Better With Sprinkles

The Colourful Side to Healthy Living.

Ninja Health Attack.

11 Comments

So….

I am a dessert queen.

Any sort of family or friend get together, I bring a dessert. Today, Eric and I were heading over to my parent’s for a BBQ dinner, so of course, this rule applied.

Normally, I am all over the sugary sweet desserts. I usually show up with brownies or cupcakes in hand. However, I’m feeling like my sugar intake is getting higher than I’d like it to lately (there’s definitely lots of chocolate, candy and handfuls of cereal that go undocumented on the blog) so I wanted something a little bit healthier tonight.

I challenged myself to take an already decent dessert health-wise and try to healthy it up even more. My parents are fans of blueberries, so I thought a blueberry crisp would be perfect.

The challenge? Healthy it up a bit, but don’t make it noticeable. That’s the challenge I find with healthy desserts – making it undetectable.

So blueberry crisp – but with no butter, 100% whole grain and reduced sugar. I’m so sneaky.

Healthified Blueberry Crisp

(serves 6, based off of Blueberry Crisp recipe in Betty Crocker New Edition)

Ingredients:

  • 3 1/2 – 4 cups blueberries
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil, in solid form
  • 2 tablespoons unsweetened applesauce
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1/2 cup large flake oats
  • 1/2 cup lightly packed brown sugar

 

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees. Grease an 8 x 8 pan with coconut oil.
  2. Pour blueberries into pan.
  3. Mix all other ingredients in a bowl until smooth.
  4. Sprinkle topping over blueberries.
  5. Place pan in oven and cook for 35 – 40 minutes, or until topping has browned and blueberries are juicy.

 

So simple!

 

Umm..yea. 

This is just sweet enough, and the topping is perfectly crunchy. You can eat 1/6 of the pan for only 220 calories – and it tastes a lot more decadent than that.

Recipe success. 🙂

 

Family Time

When we got to my parents, I made a beeline for this adorable creature.

 

This is the family dog, Lexus. She’s part Miniature Pinscher, part Jack Russell, and all attitude. 🙂

Of course, I was excited to see my parents and my brother too. They live about 25 minutes away from me, but I make sure to see them at least a few times a month.

My mom spent yesterday at the Farmer’s Market in St. Jacob’s, Waterloo. St. Jacob’s Market is Canada’s largest year-round farmers market, and it is absolutely amazing. Of course, she was thoughtful and brought me back a treat.

 

(excuse the plastic wrap!)

Fresh-made focaccia bread with spinach, sundried tomatoes and goat cheese. Umm, three of my favourite things on oven-baked bread? Yes please!

We got there right around lunch time, and the plan was for an early dinner. Fortunately, my mom loves hummus as much as I do and always has a stash in the house.

 

Pretzel Crisps and Caramelized Onion Hummus. Clearly, I was so excited by this I just jumped right in before setting up any sort of decent picture. 🙂

I’ve had these crisps before and I see them all the time on Tina‘s blog, but I forgot how good they are. Tasty on their own, but the perfect hummus vehicle – super crunchy and thin, with a nice flavour.

When I went to talk to my brother, he had to show me the new toy in the house.

 

A Bowflex! (and my thumb. and an unfinished basement).

My parent’s live pretty far out in the country, and while my dad and Craig belong to a gym, it’s not always possible to drive into town to hit it up. This allows them to get in a decent workout at home.

It looks like it’d be fun to try out! Although while Craig and my dad were showing me how it worked, I couldn’t help but think it took a long time to set it up between exercises – I feel like I’d get too annoyed with it.

Speaking of my dad,

 

Can you tell he doesn’t like pictures much?

While my dad has always been active (he plays baseball and golf in the summer, and volleyball in the winter) he just joined a gym back in March. Since then he’s added a lot of muscle and and lost about 20-25 pounds…I’m super proud of him!

 

We love getting in some time with the family. 🙂

And another dog shot. I just can’t help myself.

 

Too.effin’.cute.

 

Dinner

It was gorgeous outside tonight – breezy and not too hot. My parents have a nice deck and a gorgeous backyard, so we ate dinner out back.

 

While I love living in the city, there’s something so nice about being out in the country.

We had what might have been the coolest wine I’d ever heard of with dinner.

 

My aunt and my cousin just got back from a trip to Newfoundland, and they brought this back for my mom as a souvenir. It’s a raspberry wine made from real iceberg water – that’s such a cool concept!

 

I thought I would be driving later so I kept it to just one glass – but oh my, was it delicious! I’m a huge fan of fruit wines; the more they taste like juice, the happier I am. This one was light and fruity, but not too sweet. Absolutely perfect.

For dinner, we went with a real BBQ style. 

Barbecued chicken and ribs, scalloped potatoes, and corn on the cob.

 

I tried a little bit of everything – plus I went back for another scoop of the potatoes. Sometimes, you just need a little condensed cream of mushroom soup in your life. 🙂

Of course, we brought out the dessert.

 

Looks awesome, but missing a little something.

 

Better.

And – the dessert passed the healthified test. Not one person noticed it was healthier than the usual version. Happiness!

Overall, an awesome time spent with the family. We’ll get the chance to see them again a week from Monday – my family always goes camping for a week in August and Eric and I will be driving up to join them for a few days. I love camping and I haven’t been in a few years – looking forward to it so much!

Amazing way to spend a Sunday. 🙂

 

<– Favourite dish your mom/dad/sibling makes? I do love those potatoes.

<– Do you ever try to healthify desserts?

11 thoughts on “Ninja Health Attack.

  1. What a yummy post.

    I bought theee biggest/fattest/juciest blueberries ever today + I’m having a love affair with coconut oil- thus concluding, me and the blueberry crisp were meant to be. I can’t wait to try this recipe!
    And yup, pretty sure that focaccia is the stuff dreams are made of, (even through plastic wrap) I can tell how amazing that must be.

    Go your dad! Sounds like he’s doing an awesome job at improving his health and quality of life. That’s pretty inspiring:).
    Xxx

  2. That crisp looks seriously amazing! Crisps are my favourite summertime dessert. 🙂 I sometimes healthify recipes, but sometimes I just like making the real thing. Usually if I’m baking for a crowd I won’t try to make it healthier because I don’t want to take the risk of ruining it haha.

    Also I want that focaccia! I’m pretty much obsessed with farmer’s markets and I’ve been meaning to check out the one in St. Jacobs – I need to do that soon!

    • Ohh, you most definitely should go! It’s huge – there’s an outdoor section, plus two entire buildings worth of market, it’s amazing!

      Definitely agree with you about the desserts – I know my parents will still love me if I screw it up, I’d rather know it’ll turn out well for a crowd. 🙂

  3. oh gosh that crisp looks amazing. I love fresh fruit in dessert. Raspberry wine… how refreshing!

  4. Pingback: Nerdy Confessions. « Better With Sprinkles

  5. Pingback: Almost at a Costco Standard. « Better With Sprinkles

  6. Pingback: Rehashing August. « Better With Sprinkles

  7. what is a good sub if there is no coconut oil in the house?

Leave a Reply

