Better With Sprinkles

The Colourful Side to Healthy Living.

Hair Fail + Hummus with a Twist.

8 Comments

I confess – I’ve dyed my hair many times throughout the years. All done at home with a box. I got my hair professionally dyed once, and the price tag immediately turned me off. I’m sorry, I’m just really cheap.

I’ve had pretty much every hair colour a person could think of. I’m naturally blonde, but my hair’s been black, brown, red, red and black, purple, highlights…you name it. So dyeing my own hair has never been a big deal for me.

Now…I understand why they tell you to go to a professional.

This is what I started out with today:

 

My usual, blonde self.

This is what I was aiming for:

 

Colour 6RR: Light Auburn. Aka: Light reddish-brown.

And this is what I got.

 

An ugly, splotchy purple mess. Purple was acceptable to my 16 year old self. Now? Not so much.

I have no words right now – it’s pretty hideous. Massive, massive hair dye fail.

Fortunately, it’s summer so I don’t see tons of people on a day-to-day basis. I may just be hiding in the basement a little more for the next couple of days. 🙂

I spent the afternoon googling ways to make hair dye fade faster. This is what I got so far:

  1. Wash hair twice a day
  2. Expose it to strong, direct sunlight
  3. hot oil treatment
  4. scrub with liquid dish soap
  5. plain vinegar

Anyone have any suggestions to add to this list? The sooner I can fade the colour, the better.

But this just makes me depressed. Let’s move onto food. Food = happiness.

It’s no secret that I love hummus – I eat it either with lunch or as part of a snack almost every day. It is pricey though, and now that I have my mini food processor back, I needed to make some of my own.

I wanted to add a little something-something in the form of this:

 

Stubbs BBQ sauce.

Aka: BBQ Hummus. Greek meets Southern. Amazing.

 

BBQ Hummus

  • 1 can chickpeas, drained and rinsed
  • 2 tablespoons tahini
  • 1 teaspoon minced garlic
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 3 tablespoons water (if you reserve the chickpea water, that would be an awesome idea to use in place of regular water)
  • 1/3 cup BBQ Sauce (I love Stubbs because it has less sugar and better ingredients than most)

 

  1. Combine chickpeas, tahini, garlic, olive oil, water, and 4 tablespoons BBQ Sauce in a food processor. If using a mini food processor, you may have to start with a small amount and work your way up.
  2. Process until smooth – if you want a chunky hummus, use less water. Smoother – use more.
  3. Mix the last 2 tablespoons of BBQ sauce into the hummus.

 

Yum.

I was really happy with how this turned out – the BBQ sauce definitely adds a unique twist!

 

Lunch

Clearly, this hummus made it’s way into my lunch.

 

x 2 (at least) on the hummus – a lot of it went directly from the processor into my mouth 🙂

The crackers that I paired the hummus with? Applewood Smoked Barbecue Triscuits. Jesus, those crackers were made for this hummus – such a BBQ party in my mouth. 🙂

Clearly, this is a pretty small lunch. Believe me – there was a part 2.

 

Froyo! I had to make a run out to Walmart for a skipping rope (Livefit purposes) and I drive right by the Kiwi Kraze on my way home. I was feeling pretty bummed about my hair and I had an old gift card burning a hole in my pocket, so today, it seemed like a perfect day to use it up.

For the froyo, I got blueberry and marshmallow flavours. I topped with blueberries, strawberries, chocolate chip cookie dough bites, a few chocolate covered raisins, coconut, a bit of peanut butter and sprinkles (of course). I was actually going to go for a marshmallow/vanilla combo when I decided last minute to get blueberry instead. Best.decision.ever.

Notice there were two spoons…I shared!

(and by shared, I mean Eric got two bites and then I got greedy :-))

Dinner

Mmm…steak night. My inner carnivore needed appeasing tonight.

 

Striploin steak coated in Montreal Steak Spice, pan fried to a perfect medium rare in a light layer of olive oil. 

Corn on the cob on the side.

