Better With Sprinkles

The Colourful Side to Healthy Living.

Boiling Water = Too Much Effort.

6 Comments

Review: how did I do on my first day of my Clean It Up Week Challenge?

 

Pre-workout: 2 dates dipped in almond butter

Breakfast: AB & B omelet

Lunch: quinoa, chickpeas and guacamole

Snacks: baby carrots, cheese string, a spoonful of cream cheese (yea, I’m weird like that) handful of guacamole chips

Dinner: Pepper Steak, brown rice

Dessert: 2 dates

Drinks: lots of water

 

I’ll take it! Clearly, the guacamole chips don’t really fit in to the plan, but they were tasty and I only had a couple so I’m not going to stress about it. Clearly, just trying to clean up my eats a bit, perfection is not the goal here. And I was too lazy to make tea at any point yesterday (because, y’know, boiling water takes so much effort).

Overall, an awesome first day.

 

Workout

Working on those arms today!

 

Livefit Day 81 – Arms/Abs/Cardio

  • 20 EZ barbell curl (30 lbs)
  • 20 lying tricep press (30 lbs)
  • 20 alternate bicep curl (17.5 lb dumbbells)
  • 20 standing dumbbell tricep extension(22.5 lbs)
  • 20 bench dips
  • 20 double crunches
  • 20 crunches

 

  • 30-40 minutes cardio of choice, keeping heart rate below max

 

I didn’t go up on any weights from last week – but I did feel stronger doing them, so that’s ok. My arms are always the last place I see improvements, so I have to be patient!

For cardio today, I pounded out 35 minutes on the elliptical. Basically, I did a shortened version of this workout.

 

Breakfast

I was feeling something chocolate-y this morning.

Smoothie

 

Into the blender went:

  • 1/2 cup Greek yogurt
  • 1/2 cup cottage cheese
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened chocolate almond milk
  • 1 frozen banana
  • 1 tablespoon cocoa powder
  • about 12 drops stevia (oh, raging sweet tooth)

 

Smoothie_Close

 

While it was tasty, I would probably use less liquid next time. This had the same texture as chocolate milk, and I prefer my smoothies super thick and custard-like. That way, I can eat them with a spoon and it’s acceptable. Smile

Plans for the day involve another Brantford trip. Eric’s got a couple more job interviews today.

Hopefully when I see you tonight, the boyfriend will be a working man!

 

<—Liquid-y or thick smoothies?

<—When you strength train, what do you struggle with when it comes to seeing results? My body is determined to have stick arms.

6 thoughts on “Boiling Water = Too Much Effort.

  1. I love cottage cheese but have never thought of putting it in the blender, kind of sounds amazing.

  2. I am all about thick smoothies. I often blend it so thick I can east it with a spoon like ice cream.

Leave a Reply

