Better With Sprinkles

The Colourful Side to Healthy Living.

Awkward Gym Noises.

10 Comments

First off:

Why was last night my very first time trying banana soft serve?!? Seriously, where has it been all my life?! It’s been floating around the internet for at least a year or two, but I’ve never tried to make it before.

My version ended up being more like very melty soft serve – I used my magic bullet because I was too lazy to drag out the food processor (read: didn’t want to clean it afterwards) so I had to add almost 4 tablespoons of unsweetened vanilla almond milk to get the banana moving. I also threw in about 1/2 serving of chocolate peanut butter protein powder to get in my nightly protein hit.

 

Topped with sprinkles and mini chocolate chips. It tastes so much more indulgent than it is – the perfect healthy dessert. 🙂

 

Workout

Livefit Day 65 – back/arms/abs/sprints

Superset

  • 3 x 15 wide grip lat pulldown (27.5 lbs)
  • 3 x 15 underhanded lat pulldown (27.5 lbs)

 

Working set + Active rest

  • 3 x 15 one arm dumbbell row (17.5 lbs)
  • 3 x 15 exercise ball pull-in

 

  • 3 x 15 seated cable row (35 lbs)
  • 3 x 15 double crunches

 

  • 3 x 15 bent over barbell row (30 lbs)
  • 3 x 20 mountain climbers

 

Supersets

  • 3 x 20 dumbbell alternate bicep curl (15 lb dumbbells)
  • 3 x 12 bench dips

 

  • 3 x 12 preacher curls (30 lbs)
  • 3 x 12 pushups

 

Working set + Active rest

  • 3 x 12 tricep pushdown (22.5 lbs, up 2.5 lbs)
  • 3 x 20 mountain climbers

 

  • 3 x 12 cable rope overhead tricep extension (22.5 lbs, up 2.5 lbs)
  • 3 x 25 air bike

 

  • 30 minutes elliptical sprints – 3 minute warm up, 30 second sprints, 30 seconds recovery for 25 minutes, 2 minute cool down (3 miles)

 

 

I should point out, I’m not expecting to see too many big gains in the amount of weight I can do this week. This phase has such a heavy cardio/fat burning focus that I’m working more on minimizing my rests between sets than greatly increasing my weights. That being said, I’ll still be happy with whatever gains I can make. 🙂

In case you’re curious, I’m still doing my workouts music-free. When you can actually hear what’s going on around you in the gym, you realize that some people make some really odd lifting noises.

For example: a lot of people are grunters. They lift the weight, making gutteral, throaty noises. I’ve probably done this myself once or twice.

Breathers: people that let out a short, intense exhale when they lift the weight. Like the grunter, but not as intense.

Blowing raspberries: this is a new one to me, and left me trying not to giggle as the guy was right next to me. When he was nearing the end of his set and straining to lift the weights, he started exhaling sharply, but with his lips closed. It sounded like he was blowing raspberries on a baby’s belly.

Made for a difficult workout – trying to do dumbbell curls with simultaneously trying not to burst out in a fit of giggles.

 

Breakfast

Protein pancake sort of morning.

 

My usual mix, topped with chocolate PB2, half a caramelized banana, blueberries, and strawberries. Man, that is a beautiful pancake.

 

Food just tastes so much better when it looks pretty, no?

 

I’ve got a dinner date tonight with my BFF – so excited to spend some time with her!

 

<– Are you guilty of the awkward gym noise? Like I said, I’m sure I let out a nice grunt once in a while.

<– What’s your favourite mix for banana soft serve? I want ideas, because clearly this needs to be in my life more.

10 thoughts on “Awkward Gym Noises.

  1. cutest puppy ever. I have never really lifted or spent much time in a gym so no idea what I would be. love the sprinkles, my favorite kind actually.

  2. Oh yes, I definitely grunt. haha! Those are my FAVORITE kinds of sprinkles too 😀

  3. omg there are grunters at my gym too! they’re often the guys who throw their weights down between sets. i have never seen someone blowing rapsberries. that’s hilarious!

  4. That is just weird! I wouldn’t know what to do. I probably couldn’t help but stare. haha!

    That protein pancakes looks AMAZING!

    • It was so odd! I wanted to laugh SO BAD but I didn’t, because he was right next to me and it would have been obvious I was laughing at him (unless I managed to find something hilarious about Olympic equestrian events, haha).

  5. Pingback: Gym Inspiration + Chocolate Egg White “Oatmeal”. « Better With Sprinkles

  6. Pingback: Rehashing August. « Better With Sprinkles

Leave a Reply

