Better With Sprinkles

The Colourful Side to Healthy Living.

The ACV Train.

25 Comments

DSCF1488

Yup, I’m joining this blogger bandwagon. Hey, I never claimed to be particularly original. Smile

 

Workout

Today was all about legs. And, it was all about lifting heavy – it had been too long since I had gone with heavy weights. I missed it so much! Something about having a massive barbell across your back just makes you feel like no one can mess with you. Smile

 

3 x 8 of:

  • barbell squats
  • barbell deadlifts
  • one legged squats
  • walking lunges
  • leg extensions
  • leg press

 

It was definitely an effective workout – if you have to grasp the railing to go down the stairs afterwards, you know you did good. Smile

 

Breakfast

I couldn’t decide if I wanted a hot or cold breakfast today. So, I did what any rational person would do. I put a cold breakfast on top of a hot one. Smile

DSCF1472

That’s a layer of pineapple Chobani (this was a new to me flavour, and I’m definitely a huge fan. Delicious!) on top of a layer of chocolate oats. The best of both worlds, right there.

 

Lunch

Again, indecision with what I wanted to eat. Whenever I can’t decide what I want for lunch, I end up with a snack plate.

DSCF1477

 

We’ve got an egg patty (1 egg + liquid egg whites nuked in the microwave. The microwave may be effective, but it does NOT make for pretty eggs), red bell pepper, sliced Honeycrisp apple, Cinnamon Honey Dipping Pretzels, and almond butter.

Umm, I opened that bag of pretzels for this lunch. They’re half gone. Jesus, those are tasty.

 

Groceries

I went with my usual meal planning/grocery route. See what’s on sale, plan meals around that, and hit up multiple stores. Today, I went to:

  • the farmer’s market
  • Freshco
  • M & Ms
  • Food Basics
  • Zehrs
  • Dollarama
  • Wal Mart

 

Is it any wonder it takes me about 3 hours to go grocery shopping?

But, I came in at about $8 under budget AND picked up enough meat to last us through the next two weeks (more or less). So, it’s worth it.

 

Meats and Dairy

DSCF1480

  • Canned tuna
  • Lean ground pork (each one of those packages was 1 lb. And cost $1. Yea, loaded up)
  • Pork loin chops (apparently, we’ll be eating a lot of pig over the next little while)
  • Frozen chicken breast (love these for easy meals)
  • 2% milk (Eric’s)
  • herb and garlic cream cheese
  • cottage cheese

 

Produce

DSCF1483

A lot of the veggies I got last week we didn’t quite get through, so I didn’t have tons of produce to buy this week.

  • sweet potatoes
  • spinach
  • bananas
  • baby carrots
  • broccoli
  • butternut squash
  • pumpkin (squeal! – just in time for the first day of fall!)

 

The Rest

DSCF1486

  • the aforementioned ACV
  • tomato sauce
  • mayonnaise (yup, you need a little bit once in a while)
  • whole wheat bread
  • animal crackers (weird craving from froyo last weekend)

 

Definitely an awesome haul. Smile

 

Apple Cider Vinegar

If you’ve been around the blogworld lately, you’ve probably seen ACV popping up everywhere. Everyone seems to be raving about the benefits, so I thought I would give it a shot. If you’re curious as to what it does, Brittany has an awesome post about it.

I decided I wanted to try it because it’s supposed to be helpful with digestive issues. Not something I generally talk about on the blog, but my digestive system hasn’t seemed to be particularly happy in the last 3 or 4 months. So, I figured it was worth a try.

As for how to drink it, I’ve been seeing a lot of mixing with Kombucha, aminos, or lemon juice. Well, the first two are out of the budget and not a fan of the third one. Fortunately, Courtney‘s method sounded pretty good, so I thought I’d stick with something along those lines.

DSCF1490 I mixed 1/4 cup apple juice, 2 tablespoons ACV, a few drops of liquid stevia, a dash of cinnamon, and enough water to fill the glass. Apparently, you need to drink it with a straw because ACV is incredibly acidic and can damage your teeth.

My reaction? First off – don’t smell it. If you smell it, you will not want to drink it. Rank.

It doesn’t taste too bad – like a really strong, slightly soured apple cider. Not the best tasting thing in the world, but definitely manageable.

I’ll try this for a few weeks and we’ll see if I notice any difference!

 

Dinner

I literally just made this recipe again.

DSCF1492

Chicken and veggie stirfry on soba noodles. Served on a small bed of spinach for some extra veggie action.

Nadine (Eric’s mom) is coming up to Brantford today to visit and take us out for lunch. She hasn’t seen the apartment since we moved in, so I’m excited to show her how we prettied up the place. 🙂

Have a nice Saturday!

 

<— Have you noticed the ACV trend lately? Have you/are you thinking about trying it?

<— Do you just go to one grocery store, or do you go to several and shop sales?

25 thoughts on “The ACV Train.

  1. I am the same way, I would rather go to a bunch of stores rather than one if I get everything for cheaper. it is what I do each weekend but because I don’t have a car I usually split up my grocery shopping on different days. lots of walking….

  2. Welcome to the addiction! I’ve been drinking ACV every morning for a couple of years now. It has done wonders for my energy (and digestion). It’s also great to use in place of your toner at night. Mix it with a little water first so it doesn’t sting. 🙂

  3. Good luck with the ACV!! 🙂

  4. Hey what brand of whole wheat bread is that? I want to find a good cheaper alternative to my country harvest! Is that the PC brand?

  5. No ACV for me! I stray from blog fads!

  6. I love ACV! I have it every day pretty much! I usually just make mine with fresh squeezed lemon, stevia, and water or water, lemon stevia, and the acv!

    I also love it with crystal light strawberry, so good!

    Hope your weekend is fabulous and those little pretzels sound amazing!

  7. I totally swear by ACV for UTIs and sinus infections!! For a UTI, drink it with equal parts ACV and honey… for a sinus infection, mix it in hot tea and breathe in the steam (safely of course! don’t burn yourself!)

  8. Pingback: And Then I Ate More Sushi. « Better With Sprinkles

  9. Pingback: Typical Blogger. « Better With Sprinkles

  10. Pingback: Rehashing September. « Better With Sprinkles

  11. I have been taking ACV too lately! I had an issue with my gallbladder/stomach and this was recommended to help relieve the symptoms. Since then, I’ve just been taking 2 tablespoons in the morning. I’m definitely going to try your potion!

    Has it been working for you?

  12. Pingback: WIAW # 3–Upping My Protein. « Better With Sprinkles

  13. Pingback: Candy Corn and Sushi Comas. « Better With Sprinkles

  14. Pingback: Groceries and Meal Plan 11/2–11/09. « Better With Sprinkles

  15. Pingback: WIAW #13–The Week of Holiday Meals. « Better With Sprinkles

  16. Pingback: WIAW: G o Tea. « Better With Sprinkles

Leave a Reply

