Better With Sprinkles

The Colourful Side to Healthy Living.

Reconnected.

13 Comments

At about 1:00 this afternoon, the technician showed up, did his thing and now WE HAVE INTERNET. Thank jesus, I was going slightly insane.

Rewind to last night’s dinner…

 

Dinner

So I totally threw together dinner on the fly last night. And it turned out amazing. Don’t you love it when that happens? I don’t even have proper recipe pictures because I didn’t think it would turn out that special. But, I’m giving you the recipe anyways, because I’m that confident you’ll love it.

 

Not Your Nona’s* Chicken Parmesan

(makes four large servings. you may have extra pasta/sauce leftover)

 

Ingredients:

  • 4 chicken breasts
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup milk (any kind)
  • 1/4 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup panko breadcrumbs
  • about 1/2 tbsp Italian seasoning
  • 1 tbsp grated Parmesan + extra for sprinkling
  • dash salt and pepper
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 jar tomato sauce (about 3 cups homemade)
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1 bell pepper (I used red, but green would be more colourful), chopped
  • handful spinach, chopped
  • 1 box whole wheat spaghetti
  • 1 –1 1/2 ounces mozzarella, sliced thinly OR shredded

DSCF1236

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Line a cooking sheet with tinfoil and spray with cooking spray. Pat chicken breasts dry.

2. Combine eggs and milk in one shallow dish. Add flour, panko, italian seasoning, Parmesan, salt and pepper in another.

3. Dip chicken breasts one by one into the egg/milk wash. Add to flour/panko mixture, turning to coat. Place chicken on baking sheet and bake for 40 minutes, or until fully cooked.

4. Flip chicken after 20 minutes. Begin boiling water for pasta.

5. Place olive oil in large saucepan and turn to medium heat. Add chopped onion and bell pepper, sauté until soft. Add pasta sauce and reduce to a simmer.

6. Cook pasta until al dente. When there is about 5 minutes left for the chicken, add chopped spinach to pasta.

7. Place a portion of pasta on each plate. Top with chicken, a few scoops of sauce, and about 1/4 ounce of mozzarella. Add a sprinkle of Parmesan to finish.

DSCF1239

 

 

* Apparently, Nona is Italian for Grandmother. I had to look that up.

 

Eric and I could not stop raving about how good this was! Perfect comfort food without being as heavy as the traditional fare.

This was my secret weapon:

DSCF1235

 

My aunt picked this up for me at Remark, the little market in London. She thinks it’s amazing, and I am certainly inclined to agree! I mean, vodka and bacon. Can’t go wrong, right?

 

Breakfast

I’ve forgotten how awesome a good yogurt bowl is.

DSCF1241

 

And how hard it is to see said yogurt when you tend to load it up like I tend to do. There’s a sliced banana, strawberries, Multigrain Cheerios and a bit of almond butter all up in there.

 

Lunch

Clearly, still getting used to my new stove.

DSCF1247

 

Slightly burnt grilled cheese with goat cheese, mozzarella and spinach. Because if there’s spinach added, that means it’s healthy. Every time. Smile Ketchup for dipping, of course.

 

DSCF1243

 

Veggies with honey mustard. The only way I’ll eat raw broccoli is with honey mustard – is that weird?

During our errand running today, I discovered this little gem (the market, I mean. I’m not one to get excited over a shingle sale).

DSCF1609

 

Open Fridays and Saturdays (I have Fridays off from school) and a 5 minute walk from my apartment. ohmygodIloveithere.

Umm, there’s two bakeries in there.

DSCF1607

 

And a ridiculous amount of veggie stands.

 

DSCF1606

 

And the meat venders cover one entire wall. Tons of options, cheap (a pound of turkey sausages for $5.50, 1/2 dozen ears of corn for $3, for example), and local, with a lot of organic options.

I kind of want to live in this building. But I can guarantee I’ll be here every weekend for the large majority of my groceries. I was chatting away with some of the vendors, and they were all friendly and very proud of their market. I can see why!

