Better With Sprinkles

The Colourful Side to Healthy Living.

The Post Where I Talk About School.

17 Comments

DSCF1250

(Breakfast: 1/2 cup vanilla Greek yogurt with 1/2 scoop chocolate peanut butter protein powder mixed in, a sliced banana, sliced strawberries, and almond butter).

So…

I am back to school today.

If you’re a relatively new reader, I am starting my Masters of Criminology program at Wilfred Laurier University in Brantford, Ontario. I took a year off of school in between, so I’m definitely a tad nervous. And feeling a little foggy on all my criminological theories.

It doesn’t exactly come up in conversation often (or on a healthy living blog) but I find criminology fascinating. I took a lot of law and sociology courses in high school, and when I took a sociology of crime course in my first year of university, I knew that was what I wanted to major in.

I love learning about who commits crime, and why they do it. A lot of my studies are geared towards women and crime – I worked at a female group home for a year, so I got to know a lot of teenage girls in the criminal justice system; I want to learn more about how they got there.

I’m also fascinated by the idea of deviance. Things that aren’t illegal by any means, but definitely outside what society classifies as normal behaviour. Things like tattoos, heavy metal/punk culture, and deviant sexuality (50 Shades of Grey-esque) are interesting to me. I want to know why these people get interested in these things and how society views them.

This semester’s classes:

  • Qualitative Fieldwork in Deviance
  • Deviance and Social Control
  • Cultural Criminology
  • Law, Media and Popular Culture

I’ll also be working for the university as a Teaching Assistant. It’s great experience, and allows me to earn a little bit of money while I’m in school. The class I’ve been assigned this semester is a second year Women, Law and Crime course. It’s right up my alley (even if it’s at 8:30 on Monday mornings).

DSCF1269

(Lunch: a veggie burger salad. Romaine, tomatoes, orange bell pepper, a chopped veggie burger, bread and butter pickles, banana peppers, ketchup and honey mustard. Umm, why have I been eating dill pickles all my life? Bread and butter is where it’s at).

How My Workouts Will Be Effected

While I don’t have a ton of classroom time, I’ll be busy outside of class with TA obligations and readings. I also want to get in some volunteer time if I can find something that fits my interests. This means I definitely won’t have time for 1.5 hour long Livefit-esque workouts.

While I have a gym nearby that I plan on joining, it won’t be for another month or so. I want to get a bit more settled in, plus I want to wait until I have a paycheque or two under my belt (apparently, moving + school tuition is expensive. Who woulda thought?)

Until then, most of my workouts will be home-based. Fortunately for me, my supply of home workout DVD’s is extensive. I’ve got in my arsenal:

  • P90X
  • Insanity
  • Turbofire
  • the majority of Jillian Michaels DVDs
  • old Pilates/yoga DVDs
  • the entire internet of podcasts, at-home workouts, ect.

(This morning, I did the Insanity Core Cardio and Balance. This is the recovery workout in the series, and I was dripping with sweat. Recovery, what?)

I’ll also be making sure to throw some running in the mix too. I don’t plan on following any sort of plan, but I’ll be keeping you guys updated on what I’m doing (keeps me accountable!) I’m looking forward to a little freedom with my workouts for a couple weeks. Once I do join the gym, I want to get back into heavy lifting – I’ve been missing it the last few days!

How the Blog Will Be Effected

Although this is definitely a baby blog (only 2 months old!) I love every second I spend on it. I love writing about my eats and workouts, talking about my experiences, reading your comments and interacting with readers. I love reading other people’s blogs – this is an amazing community that I love being a part of.

While I won’t be able to keep up with 2-a-day posts, I will definitely be doing my best to post at least once a day. I’m hoping this might allow me to focus on quality over quantity and get some thought provoking stuff into the blog world.

DSCF1271

(Dinner: pork tenderloin cooked in chipotle marinade and topped with applesauce, steamed broccoli and corn on the cob).

DSCF1273

So, while I may be busier, I am certainly not going anywhere. I love this place way too much for that. Smile

And, cue first day jitters. Wish me luck!

<— If you have a blog, do you post on schedule? What is it?

<— Would anybody be interested if I wanted to talk a bit more about what I’m learning? I love talking about it, but I understand if this isn’t the place to ramble on about it. Smile

17 thoughts on “The Post Where I Talk About School.

  1. Wait that is sick, criminology? Whoa, that has always been like a secret desire of mine. I am so intrigued and can’t wait to hear more. think you will find the balance, you do such a great job at adjusting and transitions. (gives me inspiration!)

  2. awesome courses! I took a criminology course once– we focused more on murder though and evidence. It was only an elective, but really interesting. Can’t wait to hear more about your classes 🙂

  3. Criminology sounds like it would be so interesting! I love cultural deviance as well–I don’t think I’d get a tattoo, but I LOVE looking at/asking about others’. So yes, I’d love to hear more about what you’re learning! And to hear more about bread and butter pickles. Because OH YEAH, that IS where the pickle’s at 😀 And hmm, I post 4-5 posts a week, and only M-F so I get the weekends (slightly) away from technology. Although not away from Instagram, ’cause I’m totally addicted to that 😉

    • I need to get on the instagram bandwagon! My current phone is from like, 5 years ago so doesn’t have that compatibility. It’s on the list of things to do though!

      And that seems to be the consensus, so I will definitely post about my classes from time to time. Tattoos are fascinating for sure, I’m hoping to add number 5 to my personal collection soon. 🙂

  4. Haha I post when I have time, which is only a few times a week at most! Working full time AND having a life just doesn’t work well for blogging.

  5. Pingback: Wanna See Where I Live? « Better With Sprinkles

  6. The pork tenderloin looks amazing! I love that! And I love Criminology, I always thought I may wanna major in it, but wasn’t sure what careers I could do, plus I love learning about it all but don’t know if WORKING with those affected by crime would be something I could handle. Good luck this semester!

    • I’ve worked with youth in the criminal justice system and it is definitely not easy, but it’s really rewarding!

      And thanks Cait, I’m going to need it – my classes look awesome but it’s going to be challenging for sure.

  7. Pingback: Black Bean and Pork Stovetop Casserole. « Better With Sprinkles

  8. Pingback: Thoughts From a Hot Yoga Newbie. « Better With Sprinkles

  9. Pingback: The “Violent Girl” Problem. « Better With Sprinkles

  10. Pingback: Rehashing September. « Better With Sprinkles

  11. Pingback: Candy Corn and Sushi Comas. « Better With Sprinkles

Leave a Reply

