Better With Sprinkles

The Colourful Side to Healthy Living.

The Dreaded Burnout.

8 Comments

It happens to everyone eventually, right?

Workout

Livefit day 69 – shoulders/triceps/abs/sprints

Working set + Active rest

  • 3 x 15 chest press (45 lbs)
  • 3 x 1 minute jump rope
  • 3 x 15 bench dips
  • 3 x 15 mountain climbers

Supersets + Active rest

  • 3 x 12 standing upright dumbbell row (12.5 lb dumbbells)
  • 3 x 12 arnold dumbbell press (10 lb dumbbells)
  • 3 x 1 minute jump rope
  • 3 x 12 side lateral raise (5 lb dumbbells)
  • 3 x 12 tricep pushdown – rope attachment (27.5 lbs, up 5 lbs)
  • 3 x 1 minute jump rope

Superset

  • 3 x 10 medicine ball pushups (on knees)
  • 3 x 10 pushups

Triple set

  • 3 x 20 standing calf raise (100 lbs, up 5 lbs)
  • 3 x 20 horizontal calf press (175 lbs, up 5 lbs)
  • 3 x 1 minute jump rope
  • 30 minutes sprints –  did not happen.

When I headed to the gym today I knew it wasn’t going to be the best workout of my life. My muscles were sore, I was fatigued and my mind was just not in it. 

I powered through the lifting portion of the workout in about an hour. On my plan for today, I had 30 minutes of treadmill sprints.

Umm…no. After the first part of the workout, nothing sounded more torturous to me than hopping on a cardio machine. So I went home.

This workout program is intense and I’m starting to feel like it’s wearing me down a bit. I’ve been feeling a bit fatigue-y when I’ve gone to the gym the last few days and mentally, I’m just not as happy to be working out as I usually am. Clearly, I’m feeling a little bit of burnout.

But as it turns out, Eric and I are going away for a few days, so I was already planning on taking Monday – Wednesday off from the gym. Now that I know how much I need it, I’ll make sure to focus on some much needed relaxing and recovery while we’re gone. Hopefully, it’ll allow for some renewed energy and desire to get back in the gym.

Even if I wasn’t going away, I know I would need a few days off from the gym. Listening to your body and following its signals is so much more important than following a plan to a tee. I definitely get some guilt for not following a plan “as prescribed”, but I’m trying to keep in mind that my body needs a break right now.

Afterwards, I’ll power through the final 2 weeks of Livefit. When that’s done, I’m planning on taking a full week or so off from heavy workouts so I can really let my body fully relax and recover. Regardless of whether you do light workouts or train like an Olympic athlete, I fully believe the body needs a break once in a while. Occasional time off from the gym is 100% necessary for the body and soul!

Breakfast

One of the best things I’ve learned from reading blogs – the uses of an almost-empty jar of peanut butter.

Protein OIAJ for the win – and when it’s chocolate peanut butter, it’s that much better. 🙂 I love how melty all the peanut butter inside gets!

1/3 cup oats cooked in water (I desperately need to pick up some more almond milk – it’s so much creamier when done in a 50/50 mix); 1/2 scoop chocolate peanut butter protein powder, about 1/4 cup pumpkin, cinnamon and a splash of vanilla thrown into an almost empty jar.

I also had some unpictured mixed fruit on the side.

Today is all about getting ourselves packed and ready to go for tomorrow – and I’m going to be spending a lot of time in the kitchen as well, I want some homemade snacks to bring up with us.

Enjoy your Sunday!

<– How do you handle burnout?

8 thoughts on “The Dreaded Burnout.

  1. oh man the break may be good for you!

  2. I handle burnouts with light yoga and stretching a ton! I love a light yoga session because it activates your muscles, stretches you out and is not strenuous (i mean SUPER light yoga) Breaks are important! Just keep stretching because you want to keep your range of motion and not lose it from resting. Love and Shine CourtStar

  3. Pingback: The Shower or the Internet. « Better With Sprinkles

  4. Pingback: All About the Mexican + Phase 3 Review. « Better With Sprinkles

  5. Pingback: Rehashing August. « Better With Sprinkles

  6. Pingback: My Thoughts On Jamie Eason’s Livefit Trainer. « Better With Sprinkles

Leave a Reply

