Better With Sprinkles

The Colourful Side to Healthy Living.

Blueberries Are Your Friend.

8 Comments

When I woke up this morning, it was a little bit cloudy out, not too humid, and there was a nice breeze.

Clearly this meant the cardio portion of my workout was going to be outside. πŸ™‚

Workout

Livefit day 46 – shoulders/cardio

  • 4 x 8 arnold dumbbell press (15 lb dumbbells)
  • 4 x 8, last @dropset seated bentover rear delt raise (17.5 lb dumbbells, 20 lb dumbbells)
  • 4 x 8 palm in one arm dumbbell press (15 lbs)

Superset

  • 4 x 8 front dumbbell raise (10 lb dumbbells)
  • 4 x 8 standing upright row (20 lb dumbbells)

Normal sets

  • 4 x 8, last @ dropset side lateral raise (10 lbs dumbbells, 12.5 lb dumbbells)
  • 4 x 8 reverse flies (15 lb dumbbells)
  • 30 minute medium intensity run

I was so happy to get outside today! I was looking forward to it so much I flew through the strength portion – felt much stronger than yesterday’s workout. Although I’ve been keeping my runs at an easy pace so far, today I was just so excited that I ended up doing 3.18 miles in the 30 minutes – the fastest I’ve run since I started the program!

One unflattering but happy post-workout-bright-red-squinting-in-the-sun face. You’re welcome. πŸ™‚

Breakfast

My old faithful when it comes to breakfast.

My favourite TIU protein pancake.

Topped with my favourite caramelized bananas and blueberries (and my shadow, apparently).

You’d better believe a handful or two of blueberries was shoved directly in my mouth while making this breakfast. So yum. I would have to pick blueberries as my favourite fruit – especially in the summer when they’re local (as so much cheaper!)

Hope your day is wonderful!

<– Favourite berry?

<– Did you work out today? How did it go?

8 thoughts on “Blueberries Are Your Friend.

  1. hi, any suggestions for someone without a gym or money for stuff? I really dislike laptop or videos exercises and have no gym. have a one set of dummbells at 8 lbs at home and thats it. I only walk ,,,i’d like to do more cardio…but…doesn’t seem in the cards.
    Like a simple effective strength and otherwise routine to do at home daily to feel accomplished? strength and stuff? Ugh.
    Also, I’m struggling with eating and wonder if you know websites or exact books with meal plans each day that a person could follow? (I prefer higher protein and higher fat…but don’t get me wrong, i totally eat grains and way too much chocolate …big nighttime eater here, ).

    Oh and what do you study in school? would love to know!

  2. Hi Summer!

    If you don’t want to do videos at home and don’t have equipment, then body weight exercises are your friend. Pushups, squats, lunges, tricep dips, wall sits…the like. If you want to add a cardio element in there, do it circuit style. Do each exercise for a certain number of time and then move to the next one with no rest. Here are some workouts to get you started:

    http://www.myfoodnfitnessdiaries.com/2012/05/26/do-anywhere-bodyweight-circuit-workout/
    http://www.pbfingers.com/2012/01/15/at-home-workouts/
    http://www.pbfingers.com/2012/04/11/no-equipment-needed-cardio-circuit-workout/
    http://www.sweettoothsweetlife.com/2012/03/05/25-minute-full-body-blast-no-weights/

    As for the meal plans – to be honest, I’m not really a fan. Just eat what you like, but make it as clean as you can – whole grains, lean protein, healthy fats. I personally aim for a 30% protein, 30% fat, and 40% carb macronutrient ratio daily, and it seems to work well for me. Meal plans aren’t tailored to specific needs, so by using one you may not be fueling yourself properly.

    As for the nighttime eating issue – When I’m overeating at night it’s usually because I haven’t been eating enoug hthroughout the day. Maybe try increasing your protion sizes a little bit at meals or adding an extra snack?

