Better With Sprinkles

The Colourful Side to Healthy Living.

Meal Questions

8 Comments

I stole borrowed this survey from the lovely Lisa – it seemed like it would be a fun read while I’m likely still struggling to unpack in my new apartment (sans internet. This will not be a good couple of days).

 

Breakfast Questions

1. Favourite cereal as a child?

In elementary school, I ate cereal for breakfast every morning. I remember eating a lot of Lucky Charms, until my mom caught onto the fact that I was eating the marshmallows and eating around the actual cereal. I did however, eat a lot of Cinnamon Toast Crunch and Corn Pops. Which is probably why I won’t buy it anymore – I could go through a box in a few days.

 

You know it looks amazing! Smile with tongue out

 

2. Coffee or tea? With or without milk?

Ugh. I f you’ve been reading for a while, you know of my intense dislike for coffee. Something about that flavour I just can’t do! I like it if it’s in a dessert or an alcoholic beverage, but to just drink a cup of coffee is unfathomable to me.

DSCF1104

 

Definitely all about the tea for me. And I don’t add milk – usually just a packet of granulated stevia or a few drops of liquid.

 

3. The one food you eat most often at breakfast?

Hard question! I work out in the mornings before breakfast, so I’m always looking for protein when I’m done. So I’m going to say eggs/egg whites or protein powder!

DSCF1105

 

My favourite protein pancake has both Smile

 

Lunch Questions

1. Sandwiches are generally considered a “lunch food.” If you had to choose between a peanut butter and jelly or a grilled cheese, which would you choose?

While I love peanut butter, I don’t eat it on sandwiches all that often. But a good grilled cheese is lifechanging.

DSCF0984

 

Mmm, delicious melty-ness.

 

2. You can only put 4 ingredients in a salad, not including greens or dressing; what do you throw in the mix? Additionally, what greens and dressing would you choose?

 

Well, I need my protein, so I’m going to go with chicken or eggs. I’d also add sweet potato, goat cheese and blueberries. I usually like romaine or spinach as the base, with balsamic dressing.

DSCF1129

 

Just needed some goat cheese and this salad would have been perfect.

 

3. One food you can’t live without at lunch?

Hmm, tough one! I usually try to get in veggies of some sort of lunch, whether it’s a salad or in the form of carrot sticks. Either way, I try to make sure it happens in some form.

DSCF0944

 

Or stirfry veggies, that works too.

 

Dinner Questions

1. It’s the end of the day. You’re tired, hungry, and your fridge is empty. If fast food (from a chain) is your only option, where do you go and what do you order?

If I have to do fast food, Subway is always my fallback. A 6 inch sub with either chicken, turkey or ham on whole wheat.

DSCF1288

 

With lettuce, tomatoes, cucumber, green pepper, pickles, black olives, banana peppers and honey mustard. It always hits the spot.

 

2. TV/Computer on or off while eating?

Ugh, I am so bad for this. Literally the only time I eat either without the tv on or sitting at my computer (and it’s usually both) is when I go out to eat. I know it’s a bad habit, but I can’t help it – if I try to eat distraction free, I just get really bored.

 

3. The one food you eat most often at dinner?

Umm…pretty much the only time I eat pasta is at dinner, so I’m going to go with that.

DSCF1032

 

Mmm, lasagna. So good!

 

Dessert Questions

1. Choose between these two American classics: Cheesecakes and Apple Pie.

I’m cheesecake all the way. I’ve never actually been a big fan of pie crust so I tend to be picky about them.

 

 

I find it doubtful that any pie could beat this Birthday Cake Cheesecake from Willow Bird Baking. That just looks incredible.

 

2. Choose between these 2 foreign desserts: Tiramisu (Italy) or flan (Spain)

Ohmygod. Tiramisu for sure. My brother did a year of culinary training in college, and he makes the best tiramisu I’ve ever had. Except he hasn’t made it for years – need him to get on that!

 

 

 

Although these look they could be a close second.

 

3. Ice cream: Cone or cup?

I usually go with a cup, but really I’m satisfied with either.

DSCF1148

 

I realize this is fro-yo, but apparently I haven’t had ice cream in the two months that I’ve had the blog. Fail.

 

<—Your turn! What’s your fast food fallback?

<— Did you fill out the survey? Link it up!

8 thoughts on “Meal Questions

  1. yah… this got me drooling on a sunday morning.

  2. Glad you did this! So fun, right. Ha ha. I was a total opposite kid. I picked out the marshmallows and didn’t eat them!!

  3. I’m quite fortunate that I live in a place where it is more convenient for me to walk to my local health food co-op than it would be for me to walk or bus to a fast food restaurant. So, I don’t have a fast food fallback. When I want a fast dinner, I usually pick up some ground beef for hamburger and some salad fixings. Once I get back home, it only takes 20 minutes to have dinner ready and I find it very satisfying. Or if I’m really hungry, I’ll get some smoked salmon that I can eat right away.

Leave a Reply

