Better With Sprinkles

The Colourful Side to Healthy Living.

When Nice People Work at Bakeries.

6 Comments

…they can be extremely generous. 🙂

 

Hello, market haul.

 

I love working in a farmer’s market – the vendors are extra nice to each other. And by extension, me.

Today I picked up:

  • 4 pizzas from Uncle Dad’s Pizza Plus– Hawaiian, Chicken Alfredo, BBQ Chicken, and Spinach and Feta.  These pizzas are awesome – over 50% whole wheat, good ingredients (without going nuts on the toppings), extra thin crust. It’s nice to have some frozen pizzas in the freezer for quick dinners, and these ones are my favourite way to go. Plus, the pizza guy threw in two extra loaves of garlic cheese bread.
  • My favourite goat chevre.
  • A chocolate brownie and a peanut butter bar from Sweet Lemon vegan and gluten free bakery. I was having trouble deciding which one I wanted, so the man at the counter threw both of them in there (Thanks Ken)!

I spent my afternoon handing out ice cream samples again – this time it was Acadian Vanilla. Of course, I sneaked a few spoonfuls for myself in there! Even though I’m a diehard chocoholic, for some reason I prefer vanilla ice cream to chocolate. This flavour is flavoured with a hint of maple syrup as well – so tasty!

 

Lunch

I had a large snack when I got home – we’ll consider it lunch part 1.

 

Baby carrots, sliced cucumber, bell pepper strips, tzatziki, strawberries and cocoa roasted almonds.

I was more excited for this little plate though:

 

Nadine had company tonight and made a big dinner, complete with this appetizer plate.

We’ve got gluten-free crackers (can’t remember the brand, but I know you buy them from Costco), old cheddar, mozzarella, parma ham, smoked salmon with cream cheese and capers, and a few olives.

I was all over the crackers and salmon – there are no words to describe my love for smoked salmon.

 

Dinner

 

Fettuccine Alfredo made with whole wheat Fettuccine, alfredo, shrimp and lots of seasonings – I think there was a lot of basil thrown in there? Either way, delicious.

This was a big plate and I was still feeling the appetizer spread, so I ate about 2/3 of the plate. You better believe I ate all the shrimp though. 🙂

 

Dessert

I subscribe to the theory of the dessert stomach. Even when you’re full from dinner, you have a second stomach that always has room for dessert. Clearly I had to break into these babies after dinner.

 

I tried a bite (or three) of each.

Brownie: dense, fudge-like, super chocolatey, and rich without being overly sweet. A few bites is all you need to satisfy a chocolate craving.

Peanut Butter Bar: like pure thick, sugary peanut butter. I would never be able to tell the difference between this and a mainstream peanut butter bar. Crazy sweet, and the chocolate icing on top is a nice touch.

 

While both were amazing, I’m leaning towards the peanut butter bar. I appreciate the extra sweet taste – my sweet tooth knows no bounds. 🙂

 

Now, I’m relaxing and watching Couples’ Retreat on tv – I can never say no to Vince Vaughn. 

<– Vanilla or chocolate ice cream?

<– Any other smoked salmon lovers?

6 thoughts on “When Nice People Work at Bakeries.

  1. Man! That is why I would love to work at a farmer’s market. heaven.

  2. Smoked Salmon became my obsession after my trip to Europe ❤

  3. Pingback: I Promise I’m Not 65. « Better With Sprinkles

  4. Pingback: Not a Scene I Want to Re-Enact. « Better With Sprinkles

Leave a Reply

