Better With Sprinkles

The Colourful Side to Healthy Living.

Wanna See Where I Live?

19 Comments

DSCF1279

Breakfast: my Microwave Chocolate Peanut Butter Protein Muffin, topped with vanilla Greek yogurt.

So I am done with day 1 of my new program! The highlights:

  • I met with the professor I’ll be TA’ing for. I’ll be doing some marking, as well as some actual teaching. Umm, that’s intimidating, but in the best way possible. She also recommended some nearby restaurants for me – I’m already planning future date nights with the boy. 🙂
  • My first class graduate class today was moved to Coffee Culture. There were cookies. Clearly, all classes should be held in coffee shops.
  • Both professors bought me tea today. That pretty much guarantees a good day.
  • One of the other students has been approached about starting a running club. I told him I would join, and he mentioned he’s interested in starting the club with the goal of running a half marathon in Hamilton at the beginning of November. So I may be running a half marathon in 2 months. I should probably start running more than twice a week.
  • I’m thinking about running for a position on the Graduate Students Society of Criminology. We’ll see how that goes.
  • I learned there’s a Yogurty’s within walking distance of my apartment. That is vital information.
  • I ate a packed lunch for the first time in months.

DSCF1277

A BLT made with turkey bacon, spinach, tomato, honey mustard and pickles. Applesauce and a cheese string on the side.

DSCF1275

Mmm, sandwich. I can’t remember the last time I had a regular ole’ sandwich. So satisfying!

Because I had to be at school for 8:30 this morning, my workout waited until I got home. I broke out my Turbo Fire collection and completed:

  • Lower 20
  • Core 20
  • a bit of stretching

I hadn’t done any Turbo Fire in a while! I was definitely feeling the burn in my legs walking down the stairs later – while I love my heavy weights, body weight exercises and resistance bands do the job too.

I’m definitely a morning exerciser though. I may end up using Mondays as my weekly rest day, as the rest of the week I don’t start class until at least 11:30. I already wake up at 7 to get to class, and that’s pretty much my limit (I don’t do early mornings well).

The Apartment

So, wanna see what we’ve done with the place so far?

DSCF1306

Clearly, the kitchen is my favourite room of the house. I usually hate the colour yellow, but for some reason it works here. Kitchens should be bright and cheery, so it feels appropriate.

DSCF1309

OMGARETHOSEMASONJARS?!? Yes, I am easily influenced by Pinterest. Smile

DSCF1315

Wine rack is also vital for happiness.

Kitchen is my favourite place, this is Eric’s:

DSCF1290

The computer chair. Where I can usually find him.

I like to pretend I know what I’m doing when it comes to decorating.

Apartment_Collage

1. I’m slightly obsessed with my bathroom. Black, white and wood accents? Love.

2. I put the bookshelf together all by myself. Proud moment right there.

3. I don’t pretend to know anything about wall decorations. But Eric and I found that tree picture for $15.00 and I fell in love with it.

4. The staircase of “Look at us, we’re so smart.” Degree wall.

5. We have skylights in our bedroom. Looks awesome, but we had to block one out for the sake of sleeping in the morning.

DSCF1292

Clearly, girl needs her shoe rack.

I’m so happy that we have the apartment organized to our liking. Really, it’s starting to feel homey and very “us”. We’re definitely happy in our little nest. Smile

Dinner

Dinner was featuring a new-to-me ingredient.

DSCF1301

Slightly blurry Soba noodles. Eric has a minor obsession with Asian food. I’m happy to make it, but I’m always looking for ways to keep the nutrition levels in our meals high. I was getting a little tired of brown rice, so when I saw these noodles on sale I decided to give them a shot.

Soba noodles are thin Japanese noodles (similar to vermicelli) made mainly from  buckwheat. Each serving has 310 calories, 3 grams of fibre and 10 grams of protein. The fibre content is decent, and clearly the protein content caught my attention.

I stirfried two chopped chicken breast and a generous pour of frozen stirfry veggies  in a mix of olive and sesame seed oil while the noodles cooked (side note, these noodles cook super fast. 4 minutes in boiling water and they’re good to go).

While the noodles were cooking, I made a quick stirfry sauce. It’s a variation of the one my mom makes all the time – love my mom recipes!

 

Easy Stirfry Sauce

  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/4 cup reduced sodium soy sauce
  • 1 tbsp corn starch
  • 1/2 teaspoon minced garlic
  • 1/2 teaspoon minced ginger
  • 1/2 teaspoon chili powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon black pepper

Mix all ingredients together and whisk. Pour sauce over veggies and chicken (or other protein), cover, and cook on medium low-heat until thickened.

Clearly, super easy. I added the noodles to the meat and veggies, and there you go – stirfry.

DSCF1302

Eaten with chopsticks for extra authenticity.

Eric and I both loved these noodles – they had an authentic Asian flavour to them, but a higher nutritional profile than the more traditional vermicelli or ramen.

I love dinner success. Smile

Have a great Tuesday!

<— Ever tried soba noodles?

<— What’s your go-to packed sandwich? Ham and swiss is another favourite for me.

19 thoughts on “Wanna See Where I Live?

  1. I love your shower curtains and wall hangings. We have very similar tastes. Um coffee culture… how freaking cool.

  2. The noodles look so good! So does your sandwich. Now that you mention its satisfying nature, I realize I haven’t just had a sandwich in awhile. My desire to not have my lunch gone in too few bites always overwhelms my temptation to have a sandwich. I like to linger on my food which is why my salad works well for me. It’s why I prefer ice cream over cupcakes – the latter is gone so QUICKLY! haha
    Your shower curtain rocks, and so does that wine rack! I want a creative wine rack for sure once I get my own place.
    I also can’t deal with super early morning exercise. I usually work out after work because I do a 9-5 office job and there’s no way I’m going to do an intense workout at 5:30am so that I have time to shower and get to work. On days I do a morning workout at 6:30am or so I just do yoga or pilates – something less WAKE ME UP and more waaaaake me up. 😉

    • I usually steer towards a salad for my lunch as well, but with a backpack already crammed full of books, my laptop and cord I needed something compact, lol.

      Love the idea of doing yoga as a morning workout. You start the day off so chill and relaxed as opposed to “ok, it’s 9:00 am and I’m already sore as all hell.” :-p

  3. your place is so cute! I never tried those noodles before, but I’ve seen them, do they have a different flavor?

  4. I do like the black/white/wood! FUN 🙂

    My fav sandwich is a turkey/cheese/spinach panini. SO freaking good. 🙂

  5. Your bathroom is my fave! I like the color of the kitchen – it’s a nice warm yellow so it works =)

  6. Very cute and I am echoing what others are saying, the bathroom is great, love the shower curtain! Umm and yes that sandwich totally upstaged the one I had today lol

  7. Pingback: My First Ever What I Ate Wednesday. « Better With Sprinkles

  8. Pingback: The ACV Train. « Better With Sprinkles

  9. Pingback: Goal Talk–October. « Better With Sprinkles

  10. Pingback: Musings For a Monday Morning. « Better With Sprinkles

  11. Pingback: Most Creative Gift Ever + Sushi with Blends. « Better With Sprinkles

Leave a Reply

