Better With Sprinkles

The Colourful Side to Healthy Living.

Ink Addict.

7 Comments

And by addict, I mean I have 4 tattoos. But I am only 22 and that sh*t’s expensive. 🙂

But first…I may have fixed yesterday’s hair disaster!! 🙂

I did more google research today on how to get rid of semi-permanent hair dye (I didn’t even realize at the time that I got semi-permanent, apparently it was a good thing!) and came across a recommendation to use crushed up vitamin C pills mixed with shampoo. I was originally going to try dish soap, but this seemed like a less harsh option so I decided to give it a shot. The result?

Not too shabby!

Most of the purple/red is completely gone and it’s almost back to my natural colour. It’s still a bit purple/reddish on top, but I’m hoping one more treatment tomorrow will take care of that. The vitamin C thing seemed so random, but I’m ecstatic that it worked.

Lunch

The random-ness of my lunch plate astounds even me.

On that plate, I’ve got two sunny-side up eggs with Avocado-Peach Salsa (that stuff is good with everything, I swear), tabbouleh, baby carrots + BBQ Hummus, and blueberries.

Random? Yes. Amazing? Also yes.

Dinner

Simple burger dinner tonight.

A bunless Yves Veggie burger for me (with a small bite taken out so I could make sure it was done ;-)) topped with lettuce, tomato, honey mustard and pickles. I’ve determined – every burger needs a pickle. One at the very least, preferably several. They add the best flavour.

On the side, some steamed broccoli that was clearly on the verge of death and some sweet potato wedges with ketchup.

Usually for roasted sweet potatoes I use olive oil and a ton of different spices. For this batch I used coconut oil instead and just seasoned with salt and pepper. They turned out so flavourful! I understand why people always talk about how amazing coconut oil is. Such an awesome purchase!

Also, I said in yesterday’s dinner post that today would be completely meatless. Mission accomplished. 🙂

The Tattoos.

A few weeks ago, I left a comment on another blog where I mentioned that I had tattoos. Looking at my blog stats later that day, I noticed that I had a lot of clicks coming from that post – I’m taking it as a sign y’all (look at me, pretending to be Southern) are curious about/interested in tattoos.

And really, I love my tattoos and look for an excuse to show them off. 🙂

Tattoo number 1: the four-leaf clover.

(for the record, I like ear piercings too. Clearly).

This was my first tattoo that I got when I was 18 years old. I realize clovers are a popular tattoo, especially among Irish peeps. There’s a bit of Irish in me, but really, I got it as a permanent good luck charm. I’m the sort of person that does not have good luck – I break things, I never win draws or prizes…I decided this was like a rabbit’s foot, but better. 

Weird story with this tattoo: I got it May 7th 2008. Aka – Eric’s 23rd birthday. Eric is Irish. We didn’t meet until January 2011. Coincidence? I like to think of it some sort of fate (why yes, I am a hopeless romantic).

Tattoo number 2:

I got this one in June 2009. Weird tattoo for someone who is terrified of bees, no?

But this one deals with my heritage. I’m Scottish on my mother’s side – my grandmother’s maiden name was Ferguson. The family crest is a bee on a thistle, so I decided to just get the bee. I’ll probably get a thistle tattooed eventually. I grew up Highland dancing, and identify strongly with my Scottish roots. One of my goals in life? Actually going to Scotland.

Tattoo number three – the recovery tattoo.

(and my stomach, in case you were curious what that looked like).

I got this tattoo soon after I entered therapy for anorexia, in November 2009. It was my reminder to myself that I needed to do exactly what the tattoo said – loving myself was the most important thing at that moment, and for the rest of my life. The placement was strategic too; I got it on my side, so every time I’d lift up my shirt to look at/despair over my stomach (the body part I’ve always had the most trouble accepting) I would see the reminder that hating my body was not good for me – I needed to work on loving myself.

And number four – Princess.

Not going to lie, this tattoo was more for fun than anything else. I got it in June 2011, right after I got my undergraduate degree. I think tattoos should represent something special in your life or a special moment, so for me, graduating from university was a good time to get one. While I’m not too diva-ish, I do consider myself a princess while still being a little bit of a badass, something I think this tattoo represents well.

So that is the current tattoo collection. I’m hoping to add one more small one by the end of summer, but we’ll see how funds are looking at that point. I know a lot of people have strong opinions on tattoos, or think that they’re ugly. I personally love them, and see them as a form of self-expression. That being said, I’m not about to go get a spider tattooed on my face or anything extreme like that.

A lot of people present the argument that tattoos that look good when you’re 20 will look awful when you’re 80. But you know what? Pretty much everything on my body is going to look better at 20 than it will at 80. So I might as well enjoy them now.

<– Any hair horror stories for me? I’m glad this one is turning out to be a temporary blip. 🙂

<– Talk to me about tattoos. Love them, hate them, have any of your own?

7 thoughts on “Ink Addict.

  1. i need to try coconut oil. still have yet to get it. I have been dying to get a tattoo, I have one that I have been wanting to get for over a year now but just don’t have the guts to do it!

    • I held off on coconut oil for a long time because of the price tag – totally worth every penny though!

      And once you get one tattoo, you’ll want like 12 more. Seriously, every time I get one done I walk out of there already planning my next one :-p They’re addictive!

  2. Pingback: Let’s Rehash. « Better With Sprinkles

  3. Pingback: Sushi No. « Better With Sprinkles

  4. Pingback: If It Involves Toppings on Bread, It Counts As Pizza. « Better With Sprinkles

  5. Pingback: Things on a Thursday. « Better With Sprinkles

  6. Pingback: The ACV Update. « Better With Sprinkles

Leave a Reply

