Better With Sprinkles

The Colourful Side to Healthy Living.

Last Supper

2 Comments

Over dinner the other day, Eric and I got to talking about what our last meal would be if we were on death row (completely hypothetical of course – we don’t even have the death penalty). You know you want to it be all as tasty as possible and include everything you love, because it’s your last chance to eat – ever. Because it’s me and it’s a food related question, I stewed on it for a while until I had the best answer possible. 🙂

This is what I came up with:

 

Appetizers:

  • a Black Dragon sushi roll (it varies from place to place, but generally it has tempura shrimp, cucumber and avocado, wrapped in sushi rice and nori with eel on top)
  • roasted red pepper hummus with crudités and crackers

 

Main Course:

  • a big pile of pulled pork absolutely smothered in a sweet BBQ sauce
  • bacon wrapped scallops
  • crispy and not-too-greasy calamari rings

 

Dessert:

  • deep fried ice cream from Under the Volcano (A Mexican restaurant here in London that I absolutely love) – Eric and I are actually going there for dinner on Friday night so don’t be surprised if it makes an appearance.
  • it would have to be served with a froyo-style toppings bar – so I would add banana slices, maraschino cherries, chocolate chip cookie dough, Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups, crumbled Nestle Crunch bar, whipped cream, chocolate sauce and -of course- sprinkles.

 

Clearly, I put a lot of thought into this 🙂 I think this pretty much covered my favourite foods in a nutshell – I love sushi, seafood and BBQ, and my sweet tooth is actually kind of horrendous. And I need to eat hummus pretty much every day.

When I asked Eric this question, his answer was: “A f*ck-ton of sushi”.

Probably not a bad way to go either 😉

Workout

Livefit Day 51 – legs

  • 2 x 15, 2 to failure narrow stance barbell squats (85 lbs)
  • 4 x 8 narrow stance leg press (2 45 lb plates on each side)
  • 4 x 8 barbell step-ups (55 lbs – up 5 lbs)
  • 3 x 20 walking dumbbell double lunges (20 lb dumbbells – owww)
  • 4 x 8 single leg barbell squat (60 lb – up 5 lbs)
  • 3 x 20, last to failure seated horizontal leg press (170 lbs)
  • 3 x 20, last to failure standing calf raise (95 lbs)
  • 3 x 10, last to failure leg extensions (105 lbs)

 

Even a few gains is still awesome. 🙂

Breakfast

Eggs definitely sounded like a good idea this morning.

 

One slice of toasted whole wheat bread with strawberry jam, a slice of havarti cheese and two eggs sunny-side up. A few strawberries on the side because they taste good and look pretty. 🙂

If you haven’t tried the jam/cheese/egg combination…you need to try it. The little bit of sweetness makes it so, so good.

Halfway through the week!

<– What would you include in your last meal?

<– How do you like your eggs? Runny yolk, scrambled, hard-boiled, or something else all together?

2 thoughts on “Last Supper

  1. How do you make your eggs exactly ? Because they look very good. Do you eat snacks? Ever post just one full consecutive day of eats?
    I’m struggling with underweight, but hating calorie counting, but not gaining. I feel full a lot and eat quite a bit. I also am not active other than walking.

    • I just spray a pan down with cooking spray, throw two eggs on there and cook them sunny side up – just cooking them on one side until the whites are completely cooked through but the egg is runny.

      What I post in a day is definitely NOT everything I eat – I’m a big snacker! I haven’t yet posted one entire day of eats, but it’s something I can definitely look into trying one day.

      Have you tried talking to a dietician about your weight problem? I know when I was gaining I was put on a three meal, three large snacks a day plan that helped me a lot. If you’re able to talk to one, they can set you up with a meal plan that will help you a lot.

Leave a Reply