This afternoon, I loaded up the car and headed back to my parents for the night. I’m working at the London market tomorrow (my old boss is off getting married!) and I still need my bed, my bookcase, a small table, my shoerack and my bathroom shelves from my parents house. It was the longest drive I’d ever taken by myself, and it was actually a really relaxing drive along some back highways (minus one wrong turn).

DSCF1611

 

Ha. Every woman’s wish right there. (P.S. At a stoplight).

 

Dinner

I chatted with my mom while we made dinner and got her all caught up on what’s happening right with Brantford. Eric and I have gotten everything sorted out with the internet company and our bank, and I’ve got my books, my TA assignment (I’m really excited about the class – to be discussed later) and everything prepared for school. It feels like we’re off to a great start!

DSCF1613

 

I requested a salad starter so I could try this dressing.

I love anything avocado (like 98% of bloggers) so clearly I was a big fan of this. I want to try to make a homemade version!

DSCF1616

 

Roast beef with my mom’s coworker’s homemade chili sauce. Mashed potatoes and gravy is the clear choice for a side.

Weird mom talent: mashed potatoes. All the best mashed potatoes I’ve ever had were made by someone’s mother.

 

Clearly, I couldn’t leave the market earlier without picking up something for dessert.

 

DSCF1618

 

Hello, chocolate cream pie.

A concern I always have with chocolate cream pie is that it’s just going to be pudding and cool whip in a pie crust.

Not the case here – the filling was almost mousse-like and and topping was creamy and not at all fake or chemical-tasting.

DSCF1621

 

My slice x 2…and a half.

It was a pretty awesome pie.

 

I feel like I should wrap this up – holy long post.

Have a great night, everyone!

 

<— What are some other recipes mom’s are just naturally awesome at?

<— Do you have any awesome-tasting but weird veggie and dip combinations?

13 thoughts on “Reconnected.

  1. Well you’ve been eating well at least! =) haha!

  2. Pingback: One Day, I Will Rival Sabra. « Better With Sprinkles

  3. Holy spaghetti sauce! Vodka AND bacon?! Omg, hand me a spoon! Love the look of that market! And how awesome of that it’s indoors! Our local market is outdoors and therefore only open during the summer/early fall months…after October, I’ll have to travel an hour to Nashville to get my hands on fresh from the farm produce! But hey, while I’m there, I guess I can hit up Trader Joe’s and Whole Foods…I know…such a hard life I lead! 😉

    Grilled cheese + ketchup = AWESOME! I get the weirdest looks when I dip my grilled cheese in ketchup…like “Hello?! Isn’t dipping it in tomato soup just about the same thing?!” And I will make just about ANYTHING into a vehicle for dip…my “slightly” odd combos (quotations because, you know…I don’t find them odd at all): celery and salsa, mushrooms and honey mustard, and my favorite, raw okra and mustard or sunflower seed butter!

    And SO TRUE about the mashed potatoes! I can make pretty good ones, but NOTHING compares to my mom’s (or my grandmother’s). My mom can also make a pretty mean pot roast! I always end up burning mine! 😦

    • It might go down as the best bottled pasta sauce I’ve ever had, it was amazing. The boyfriend demolished the leftovers within about 36 hours, if that’s any indication! 🙂

      This market is literally like a 7 minute walk from me, open year round…it will make me very, very happy every weekend! I had my first macaroon sample and I’m definitely needing to be making those soon. 🙂

      raw okra and sunflower seed butter? That’s such a random but awesome-sounding combo!

  4. Pingback: My First Ever What I Ate Wednesday. « Better With Sprinkles

  5. Pingback: My Mom Knows Me Too Well + New Blog Pages. « Better With Sprinkles

  6. Pingback: The “Violent Girl” Problem. « Better With Sprinkles

  7. Pingback: Rehashing September. « Better With Sprinkles

Leave a Reply

