Better With Sprinkles

The Colourful Side to Healthy Living.

Nerdy Confessions.

13 Comments

Good morning!

Catching up on the weekend?

Mmm…rest day.

Livefit Week 9 is definitely a killer! I’ve been experiencing DOMS all week, so a rest day is much appreciated.ย 

It’s hard to believe there’s only 3 weeks left in the trainer – I feel like I’ve been doing it for so long!

Breakfast

I woke up craving pumpkin this morning, so STUFT Mama’s Pumped Up Protein Cookie Dough seemed like a good idea.

Made with pumpkin, protein powder, chocolate PB2, oats, cinnamon, vanilla, liquid stevia, and puffed brown rice.

Topped with some Dark Chocolate Dreams. Delicious, as per usual.

I love how pumpkin always seems appropriate -even when it’s humid death outside. Autumn food, what?

The Confession

So I have a little bit of a secret.

I have a few obsessions that make me a little bit nerdy. And by a little bit, I mean I’m a huge closet nerd.

Nerdy Confession #1

I adore Game of Thrones.

I have all the books (I’d show you picture proof, but the packing process has started, so they’re buried in a box somewhere) and am currently reading Book 5: A Dance With Dragons.

When I’m done, I’m planning on starting again from Book one and reading the series through a second time. There’s a lot of little details that have big meaning later, so I want to make sure I’ve picked up on everything.

I’ve watched every episode of the tv show at least once, and I can promise that I’ll be watching them all again. When the show is running, Sunday night is my favourite time of the week. Annnd I’m already counting the days until Season 3 starts (244, in case you’re interested). ๐Ÿ™‚

I can have at length discussions on how closely the show follows the books, which characters are my favourites (Tyrion, Drogo and Daenerys, fyi) and can quote both at length (“It is known!”)

Nerdy Confession #2

This is becoming one of my most prized possessions.

I grew up a big gamer – I had a Sega Saturn when I was younger, followed by a Playstation and a Playstation II.

When I got a new laptop about a month ago it came with a free XBOX 360 (amazing deal, dontcha think)?

Although blogging takes up a lot of my free time, when I have a few minutes I plug it in and give it a go. I’ve always been a fan of survival-horror (Resident Evil, Silent Hill) and RPG’s (Final Fantasy, Dragon Age) and continue to play them. My focus right now is Final Fantasy XIII – It’ll take me a million years to get through it all, but I’m enjoying it.ย 

Fun fact: When Eric and I first met, my video game love was one of the things that drew him in. He was looking at a video game magazine and I made a comment about one of the games it was featuring (Dragon Age II). He saw me in a new light after that. ๐Ÿ™‚

Nerdy Confession #3

I effin’ ADORE The Sims.

I started playing the original Sims game when it first came out – It was 12 years ago, so I would have been 9 or 10.

I continued that obsession for a over a decade. A decade, people!!

Of course, I have The Sims 3 and the majority of the expansions that come with it. ๐Ÿ™‚

I think this explains why I majored in sociology for my undergrad – how people live their lives is just so fascinating to me.

Nerdy Confession #4

I don’t know if that counts as nerdy in the traditional sense, but I’m a huge, huge book nerd. Even during school when I had to read chapters upon chapters for school every week, I still went to the library at least once a month and picked out 6-7 books to read on the side. Name a popular book or series and I’ve probably read it.

  • 50 Shades of Grey – done. (Unfortunately)
  • Twilight – twice
  • Harry Potter – of course
  • Girl With the Dragon Tattoo – loved it.
  • Game of Thrones – look at # 1
  • Hunger Games – makes me want to take up archery again.
  • the Iliad and theย Odysseyย – I love me some classics too.
  • anything Anthony Bourdain or Gordon Ramsay writes – love it so much.

And, too many more too count. ๐Ÿ™‚

Nerdy Confession #5

I watch Jeopardy almost every day of the week.

And then I scream at the tv when I know the answer. If I can get 9-10 in a single episode, I am super proud of myself. ๐Ÿ™‚

Nerdy Confessions #6

I am obsessed with all things zombies.

  • zombie video games – pretty much every Resident Evil game out there.
  • zombie movies – more Resident Evil, 28 Days/Weeks Later, Fright Night…
  • zombie tv shows – The Walking Dead.

And, I have had at length conversations with people about what I would do in case of a zombie apocalypse (Katniss had the right idea – learn how to use a bow and arrow, or, go all Daryl on their ass and get a crossbow. Kills effectively and silently so you don’t attract more of them, and allows for infinite ammo if you pick up the arrows afterwards). And, they probably can’t swim – so an island of some sort would be ideal.

So there, you go. My secret nerdy side on display. ๐Ÿ˜€

<– What typically ‘nerdy’ things are you a fan of? I want more nerdy confessions!

<– Ever seen Game of Thrones or the Walking Dead? What’d you think?

13 thoughts on “Nerdy Confessions.

  1. This is really funny, I am the exact opposite. I can’t really get into stuff like that. My confession… I drank almost a nalgene worth of iced coffee this morning. Mistake!

  2. We could be twins–your list is like mine! Unfortunately, I’d probably die in the zombie apocalypse as I can’t run fast and my archery skills aren’t what they used to be. I’ll be looking forward to more of your “nerdy” posts! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. No need to be embarrassed about any of this because we like literally the SAME stuff! I freakin love Game of Thrones, just finished the 4th book (kinda sucked though, not sure how you felt about it!) and I’m psyched for the 5th. And the show rocks my socks ๐Ÿ™‚ I still play the Sims… sims 2 is my favorite, not a fan of the 3rd one, too much to do.. not sure if that makes sense though haha. I grew up on video games, my older brothers influenced that, and I still play with them! Soo yeah, we are the same, love it!

    • Haha yes!!! I’m loving the twin-ness!

      The 4th book did drag on a little bit for me – I felt like it was a lot of filler and waiting around for the exciting stuff to happen. I am enjoying the 5th book a lot more though!

      And I’m glad somebody else still plays the Sims, it’s been rated to Best Game of the Year like a million times for a reason. :-p

      I got into video games the same way – my older brother. We used to sit in the basement and play for hours when we were kids. We made a pretty epic Sonic/Tails team on Sonic 2. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Pingback: If It Involves Toppings on Bread, It Counts As Pizza. « Better With Sprinkles

  5. If you are a nerd then so am I! I just started Game of Thrones this month LOVE IT! and the Sims was always my favorite computer game. I never got to play Sims 3 but I really want to!

  6. Pingback: Rehashing August. « Better With Sprinkles

  7. Pingback: Using Technology for Your Health. « Better With Sprinkles

  8. Pingback: And Then I Ate More Sushi. « Better With Sprinkles

  9. Pingback: Musings For a Monday Morning. « Better With Sprinkles

Leave a Reply

