Better With Sprinkles

The Colourful Side to Healthy Living.

And It Begins.

2 Comments

Phase 3?

Bring it.

 

Workout

Livefit Week 9, Day 57 – legs

Superset

  • 3 x 15 leg press (2 45 lb plates on each side)
  • 3 x 15 jump squats

 

Working set + Active rest

  • 3 x 20 dumbbell squat (20 lb dumbbells)
  • 3 x 1 minute jump rope

 

Superset

  • 3 x 20 walking barbell lunge (40 lbs)
  • 3 x 20 long jump
  • 3 x 20 leg extensions (70 lbs)
  • 3 x 20 lateral bounds

 

Normal sets

  • 3 x 20 barbell squat (85 lbs)

 

Working set + Active rest

  • 3 x 20 standing calf raise (95 lbs)
  • 3 x 1 minute jump rope
  • 3 x 20 calf press on leg press machine (2 45 lb plates each side)
  • 3 x 1 minute jump rope

 

Wow…when I read that phase 3 was intense, people were not kidding. This workout left me in a state of “Ohmygod I’m sweaty and dying!”

I remember doing skip rope a lot when I was a kid – I do NOT remember it being such as intense workout! And the plyometrics…oh goodness, the plyos (explosive jumping movements, such as jump squats or lunges). I haven’t done those in months. Especially with that opening superset, my legs were burning like nothing else.

I think it’s safe to say, when I’m done with this program I am going to be a MACHINE. 🙂

 

Breakfast

Super sweaty workout = super cold breakfast.

 

A green smoothie was definitely in order.

My usual mix: 3/4 cup almond milk, 1 scoop chocolate peanut butter protein powder, 1 frozen banana, and as much spinach as I could squish in the Magic Bullet. Some (sinking) Love Crunch granola on top.

If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it. 🙂

Have a lovely day!

Off course, more Olympics watching today. Canada’s sitting at 3 medals right now – need to bring that number up a bit!

<– Random question: favourite type of music to listen to at the gym? Or do you prefer to workout without it? I was listening to hard rock/punk music today and it was definitely keeping me motivated.

2 thoughts on “And It Begins.

  1. I need to get into smoothies, I really think I would like them this time of year.

Leave a Reply