 

God, that’s 100% how I like my steak. I’m actually really proud of myself on this one! I don’t consider myself very good with cooking meat, so I’m glad this turned out so well.

Eric’s opinion? (and I quote) “This may be the best steak I’ve ever eaten. And I’ve been to The Keg and sh*t.”

Eat it, The Keg. 🙂

I’ve flirted with vegetarianism on and off throughout the years. From the ages of 16-20 I stopped eating red meat and pork. Poultry and fish were still acceptable – I wanted to cut down on my animal proteins but I didn’t want to give them up completely. I’ve gone through phases when I’ve tried to minimize my meat intake.

Honestly? I understand why people become vegetarian or vegan. Some may just not like the idea of meat, some people don’t like the environmental impact, and others don’t like the way animals or treated. For some, it’s a combination of all three. I get it, I really do. But one thing I’ve learned is that it’s not for me.

Clearly, I’m not a fan of factory farming or animals being injected with creepy hormones. I fully endorse the idea of Meatless Monday – I try to go vegetarian one day a week (although I’ve fallen off the wagon with this for sure. Tomorrow = meatless). and buy organic and hormone-free when I can. But, it’s about what works for each individual – I’ve learned that my body reacts well to animal protein.

For myself, I’m glad that I reintroduced steak into my diet. I wouldn’t eat it everyday, but it’s nice once in a while.

(and I’m almost thinking that I need to post 3 x a day. Jesus, I talk a lot).

<– Vegetarian? Why did you decide to go that route?

<– Meat eater? How do you like your steak cooked?

8 thoughts on “Hair Fail + Hummus with a Twist.

  1. I have never dyed my hair except a teal strip underneath, lame I know but it was my middle school phase. I am too scared to lose my natural color. it does get blonder in the summer with the sun. I love your hair color though. That recipe looks great. I too have been kind of vegetarian for a while. My dad has been his whole life so I grew up loving fish but no meat. Now, I don’t really cook meat for myself except turkey but sometimes I just crave meat. Weird,

  2. That hummus sounds like something the Texan in me would adore! You are brave with your hair girl! I have always gone to a professional except when I try a 28 day color and even then I am so nervous! As for the veggie deal, I was a vegetarian for 4 years and this summer I decided it was time to try meat again as a way of seeing if I was doing it for moral reasons or for diet reasons. My stomach feels a lot better most days now that meat is part of my diet I have to say. And I believe I was just cutting it out to make food decisions easier. It’s time to challenge that one!

    • This one is thankfully, a 28 day colour so I won’t have to deal with for two long.

      I found my body liked me better once I increased my eat intake too – and when I cut out red meat and pork I was probably just doing the same. Yay for doing the right thing for YOUR body!

  3. I really really disagree with vegetarianism or veganism. From a biological and health perspective, I don’t believe it is sound and no human being in history ever has been a vegetarian…humans are not built or designed to be vegetarians. i don’t judge others for their choices…but i think its not the best one for sure. Real fats (olive and coconut oil, real butter, avocado, fatty fish, etc) and real foods are best for sure (eggs, etc etc).
    I am not a vegetarian 🙂
    I don’t think there’s anything wrong with eating meats or chicken or fish etc…the problem is with the industry today …its all hormone-fed stuff 😦
    Now, REALLY we would all be health-wise and cruelty-wise be better off purchasing and eating all organic, grass fed or antibiotic stuff…unfortunately, that stuff is also not very available (not where I live anyway) nor is it cheap (it is far more expensive)…so I try to do the best I can, but I can’t always get the “best”…have to do what we can do and live within our realistic means.

    • Thanks for the comment Sonia – this is an issue people have really strong feelings about it, so I’m always interested in hearing the reasoning behind their beliefs!

      I agree with you about the organic meats…I would love to say that I eat organic or free-range meat 100% of the time, but I don’t. It is way too expensive, and on my budget it can’t happen as much as I like – really, only when there’s a good sale on.

  4. Pingback: Ink Addict. « Better With Sprinkles

  5. Pingback: Sushi No. « Better With Sprinkles

Leave a Reply

