Better With Sprinkles

The Colourful Side to Healthy Living.

The Essentials.

4 Comments

Just ’cause it’s the weekend doesn’t mean I get out of going to the gym. 🙂

Workout

Livefit Day 47 – Legs

  • 2 x 30 leg extensions (55 lbs)
  • 6 x 8 wide legged barbell squat (95 lbs…jesus, that was a lot of sets)
  • 4 x 8, last to failure seated leg curl (90 lbs)
  • 4 x 8 one leg barbell squat (55 lbs)
  • 4 x 8 barbell glute bridge (20 lbs…probably could have gone heavier, but it felt awkward on my hips, need some sort of cushion)
  • 3 x 20 leg press calf raise (one 45 lb plate on each side)
  • 3 x 20 horizontal calf press (170 lbs)
  • 3 x 20 standing calf raise (85 lbs)

I’m not usually a big fan of leg days, but as my legs gain strength I’m starting to enjoy them more and more!

Breakfast

Simple, quick breakfast today.

1/2 cup of 1% cottage cheese, 1 sliced banana, blueberries, cocoa roasted almonds, and peanut butter cheerios.

Of course, I was starving when I got ready to take this picture and…my camera battery died. I spent about 5 minutes trying to find batteries and reload the camera properly, thus delaying breakfast for my grumbling tummy. Oh, life of a blogger.

Gym Essentials

Since I spend so much time at the gym (kind of feel like I live there sometimes) I decided to do a post on what I consider my absolute essentials for going to the gym. Also, if you didn’t already know that purple and black are my favourite colours, you probably do now. 🙂

Kind of a given. Hydration is important, kids.

The Ipod (aka: the only Apple product I will ever buy) and headphones. I’m definitely one of those need-music-at-all-times sort of person. Or, I need the headphones for watching tv when I’m on the cardio machines. I find it keeps me motivated and keeps me focused. Except for when I have it on shuffle and Mariah Carey’s “All I Want for Christmas is You” comes on. Not now, Mariah.

Again, a little bit of a given. The one advantage of being on the much-lower-end-of-average on the boob scale: I can wear pretty much any sports bra with any level of support and be fairly good to go. I usually just go with the $15 Walmart options and they work great for me.

The knee brace. I don’t wear it everytime I go to the gym, just when I’m planning on running. I get a little bit of achiness/pain in my left knee sometimes, and this really helps prevent that. I’m not 100% sure why I get it, to be honest with you – it may be runner’s knee, it may just be a little bit of muscle instability, or it may be something I haven’t even considered yet. I should probably get it looked into sometime. In the meantime though, this works great. It’s a Mcdavid Basic Open Sleeve Knee Support.

I love these shoes SO MUCH. I cannot emphasize enough how much you need proper cross training shoes if you’re following a strength training program. When I started lifting I was using a regular pair of running shoes, but when I switched over to these cross trainers (they’re Nike Flex TR2 – very light and comfortable) I noticed a huge difference. In cross training shoes your weight is more evenly distributed throughout your foot, allowing you to lift with better form and balance more properly. If you’re lifting weights in running shoes, go get cross trainers. Like now.

I also find I can go on the elliptical or run decent distances (I wouldn’t wear them for an 8 mile run, but around 4 or under, you’re golden) without issue.

Lifting gloves. Not 100% necessary if you’re going to be lifting weights, but definitely recommended. Basically, when I bought these I stopped tearing up/blistering my hands on a regular basis. These are Harbinger Women Flexfit gloves – comfortable, washable and a good amount of cushioning. Plus, if I wear them during the drive home I feel like Ryan Gosling’s character in the movie Drive. 🙂

My workout log. I love how delightfully old school it is. 🙂 Even before Livefit, I found my workouts were a lot of effective when I wrote out a plan beforehand and took it to the gym with me. Otherwise, I’d end up wasting a lot of time just wandering between machines deciding what I wanted to do next. This way, I knew what I wanted to do, could get into the gym, do it, and continue on with my day. Probably one of my most important tips.

And that is what I always keep with me for the gym! I always feel prepared with this stuff.

Today, I’m off to a family BBQ and then heading downtown tonight for a friend’s birthday. Going to be a busy day!

<– What are your gym essentials?

<– Any exciting Saturday plans?

4 thoughts on “The Essentials.

  1. Love the sports bra – looks like it is very supportive!

  2. A water bottle for sure and then a towel and face wash are my gym must haves! I also love a fancy body wash for after my workout. Purple is my favorite color (hence the blog background) and the majority of my workout clothes have purple in them (although I don’t YET have a purple bra)!

  3. Pingback: Let’s Rehash. « Better With Sprinkles

Leave a Reply

