Better With Sprinkles

The Colourful Side to Healthy Living.

Almost Too Good + Mexican Night.

1 Comment

As I mentioned this morning, my mom had the day off from work today so she picked me up to take me on her errand-running so we could hang out a bit.

It’s July 27th. Do you think Costco is jumping on the Halloween thing a little bit early?

We hit up Costco first, then Shoppers Drug Mart to visit my aunt, Remark (my mom hadn’t been yet, so I was more than happy to go back a week later) and the Super Walmart. So nice to hang out with my mom for a while!

I told her at the beginning of the shopping expedition that all I needed was calcium chews and some tahini.

But, this happened.

I’m almost too good at shopping, especially when food is involved. 🙂

My shopping goodies:

  • a ridiculous amount of whole wheat english muffins
  • new (to me) Detour Protein Bars
  • Food Should Taste Good Chocolate Tortilla Chips (Chocolate? In a chip? I could not say no)
  • chocolate calcium chews
  • hair dye (feeling the need to change it up a little bit)
  • a new toothbrush
  • tahini (expect a hummus recipe soon)!
  • Stokidakis 0% flavoured Greek yogurt – honey, blueberry-pomegranate and raspberry-cranberry
  • parmesan garlic Popchips
  • roasted garlic tomato sauce
  • whole wheat egg noodles
  • Maranatha almond butter

What can I say, I have a talent. 🙂

(When it comes to lunch, I was a bad blogger today. I killed my appetite a little bit in the Land of Free Samples (aka: Costco) so wasn’t feeling particularly hungry come lunchtime. I tried a few of my new FSTG chips – which were amazing – with guacamole, some carrot sticks, and a cheese string. I’m sure it’s not that hard to picture :-))

Dinner

Tonight was anniversary night for Eric and I! We try to celebrate our monthly anniversaries with a date – usually dinner, but sometimes we do a movie or froyo. I had a Groupon I wanted to use up before the move, and fortunately, it happened to be for one of my favourite restaurants.

Under the Volcano is one of the few Mexican restaurants in London. Considering my love of anything Mexican, clearly I had to be a fan. I hit this place up at least once every couple of months.

Of course, we started with the complementary chips and salsa. I try to keep myself in check, but really they’re impossible to turn down. 

I followed the chips with their garden side salad – lettuce with roasted corn, black beans, coleslaw and a balsamic vinaigrette. Only in a Mexican restaurant does a side salad have corn and black beans on it, which makes me incredibly happy. I should do this for my salads at home!

For dinner, I ordered a quesadilla – large tortilla stuffed with cheese and pulled pork adovado.

Cannot go wrong with that combination, folks. This was so tasty! And that side sauce – yum! I have absolutely no idea what it was (didn’t taste creamy or anything, so I’ve got nothing…some sort of salsa, maybe?) BUT I could tell it was full of cilantro, which automatically makes it fantastic. I made it about 3/4 of the way through my serving, then I just opened the tortilla and finished up the cheesy-porky-goodness. 🙂

I didn’t snap a picture, but Eric ordered the beef enchiladas with a side caesar salad – he reported that both were extremely satisfying.

And for dessert…

If you remember my Last Supper post, I stated that I would choose deep fried ice cream from Under the Volcano as my last dessert on Earth. Well, I haven’t had it in about a year and a half and Eric has never tried it before. Clearly, unacceptable.

You better believe we split one of those suckers for dessert. 🙂

That’s french vanilla ice cream deep fried with a secret crispy coating (I’m not sure, but I’m going to guess it involves flour, sugar and cornflakes) coated with honey and brown sugar, topped with a bit of whipped cream.

Just as good as I remembered! Between the two of us, it was definitely demolished. And Eric is converted to the ways of deep fried ice cream. 🙂

So my dinner involved pulled pork and deep fried ice cream – two of my last supper foods.

That, my friends, is what dreams are made of.

Considering my dinners tonight and last night, I think it’s safe to say that I’ll lighten up dinner a little bit tomorrow.

And maybe with a little less cheese – Jesus, I’ve eaten so much cheese the last few days (Although, that may not be a bad thing – have you seen the recent study saying that cheese could prevent diabetes? Cheese in the name of health :-)).

Now, to sit on the couch and digest while I watch some opening ceremonies.

Night friends!

<– Are you able to stick to a list when you shop or do you always find more you want?

<– Chocolate or vanilla ice cream? I prefer chocolate everything, except when it comes to ice cream. Much prefer vanilla for some reason.

One thought on “Almost Too Good + Mexican Night.

  1. Pingback: Let’s Rehash. « Better With Sprinkles

Leave a Reply

