Better With Sprinkles

The Colourful Side to Healthy Living.

The “Violent Girl” Problem.

8 Comments

In yesterday’s post, I eluded to a public lecture I attended at my university. In an earlier post, people mentioned that they would be interested in hearing about what I’m learning in school right now (I’ve just started a criminology Masters program, for those of you who are new readers). So, expect these posts once in a while!

Tuesday night, Laurier Brantford kicked off a series of Public Criminology lectures. It’s a 4th year class, where they have a collection of experts on various topics in criminology. The lecture is open to the public for the first hour, then it resumes a class setting. This is only the second time in North America that this sort of class has been offered, so of course I’m extremely excited to be able to be a part of it.

 

Dr. Chesney-Lind

The first speaker in this series was Dr. Meda Chesney-Lind. Dr. Chesney-Lind is a professor of women’s studies at the University of Hawaii, and is world-renowned for her work in women and crime. Considering that this is one of my areas of interest, I was extremely excited to hear her talk! Basically, if you’ve taken any women and crime courses in the last few years, she likely wrote the textbook you used.

Yes, she is pretty brilliant.

I want to talk a little bit about her lecture (I won’t go word for word though…she seems like a nice person, but I’d really rather not run the risk of being sued).

 

The “Violent Girl” Problem, Corporate Media and Racism

DSCF1660

Basically, the lecture focused on the rise of the “violent girl” as seen in the media. The media leads the public to believe that issues with girls committing violent crimes and being involved in gangs are much worse than the situation really is. The pictures shown in the media portray girls (often of colour) carrying guns and weapons – even though few girls in gangs carry guns on them. Even in popular culture, girls often get portrayed as being cruel – and the white girl is always the victim.

Good points that stood out to me:

  • Prevention programs in detention centres and in the justice system are aimed at boys. These programs will not be as affective for young girls.
  • In 2010, girls counted for 33% of the juvenile arrest rate, up a significant amount from 10 years before. The arrest rate for simple assault went up, while rates for murder actually went down.
  • Zero Tolerance in high schools actually created more problems than it solved – it leads to a possibility of a self-fulfilling prophecy for students who actually weren’t doing anything dangerous to begin with. If you tell someone often enough that they’re a deviant or “no-good”, they will start to believe it, and act upon that belief.
  • For girls, the arrest rate is highest for simple assault.
  • Females are far more likely to be arrested for domestic assault than males. Although statistics show that men are more likely to commit domestic assault, police are more likely to arrest a woman.

 

Information taken from Dr. Chesney-Lind’s presentation at Wilfred Laurier University-Brantford on Tuesday, Sept. 19th, 2012.

 

It was definitely a fascinating lecture and I’m looking forward to hearing from more speakers. Smile

 

Workout

Because the rain ruined my running plans Tuesday, I went for it today – 5 miles, done.

 

Splits:

  • mile 1: 10:02 – I was definitely dragging at the beginning of my run. Holy lead legs, Batman.
  • mile 2: 9:42
  • mile 3: 9:36
  • mile 4: 9:15 – much better!
  • mile 5: 9:32

 

I had originally planned on going for 6 today, but by the time I hit 5 I had had enough. Gotta listen to that body!

 

The MealsDSCF1457

Protein pancake. Of course. I still don’t have ground flax, so I used a tablespoon of whole wheat pastry flour and it worked great. Topped with the usual banana slices and a drizzle of almond butter.

Whenever I put almond butter (or any kind of nut butter) on ANYTHING, I always end up putting a small spoonful directly into my mouth. Because it is wonderful. Smile I’m thinking I need to pick up some nutella/chocolate peanut butter…girls got a craving!

 

DSCF1464

For lunch, I took some leftover quesadilla filling and threw it on a salad with more guacamole, sour cream and salsa. I crumbled a few Red Pepper and Salsa chips on there for crunch – definitely liking these chips! A few made it right into my mouth for good measure. Smile

DSCF1466

Dinner was more salad (apparently I was really feeling the romaine?) with tomato, red bell pepper, feta cheese and this dressing. For the main part of the meal, we had some Oktoberfest turkey sausage I picked up from the market last weekend on whole wheat buns with honey mustard and ketchup.

Definitely a fan of those sausages! I want to pick up some more soon and use them to make a jambalaya. I love sausage, but I’d rather get some where the meat is a tad leaner – this definitely fit the bill!

 

Almost Friday! (Well, I have Fridays off, so today is like Friday for me. Smile)

 

<— Any comments you can make about the violent girl problem? How do you feel about the representation of violent girls or girl gangs in the media?

<—Any one else have the “spoon to face” issue with nut butters? It’s just so yummy!

8 thoughts on “The “Violent Girl” Problem.

  1. That sounds interesting… I wonder why women are more likely to be arrested than men. Did she go into that? And I’m so with you on the nut butters hahaha sometimes I just can’t stop :p

    • It’s hard to say, really. I think it has a lot to do with perceptions of police and just overall how women are treated (yes, this was definitely leaning towards feminist theory, lol). She didn’t go into a lot of detail as to the specific reasons why, it would be interesting to know though!

  2. gosh I wish I was in your classes with you, i think you are the only person who is making me actually miss school. I have to agree with this whole violent female trend. Do you remember that youtube video that went viral of girls beating one girl up? gosh it was hard to watch but what made it worse was that it was so POPULAR yet no one around them stopped it, just filmed it. Yuck!

  3. Pingback: Justice and Social Media. « Better With Sprinkles

  4. Pingback: Justice and Social Media. « Better With Sprinkles

Leave a Reply

