Better With Sprinkles

The Colourful Side to Healthy Living.

Spicy Cilantro Hummus.

3 Comments

One of my obsessions in life is hummus.

Whenever I see a kind at the grocery store I haven’t tried yet, I let out a little squeal of glee and throw it right into the cart.

But considering that we can easily go through a tub a week in my household, that’s probably a lot of unnecessary cash – especially when you consider how easy it is to make at home.

So, I dusted off my seldom-used food processor to see what I could come up with.

Hummus is so versatile – there are so many different flavour combinations out there to try. Whatever you can find in your fridge or spice cabinet, you can probably make a hummus flavouring out of it.

Today I went with two of my favourite flavours – cilantro and hot sauce.

Spicy Cilantro Hummus

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cup chickpeas, drained and rinsed
  • 1/4 cup reserved chickpea water (or regular water)
  • 2 tbsp tahini
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tsp minced garlic
  • 1/4 cup chopped cilantro, plus more for garnish if you’re feeling fancy
  • hot sauce to taste (I love hot sauce/spiciness, so I used about a tablespoon

1. Combine all ingredients in food processor. Process until smooth.

Umm…yea. No one can ever say hummus is difficult to make. This was the perfect chickpea/liquid ratio to me – it came out velvety smooth.

This was my weapon of choice:

They weren’t kidding with the title – this stuff is SPICY.

While taste testing this I was sweating a bit and my nose was running – so, it passes my “Is This Spicy Enough?” test with flying colours.

I will happily burn my tastebuds off for you.

3 thoughts on “Spicy Cilantro Hummus.

  1. Pingback: The Shower or the Internet. « Better With Sprinkles

  2. Pingback: Apparently, Grilled Cheese is a Headache Cure. « Better With Sprinkles

  3. Pingback: Buttercream, Why Can’t I Resist You? « Better With Sprinkles

Leave a Reply

