Better With Sprinkles

The Colourful Side to Healthy Living.

Sushi No.

4 Comments

First note of the day – my hair is fixed!!

I did another vitamin C/shampoo treatment yesterday and let the mixture sit for about 3 hours. When I rinsed it out, bam! All the purple was gone. It’s a bit darker than my natural colour – more of a really light brunette. I’m 100% happy with that, considering what it looked like before.

Workout

Second note of the day: My new goal is to finish phase 3 without collapsing in a pile of my own sweat and tears. Jesus, that’s hard.

Livefit day 59 – chest/shoulders/abs/sprints

Superset

  • 3 x 15 incline dumbbell press (17.5 lb dumbbells)
  • 3 x 15 dumbbell shoulder press (15 lb dumbbells)

Working set + Active rest

  • 3 x 15 cable crossover (7.5 lbs each side)
  • 3 x 12 medicine ball pushups (on knees)
  • 3 x 15 overhead dumbbell squat (10 lbs – my balance sucks, so any more weight would have affected my form too much)
  • 3 x 15 jackknife sit ups

Superset + Active rest

  • 3 x 15 side lateral raise (5 lb dumbbells)
  • 3 x 15 standing dumbbell upright row (12.5 lb dumbbells)
  • 3 x 10 burpee

Triple Set

  • 3 x 15 assisted dips (set to 55 on the machine)
  • 3 x 15 captain’s chair knee lift
  • 3 x 15 pushups
  • running, 30 seconds sprints – 3 minute warm up, 30 seconds sprint, 30 seconds recover for 25 minutes, 2 minute cool down.

Truer words were never said.

Again, these workouts completely kick my ass. But, that makes me even more convinced it’ll be worth it.

Post Workout

By the time I got back from the gym, it was already almost 11 am and Eric and I were planning on leaving for a lunch date in about 45 minutes. Clearly, I needed to fuel my muscles but I didn’t want to ruin my appetite.

Protein shake it is. 3/4 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk + one scoop peanut butter chocolate protein powder in my Blender Bottle. This is not my favourite way to use protein powder (the texture isn’t my thing) but for a situation like this, I’ll take it.

I picked up a Blender Bottle from GNC about a month ago, but this is my first time trying it out. It didn’t get the shake quite as smooth as my Magic Bullet does, but it did a better job than I expected!

Sushi Ya

I had heard (from Chelsea and Meg) about a sushi restaurant in London that actually serves brown rice – called Sushi Ya. Clearly, I had to check it out.

Sushi fail. (Sushi Ya? More like Sushi No! I crack myself up:-))

Fortunately, Gozen Bistro was right next door.

Really, as long as I get my sushi fix I’m happy.

And Eric is one of the few people I know who’s love of sushi rivals mine, so he was happy too.

Yea…we’re awesome.

Eric ordered the salmon lovers’ sushi set (8 pieces salmon, 6 pieces spicy crispy salmon) while I went with the Nagoya sashimi set (12 pieces raw fish, depending on what’s fresh that day). Both had salads and soup to start.

While the salad itself was a bit depressing to look at (iceberg lettuce, a piece of tomato and two slices of cucumber), the salad dressing was amazing. I don’t have the faintest idea what it was, but I know I want a lot of it.

WHY DON’T I ORDER MISO SOUP MORE OFTEN!? Seriously, so tasty.

Ohmygoodnessyouarebeautiful.

On that plate, I know the one to the right is salmon and the one to the left is tuna. The top and bottom ones, I’m not 100% sure, and I was too busy shoving it my mouth to bother to ask. I think the top one is yellowtail and the bottom one is mackerel? There’s a pretty good chance I’m wrong though.

The bottom one was a tad bit fishy for my taste (didn’t stop my from inhaling it though) while the other three were positively amazing.

And that tuna, oh my god. I could write love ballads to that tuna. So flavourful and melt-in-your-mouth.

I was convinced for a long time that I didn’t really like tuna – mainly because I’ve never been the biggest fan of the canned stuff. But fresh tuna? Absolutely unbeatable.

Some rice and more miso on the side.

Although our food was amazing, the service left a little something to be desired. The table that was seated literally 2 minutes before us were almost done with their entrées by the time we got ours. But, we did get more miso, so that kinda makes up for it. 🙂

Despite a setback, still an amazing sushi lunch date. 🙂

Afterwards we walked downtown a little bit. I stopped at the tattoo parlour I go to to get a tattoo I want priced out (yes, writing a post on tattoos just fuelled my desire to add to my collection). Then we headed over to Convent Garden Market. It’s more or less impossible for me to be downtown during the day and NOT go to Convent Garden. It’s a little bit pricey, but they have so many unique food and gift items that I always feel the need to look around (and spend money).

Nope, never.

Of course, I always find something in Convent Garden I have to buy. More specifically, in Homeopathy London – such a health foodie heaven. A lot of my first time health food buys have come from this place – quinoa, whole wheat pastry flour, tempeh, and almond butter all come to mind.

Today’s find?

DU DU DUUHHH.

I was actually doing a happy dance in the middle of the aisle when I came across this stuff (and the chocolate version, no less!). I’ve been wanting to try it for so long, but to get it shipped from Bell Plantation to Canada is ridiculous. As in, about $23.00 in shipping. In shipping! A 4 pack costs about $16.00. Paying more for shipping than on the product itself? No.

So actually finding this for a decent price in Canada? Pure happiness. Cannot WAIT to break this stuff out.

Happy day!

Eric’s brother and sister-in-law are in town from Kingston for the long weekend, so we’ll be having dinner with them tonight. So excited to see them!

<– Favourite foodie find as of late?

<– Do you like sushi? What’s your favourite thing to order? If I’m feeling something crunchy, I love a Black Dragon Roll. Otherwise, I’d have to pick a Salmon Avocado Roll 95% of the time.

4 thoughts on “Sushi No.

  1. I love sashimi. Made me drool. Looks like a great day.

  2. Just something to think about, but doesn’t the PB2 feed into the whole ED mentality? Seeing as though it’s a low calorie version of real chocolate PB? Wouldn’t it be better for your recovery if you used the real thing? You do a great job of avoiding “diet” foods–I thought your post on stir fry sauces. You do a great job with your meals! I hope you don’t take this the wrong way, just food for thought! Continue locking some ED butt!

    • Hi Sam,

      Thanks for your comment, and you do make a good point and I see what you mean about the PB2. For me, it was more about a “foodie find” then the actual stats of the thing. Yes, it has less calories and fat, but I honestly paid no attention to that. I had heard it was amazing, so I was curious to try it.

      Believe me, this is will not replacing peanut butter at all for me – I eat regular peanut/almond butter most days of the week and I will continue doing so. The flavour/texture of PB2 is different from regular peanut butter, so I plan on using it in different ways. It’s just a way for me to expand my foodie horizons. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Shin Splints and Planned Obsolescence. « Better With Sprinkles

Leave a Reply

