Better With Sprinkles

The Colourful Side to Healthy Living.

WIAW # 2

23 Comments

So apparently, I am enjoying this blogger bandwagon. Smile

Of course, thanks to Jenn for hosting!

I had every intention of going for my long run of the week yesterday morning. But, when I woke up at 4:30 am to the sounds of rain pounding down on my roof, I figured that was not going to be happening.

DSCF1649

Umm, no.

When I got out of bed at 8 and it was still raining, I decided it was definitely going to be a gym day. An all-weather runner, I am not. I’m actually a bit of a wuss when it comes to running in less-than-ideal conditions. As soon as it starts to get chilly, I relocate to the treadmill. I give it another two or three weeks before I start hibernating in the gym. Smile

 

I did a 15 minute warmup on the elliptical at my school gym, followed by a tricep/back routine.

  • 3 x 15 tricep dips
  • 3 x 10 seated tricep press
  • 3 x 10 tricep pushdown with rope attachment
  • 3 x 10 seated rows
  • 3 x 10 wide grip lat pulldown
  • 3 x 15 hyperextensions

 

It feels so nice to be using weights again! It had been a few weeks, and I definitely missed it. I haven’t been following any sort of routine since I finished Livefit trainer, and I’m thinking I may need to find something new.

 

Breakfast

By the time I got home from the gym, I was starving. Clearly, a quick breakfast was in order.

DSCF1439

Protein yogurt (1/2 cup vanilla Greek yogurt mixed with 1/2 scoop peanut butter chocolate protein powder), a sliced banana, and a pretty drizzle of almond butter. Did the trick.

 

Lunch

I was going to be hosting my office hours today, so I packed up a lunch to take with me.

DSCF1442

Whenever I’m packing a lunch, a sandwich just seems to fit the bill. I’ve got ham, cheddar, lettuce, pickles and honey mustard squished in there.

DSCF1443

A rule of food budgeting: Don’t waste anything. Including the crust of the bread. Smile

Baby carrots and hummus for dipping.

DSCF1444

 

Office hours! (Excuse the look on my face. It looks like I’m trying to smile, but I just can’t quite do it).

DSCF1655

Office Hour Lunch.

DSCF1656

Mmm, sandwich.

I didn’t get any students coming to see me on my office hours. But that’s  pretty much what I expected, especially in the first few weeks. Do any undergrads actually make decent use out of their TAs? I don’t think I ever really spoke to a single one while I was getting my BA.

After office hours was class – Deviance and Social Control, hence the textbook you see above. Smile

 

Snack

I headed home after class (yay for a 5 minute walk to campus) definitely in need of a snack. I had plans to go back to school for an event last night, so I knew dinner would be late. Enter larger-than-normal snack.

DSCF1445

Cottage cheese (I think just shy of 1 cup) with maple pumpkin butter (that stuff is seriously to die for) and some Cinnamon Chex (also in the to-die-for category).

 

Dinner

There was a speaker at my school at 7 pm, so by the time we got home it was close to 9. Hello, late dinner.

DSCF1659

The lecture of which I will discuss in greater detail tomorrow. Smile

For dinner, I took the leftover roasted chicken, and threw it in a pan with some onion, red bell pepper, salsa, cilantro, corn, and chopped spinach.

DSCF1449

Which promptly became filling for quesadillas, along with a nice layer of old cheddar cheese.

DSCF1452

Gooey deliciousness.

Of course, it had to be topped appropriately.

DSCF1455

Salsa, sour cream, and homemade guacamole. Nothing less will do.

Delicious dinner and delicious day of eats!

Have a good Wednesday! Hump day and all that (awkward, awkward phrase).

 

<— If you’re a runner, do you run in all seasons, or do you head inside when it gets cold?

<— Salsa or Guacamole? I would have so much trouble choosing.

23 thoughts on “WIAW # 2

  1. You, my dear, know how to eat =D YUM!

  2. ok I am a crust girl, I always like the ends of things. whether it be crumbs or the burnt part or the broken part. So weird but true.

  3. omg cinnamon chex are the best!!

  4. I TRY to be an all weather runner. i am a wuss but once I get going it’s great. Especially in the rain!

    Salsa AND Guacamole mixed. only way to go:-)

  5. I missed a run due to the rain this week, too… it’s good to be flexible! Yum- your dinner looks delicious!

  6. ohh my gosh did I LOL at your sandwich pic. And YESSSS Cinnamon Chex are the best. My sister and I have gone through almost a whole box this week…and its only Wednesday. Whatever though they are delicious.

  7. Deviance and Social Control sounds like an awesome class!!! I would have been all over that in college.

  8. oh my goodness – I can’t believe you’re a TA! Lol, that’s really cool, because I’m an undergrad and I always get so intimidated by them LOL. I would love to get help from TA’s but they seem really hard to approach!

  9. It’s an office hour lunch for me every day. I am the master lunch packer 🙂

  10. Mmm cinnamon Chex, excellent choice there Sam! I used to say Salsa over guac but I have changed my ways since then… bring on those healthy fats please 😉 I do run in all seasons too… the winter is tough of course, but you just have to gear up and realize how wonderfully warm you will feel after haha

    • I’m going to be so sad when the box is empty, you can’t find Cinnamon Chex around here! Sadness at the lameness that is Canadian grocery stores.

      That is fair! That’s probably my issue, I think I need some better winter running gear.

  11. girl.. you had the PERFECT day of meals!! Seriously, fly over here to Kuwait & cook for me 🙂

  12. Pingback: The “Violent Girl” Problem. « Better With Sprinkles

  13. Pingback: The Newest Fitness Plan. « Better With Sprinkles

Leave a Reply

