Better With Sprinkles

The Colourful Side to Healthy Living.

It’s Kinda Like Swimming.

8 Comments

Morning!

I’ve surprised myself the last two days – with my Ipod on the fritz, I’ve completed my workouts without music.

To some people, that’s nothing. To me, that’s a huge deal. I’m the sort of person who, if I get to the gym and realize I forget my music, I turn around and go home. It’s that necessary for me.

But, I completed the strength portion of my workouts music free, and the cardio portion with my headphones plugged into the machine watching Olympics. I think the biggest challenge for me would be to go for a run in silence – I have huge mental block with that. It just sounds torturous to me!

P.S. I spent time on the treadmill today watching the Federer/Murray match. I’ve never actually watched tennis before, it’s more interesting than I thought! Thankfully, I knew the rules (thanks to an N64 and Mario Tennis from my childhood). 🙂

Workout

My music-less Livefit Day 62 – shoulders/triceps/calves/sprints

Working set + Active rest

  • 3 x 15 bench press (45 lbs)
  • 3 x 1 minute jump rope
  • 3 x 15 bench dips
  • 3 x 15 mountain climbers

Superset + Active rest

  • 3 x 12 standing upright dumbbell row (12.5 lb dumbbells)
  • 3 x 12 seated arnold dumbbell press (10 lb dumbbells)
  • 3 x 1 minute jump rope

Superset

  • 3 x 10 medicine ball pushups (on knees)
  • 3 x 10 pushups

Triple set

  • 3 x 20 standing calf raise (95 lbs)
  • 3 x 20 horizontal calf press (170 lbs)
  • 1 minute jump rope
  • 30 minute treadmill run – 3 minute warm up; 1 minute sprints, 1 minute recovery, for 26 minutes; 1 minute cool down. (2.6 miles)

The plan calls for 30 second sprints/30 seconds off, but I find it’s just too difficult/awkward to do that short of sprints on a treadmill – as soon as you get to the required speed it’s time to switch again. So I used 1 minute intervals and it worked just fine. Also, not pushing it too hard with the sprints yet. This week has been the first time in a few months doing intervals, so I want to start easy and work my way up.

So much jump rope today! I always feel awkward skipping at the gym – there’s not that much space in the weights area, so I always feel like I’m going to accidentally lash someone in the face. Yea. that’d be bad.

Breakfast

Of course, I had to break into the secret love of my life this morning.

In the form of my microwave chocolate peanut butter protein muffin.

I wanted to make this one extra chocolaty, so I added a tablespoon of cocoa powder to the recipe.

Peanut butter on top for extra goodness. 🙂

Always makes me happy.

My plans for the day involve going over to my parent’s for a BBQ dinner. When I talked to my mom last night, she mentioned that we should bring our bathing suits and go in the pool.

Yea…it’s pouring rain outside. At this rate, we could stand in the street in our bathing suits and it would pretty much be the same thing. 

I’m in charge of dessert for tonight, so come back later for a recap and recipe! 🙂

Talk soon!

<– What are your plans this Sunday?

<– Do you follow tennis at all?

8 thoughts on “It’s Kinda Like Swimming.

  1. wow that mug cake looks freaking amazing!!!

  2. I really like how you post the livefit workouts , so I can steal ideas:).
    I actually just recently purchased skipping ropes to use in my own workouts- I remember jumping rope feeling a lot easier when I was 8yrs old for some annoying reason.
    Xxx

    • So much easier when you’re a kid, I never remember being that out of breath when I was younger after a few minutes of it!

      And even if you don’t do the program, the exercises themselves are great to incorporate into any routine. and P.S. – it’s all for free online, so no one can sue me for posting them, lol 🙂

  3. That cake mug looks SO good – I need to make one of those soon! Love the chocolate pb combo

  4. Pingback: Nerdy Confessions. « Better With Sprinkles

  5. Pingback: Awkward Gym Noises. « Better With Sprinkles

Leave a Reply

