Better With Sprinkles

The Colourful Side to Healthy Living.

Beware When Hangry.

14 Comments

Another day, another Brantford road trip.

While Eric was in his interviews, I took my laptop over to the Brantford Public Library. The library also houses the Laurier and Nipissing materials, so I imagine I’ll be spending a lot of time here.

I will gladly spend all day in that library – it is massive, modern and gorgeous. Also, free WiFi = happy Sam.

Angry_Apple_Face

I promise I’m happier than I look in this picture. It looks kind of like I’m angry to be eating an apple – which I can assure you, would never happen. Smile

 

Mmm, massive apple snack.

After the interviews we decided to head back to London instead of finding lunch first – faster and cheaper.

 

Lunch

Although, we didn’t get back in London until after 4. I had breakfast at 10. The only snack in between was that apple.

Umm…out of my way world, I am HANGRY.

Carrots and hummus were immediately consumed while prepping lunch.

Salad_in_a_Bin

 

Salad Beast consumed right out of the lettuce container. #thatsclassy

Salad greens, carrot, cucumber, blueberries, sliced almonds, 2 sunny side up eggs, goat cheese and some hot sauce.

Salad_Bin

 

Hangry-ness (hungry + anger) averted.

I am not a pleasant person to be around when I’ve gotten too hungry. I get grouchy and irritable, without being able to focus whatsoever. Not a good scene at all!

 

Dinner

For dinner tonight, I decided to try Anne P’s sweet potato and black bean veggie enchiladas. I love me some Mexican food, and I’m always looking for vegetarian recipes for meat lovers like Eric and myself (I figure I’m going to want to do one or two vegetarian dinners a week after we move – pretty much the easiest way I know to save some money).

Cooked_Enchilada

I made a couple of alterations to the recipe:

  • subbed a box of frozen spinach for 2 cups of fresh the recipe called for
  • cut out the mushrooms (one of those things I can take or leave)
  • added a few chopped green onions (just for the hell of it)
  • I used two 220 mL cans of “Green Mexican Sauce” which I’m assuming is Canadian-speak for green enchilada sauce. Smile

Zoom_Enchilada

 

I have to admit, I wasn’t sure what to expect with this recipe – I thought the sweet potato would throw the taste off.

And…I am wrong. So wrong.

These were amazing! I love the sweet potato/black bean combo, and it worked perfectly in these enchiladas. The sweet potato added a bit of sweetness to the recipe, making them super satisfying.

Pretty_Enchilada

 

 

I topped mine with salsa, a bit of sour cream and a bit of guacamole.

So so good.

Enchilada_Goodness

 

I ate one, then helped Eric finish off a second one.

Now, the rest of my night is going to spent trying to digest. Oof, I am stuffed.

 

<—Meat eaters, do you aim for the occasional meat-free day? I just realized I had an unplanned vegetarian day. Awesome.

<— Can you handle being hungry? When I am hungry, someone needs to feed me or there will be consequences.

14 thoughts on “Beware When Hangry.

  1. I’m a meat eater but will usually have 2 vegetarian days a week, it was just to save money at first but I’ve since found lots of veggie meals that I love! 🙂

  2. those enchiladas look bomb. I am the same way,i always use the container as a bowl or something when it is down to the end. saves dishes.

  3. haha I can’t handle being hungry, I get annoyed easily lol

  4. Those enchiladas remind me of the amazing sweet potato black bean quesadillas I made from Tina at Carrots n Cake. i think I need to make these enchiladas next! Eating a salad beast out of the spinach container is actually a great idea. I always just toss it. I should try saving the earth a bit more!

    • God, I love enchiladas. In fact, any Mexican food is pretty much guaranteed to make me happy!

      I definitely recommend it! It saves a dish and allows for a bit of laziness – never bad things in my book. 🙂

      • I ALWAYS use the last of my cottage cheese inside the container to pack my cottage cheese and fruit snack so I don’t know why I didn’t think of the spinach thing!! I get so excited when I can use the cottage cheese container instead of Tupperware. In fact I did so today haha #win

      • I do that too! Cottage cheese and Greek yogurt containers = self made tupperware. 🙂

  5. One of my favorite veg recipes that meat lovers like is my pumpkin/cottage cheese enchiladas with spinach, jalapenos, and mushrooms in the filling. I also used salsa and Greek yogurt (I rarely have enchilada sauce). Sounds wonky, but it will blow your mind, I promise!

  6. And no. I absolutely cannot handle being hungry. I literally start to have an anxiety attack and start to cry if people can’t make up their mind (esp if it’s the end of the day! The desperation gets too much, plus I have battled food issues over the years). I’m usually ok, tho I’ll kind of shut down, if we’re at a place and it’s taking forever, but I cannot deal w hunger and other people’s indecision on venue!
    Its always comical in retrospect, but NOT at the time lol

  7. Pingback: All About the Mexican + Phase 3 Review. « Better With Sprinkles

Leave a Reply

