Better With Sprinkles

The Colourful Side to Healthy Living.

Getting All Italian Up In Here.

7 Comments

Going back to last night, Eric and I spent some time watching Friends With Kids.

It didn’t get the absolute best reviews (68% on Rotten Tomatoes), but I figure anything with a good chunk of the cast of Bridesmaids couldn’t be that bad. My verdict? It wasn’t the greatest movie I’ve ever seen, but I enjoyed it. It was a little bit predictable and definitely made me think of “When Harry Met Sally”. I’m glad I saw it, but I wouldn’t have wanted to pay to see it in theatres.

I wish Kristen Wiig had a bigger part in it though! She was very much in the background of the movie and didn’t say too much. Considering how hilarious she is, it seemed like a little bit of a waste.

Considering that I didn’t do my usual post this morning, I guess I’ll have to catch you up on on gymtime and my eats!

Workout

Today meant the last workout of Phase 2 of Livefit!

Livefit day 55 – Back/Rear Delts/Cardio

  • 4 x 8 barbell deadlifts (100 lbs, up 5 – there’s that triple digit again! :-))
  • 4 x 8 incline barbell bench pull (45 lbs, up 5 lbs)
  • 4 x 8, last @ dropset wide grip lat pulldown (35 lbs)
  • 4 x 8, last @ dropset seated cable row (42.5 lbs)
  • 4 x 8 straight arm pulldown (32.5 lbs, up 2.5 lbs)
  • 4 x 8 reverse flies (20 lb dumbbells, up 2.5 lbs)
  • 4 x 8 seated bent over rear delt raise (22.5 lb dumbbells, up 2.5 lbs)
  • 30 minutes medium intensity elliptical (3 miles)

 

I definitely feel like I ended phase 2 with a bang! Of course, I used my elliptical time to catch up on Olympics stuff…so happy for Emilie Haymans! She made history this morning as the first female diver to win medals in four consecutive events. I can’t even fathom that, she not only made Canadian history but world history as well! Currently very proud to be Canadian. 🙂

As for the rest of my workout, tomorrow I’ll write a review on Phase 2 and my feelings on Phase 3 (I’ve already looked ahead, and yea…it’ll be a tough 4 weeks).

Breakfast

With my breakfast this morning, I feel like my transformation into a healthy living blogger was complete.

 

Because I made it super pretty and layered in a parfait glass instead of just dumped into a bowl and inhaled, as I usually tend to do. 🙂

This was 1/2 cup of 1% cottage cheese, 4 chopped strawberries and a chopped peach, separated and layered all pretty.

 

Small handfuls of cocoa roasted almonds and peanut butter cheerios on top. Pretty and delicious!

 

Lunch

There was a little bit of the rainbow trout left over, so I decided to finish that off with some of yesterday’s Avocado-Peach Salsa.

Yea, that salsa? Only got better overnight. I’m pretty sure it’s one of the better things I’ve ever made – so good you guys!

On the side I had some lightly steamed broccoli and carrots topped with goat cheese, as well as a few honey whole wheat pretzels for the crunch factor.

Dinner

One of the benefits of staying home all weekend – lots of time for recipe development and playing around in the kitchen. 🙂

I’ve always been a big fan of pasta, but when I was younger I wouldn’t touch tomato sauce – so glad I know better now! Any pasta I ate had to be coated in Alfredo sauce or cheese, which is delicious but probably not best to have every day. Fortunately, my tastebuds developed, and now a good spaghetti and meatballs is Italian heaven to me.

Something I realized the other day? I’ve never made meatballs from scratch – I decided tonight would be a good time to change that. I used ground chicken and baked them in the oven to keep it healthy, while still being delicious. Enjoy!

Italian Chicken Meatballs

(serves 4-6. Inspired from the meatball recipe in The Betty Crocker Cookbook: New Addition)

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb lean ground chicken
  • 1 egg
  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • 1/2 cup panko bread crumbs (if you don’t have these, I highly suggest picking some up. They add such an awesome crunch and fried factor to anything baked in the oven).
  • 1 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce (favourite thing ever: Watching Diners, Drive Ins and Dives and seeing Guy Fieri make all of the featured cooks attempt to pronounce it properly. Most unpronounceable word ever)
  • 1 teaspoon Italian seasoning
  • 2 tablespoons unsweetened vanilla almond milk (can substitute low fat cow’s milk)
  • salt and pepper to taste

 

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
  2. Combine all ingredients and gently mix. Shape mixture into balls (if you want regular size meatballs, this recipe makes 20. I prefer mini meatballs, so I made 32).
  3. Place balls on ungreased baking sheets or a large (13 x 9 inch) pan – you’ll need two if going the mini meatballs route.
  4. Bake for 25-30 minutes (regular sized) or 20-25 minutes (mini meatballs).

Mini sized would work great for an appetizer as well! Although clearly, I do not have the patience to actually roll these into a proper ball shape. I just place misshapen lumps on the pan and call it a day. 🙂

 

I was definitely happy with this recipe. The meatballs turned out super moist and flavourful! Although you wouldn’t mistake them for the traditional beef meatballs, they’re definitely a yummy option when you want something a wee bit healthier.

 

I tossed the meatballs in jarred tomato sauce (Wholesome Goodness brand, roasted garlic flavour) that I had heated up, adding a chopped red bell pepper, a few handfuls of chopped spinach, and some Italian seasoning for flavour and extra veggies.

 

I cooked up a box of whole wheat rotini to complete the meal.

 

Healthy Italian goodness. 🙂

So happy with this dinner – and of course, got full Eric approval (although it’s pretty rare he actually disapproves of anything I make him).

 

I hope everyone has a good Sunday night – I imagine everyone’s catching some more Olympics! (my plan for tonight too).

<– Do you spend a lot of time in the kitchen on weekends? I find I have more time on weekends, so I don’t mind putting an hour or so into dinner.

<– Favourite Olympic moment so far? It’s only day 2 and I’m completely sucked in.

7 thoughts on “Getting All Italian Up In Here.

  1. Ohhh my gosh I’m pretty sure I could just eat that avocado peach salsa with a spoon!!!! No dip vehicles necessary!

  2. I love making homemade meatballs, so good. All of your eats look delicious!

  3. So happy I found your blog! Everything looks delicious on here, especially that breakfast! Way to go on the heavy lifting too! Triple digits is awesome! You can only go up from there! I love finding other girls not afraid to lift heavy 🙂

  4. Pingback: Wouldn’t-Believe-It’s-Healthy-Lasagna. « Better With Sprinkles

Leave a Reply