    Hope that helps! And I’m studying criminology. πŸ™‚

    –Sam

    • Hi, thanks . I’m still confused though because I see those workouts BUT how do I mmakie it intoa weekly plan? I hate just choosing random things and having no set plan. Like how do I know which ones to do on what days? 😦 I REALLY want to feel accomplished 😦

      I actually need to gain some weight, but I’m perplexed because I’m in my 30’s and not active obviously but this makes me sad 😦 Dietitians are zero help and I can’t afford any more. I’m just not hungry and my tummy has sensitive digestive issues so I don’t know. I’m sick of counting calories to try to gain, but if I eat just what I want, I end up with little calories or end up feeling bored at night and emotionally eating. Plus, it’s difficult to purposely gain weight when I’m so short (just under 5 feet 2, so like 5 1/2 feet maybe, in my 30’s…and I see people like “meg” on “Dash of Meg” my height and SO tiny tiny but exercising a LOT…makes me feel all uncertain or badly for being so sedentary and having no access to a gym or heavy weights …I don’t know. I’m puzzled 😦
      Sorry, I guess I’m frustrated and discouraged after being in this rut for the last few years 😦

      • That is quite the rut! I know where you’re coming from though, trying to gain weight is a lot more challenging than people think!

        My suggestion would just be to wing it a little bit. Pick workouts to follow, 3-5 days a week, or whatever fits your schedule. If you’re feeling too tired or sore, rest that day and try again tomorrow. Tons of bloggers and other sources online have tons of workouts they post at no cost — try googling “at home workouts” and see what you come up with.

        Once you start working out on a regular basis, you will feel accomplished. Just start slow and build yourself up. I exercise a lot, but I’ve been doing it for years…when I first started, it was twice a week on an elliptical for 20-30 minutes at a time – so don’t think you have to be starting out at a super-advanced level! Being active is as simple as taking walks throughout the day, taking the stairs instead of the elevator, that sort of thing. Have you considered taking up running? – Completely free and effective sort of exercise.

        And yes, Meg is little but she is an exercise machine! (seriously, if I had an arm-wrestling match with that girl she would kick my butt)

        Don’t feel badly about not having access to a gym – I got my membership as a gift, and if I hadn’t I would definitely not be going to one now – those things are expensive! I went for 3-4 years without one and I got along fine with some small dumbbells and a resistance band.

        As for the eating, if you’re trying to gain you may need to continue counting calories. I know the large majority of people aren’t a fan (and I know it’s tedious) it may be the only way to make sure you’re getting enough to properly gain weight. Your body is used to surviving (barely) on too few calories – so that’s what it’s come to expect. Your hunger signals can’t be relied on at this point, you sometimes have to eat when you don’t really feel hungry.

        Do you know what causes your digestive issues? It may be something as simple as avoiding/minimalizing a certain type of food you may have a sensitivity to.

  3. I love blueberries! They just might be my favorite. I made the most delish blueberry dough boy a few weeks ago and it turned out amazing! Got my workout in as my bike commute today, which was a super special treat. Made for a happy Friday for sure!

  4. Thanks again! But still confused that I’ll gain wrong…I’m very sedentary and theres’ not much I can do about that. And even simply jogging for 20 seconds is tough. I know I’m super short…but not sure how much I ought to aim to be in weight wehn I’m already in my 30’s and was always super petite. The problem is that Meg is super tiny but gaining muscle. Me..I’m opposite, so I’m at wits end feeling its all wrong…plus, its so hard to work out at home when I have a tiny apartment and so sitr crazy in it…like no motivation or anything you know. Ugh, I’m full of complaints, sorry. Just feeling down-ish.
    I live in canada too by the way!

    • Yay Canada!

      Well if you need to gain weight, then you need to take in more calories than you’re burning. So really, the only option is to eat more. It’s not always fun and you may feel like you’re not gaining it “right” your body will figure out what to do with it.

      As for where your weight should be, that’s something you should talk to your doctor about. Figuring out your BMI and where you would have to be to be in the healthy range is a good start (just google BMI calculator).

      Like I said, you really just kind of start at the bottom and work your way up.

      Good luck!

Leave a Reply

