Better With Sprinkles

The Colourful Side to Healthy Living.

Better When Plated.

Leave a comment

Happy Humpday! (always makes me giggle :-))

Most of the time, I complete my workout first thing in the morning, and then come home for breakfast. I always have a bit of a snack before the gym – one, because I need the energy boost; two, because my workouts are now taking between 1 – 1.5 hours to complete, so if I waited until I got home to eat anything I would be positively dying.

This morning, I was munching on trail mix before heading out. A few bites in, I realized I had absolutely no idea how much I had already eaten (if I eat too much before a workout, my stomach gets upset). Definitely mindless eating at it’s best!

I tend to do that a lot when I eat something right out of the package – completely lose track of what I’ve eaten already. I may think I’ve only had a couple of pieces, but it’s probably a lot more than that. Not a huge deal all the time – but considering that I eat a lot of nuts and trail mix (and chocolate :-)) right out of the package, it could start to add up after a while.

I’ve read tips about making sure to plate your food before you eat it – this is something I really need to start doing! I can get pretty bad with mindless eating and snacking too much, so I’m going to start making sure to plate my snacks before I eat them. If I decide I want more, of course I’ll go put more on my plate – I just think it’s a good idea to keep track a little bit better.

After snacking on what was probably a bit too much trail mix (my stomach did survive though – fortunately there was no cardio in my workout today, which is usually where I run into stomach problems), I was off to the gym.

Workout

Livefit day 44 – Legs

  • 2 x 15, 2 to failure narrow stance squats (85 lbs)
  • 4 x 8 narrow stance leg press (2 45 lb plates on each side)
  • 4 x 8 barbell step ups (50 lbs)
  • 3 x 20 walking dumbbell double lunges (20 lb dumbbells)
  • 4 x 8 single leg dumbbell squat (55 lbs)
  • 3 x 20, last to failure horizontal calf press (170 lbs)
  • 3 x 20, last to failure standing calf raise (95 lbs)
  • 3 x 10, last to failure leg extension (105 lbs)

 

If you want to know what pain feels like, just do some walking dumbbell lunges for a while. Oh lord, I’m going to be feeling those for days.

 

Breakfast

Post-workout protein packed breakfast – always the best way to go, in my opinion.

Pumpkin Protein Pancake Scramble.

My usually awesome pancake flipping abilities failed me this morning, so I just turned it into a scramble – not as pretty, but still tastes delicious.

I made my usual protein pancake, but I subbed the half banana for 1/4 cup of canned pumpkin. I added a few drops of liquid stevia, lots of cinnamon and a bit of nutmeg – Autumn foods what?

Topped with a good sized scoop of peanut butter – always necessary.

Enjoy your day!

<– Do you find yourself mindlessly snacking sometimes? What are your strategies for avoiding it?

<– How would you rate your pancake-flipping abilities?

Leave a Reply

