As Eric refers to them. Turkey burgers to everyone else. 🙂

But lunch first!

Lunch

 

Goat cheese spread on two rice cakes with sunny side up eggs on top. Green beans with more goat cheese on the side. I broke into the eggs and let them drip over the green beans a little bit – so yummy.

P.S. Goat cheese is amazing. With everything. End of story.

I had a pretty easy afternoon – the original plan was to make today a beach day, but the humidity was absolutely ridiculous (felt like 40 degrees, or 104 if you’re south of me) so I opted to stay in the air conditioning and catch up on Sunday’s True Blood. Good episode, yes?

Dinner

Intense heat = burgers for dinner. I was not going anywhere near an oven today. I had picked up some ground turkey earlier, so turkey burgers it was. I was going for a chipotle/BBQ flavour with these, with a little bit of cilantro, because cilantro makes everything better.

To make these, I mixed up:

  • 1 lb lean ground turkey
  • about 1/4 cup dry bread crumbs
  • 3 tablespoons Diana sauce
  • 1 egg
  • 1 green onion, chopped
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • about 1 tablespoon of the chipotle hot sauce I picked up in Mexico when I went in May

All together now.

 

I mixed all the ingredients together by hand (so messy, but so effective) and divided it into 4 patties. Just a tip when making burgers – put an indent in the middle of the burger using your thumb. The burger will rise in the middle, so having it indented will allow the burger to cook more evenly so you don’t end up with a raw middle.

I cooked these on an indoor flattop, because quite frankly – I’m a little terrified of grilling. I’m always afraid I’m going to lose my eyebrows. I’ll get over it eventually.

Toasted buns are always a must.

After I flipped them, I added a slice of mozzarella to the top for extra yumminess. I cooked these for about 5-8 minutes per side.

My plate – burger served on a whole wheat bun topped with lettuce, a slice of tomato, pickles and honey mustard. I had a basic garden salad on the side with oregano and feta vinaigrette.

I was happy with how these turned out – the burgers were really nice, the chipotle added a touch of heat and the cilantro packed a flavour punch – you just need a little sprig but it adds so much!

 

Happy day of eats (although I definitely got into yesterday’s chocolate again – really need to put a tie on that bag)!

Night bloggies!

 

<– What did you have for dinner tonight?

<– Favourite kind of burger – beef, turkey, veggie, or something else?

One thought on “Turkers.

  1. Pingback: Foodie Paradise. « Better With Sprinkles

Leave a Reply

