Better With Sprinkles

The Colourful Side to Healthy Living.

WIAW #3–Relearning My Tastebuds.

20 Comments

And it’s Wednesday again! Aka – you get to see everything I ate yesterday. Smile

Thanks to Jenn for hosting, as always!

 

Breakfast – 8:45 am

On my new workout program, My workouts are Mondays, Wednesday, Fridays and Sundays. So, that means I had yesterday off from the gym – it was nice! I was able to wake up slowly and get a little work done before breaking for breakfast.

DSCF1579

Kristin’s pumpkin protein cookie dough. An old favourite, but definitely a good one!

Topped with a spoonful of almond butter.

(You’d think I would clean up the bowl a little bit for picture purposes, but no. Clearly, I’m not that picky).

Lunch – 12:45

I read blogs and got some work done before heading to school for my 1 pm office hours. Around 12:30 I realized I should probably eat some lunch.

DSCF1582

I made this salad and shoved it in my face in about 10 minutes flat. Romaine, sliced carrots, 2 hard boiled eggs, a chopped sweet potato, a bit of feta and avocado-cilantro-green onion salad dressing. Good thing I live close to the school – I was only about 5 minutes late. Smile with tongue out

Also, that salad is like 80% sweet potato – just how I like it.

Side note: I got my first student during my office hours! Makes me feel important. Smile

After my office hours was my Deviance and Social Control Class. We spent a lot of time today talking about people who believe they’ve been kidnapped by aliens – it’s a lot more commonplace than I thought it was. Apparently, according to a public poll done in 1990, 3.7 million Americans believed they had been abducted by aliens.* That’s pretty intense.

Snack – 5:30

By the time I got home from school, I was more than ready for a snack. I wasn’t feeling hungry, exactly, but I could feel myself getting drowsy and a tad lightheaded in class – a sign to me that my blood sugar was low. Considering that it had been almost 5 hours since lunch, that’s not surprising at all. I’m a eat every 3-4 hours kind of person.

DSCF1584

Baby carrots (x2), hummus, and cheddar. Definitely what I needed.

 

Dinner – 8:15 pm

I went super simple for dinner tonight – tuna melts.

DSCF1585

I mixed:

  • 2 cans flaked tuna, drained
  • 1 stick celery, sliced
  • 1 green onion, sliced
  • 1.5 tbsp olive oil mayo
  • 1 tbsp herb and garlic light cream cheese
  • pepper
  • chile powder
  • paprika (all to taste)

 

Served on an english muffin and topped with a bit of melted cheddar.

This dinner definitely hit the spot – I expected there to be leftovers, but apparently Eric agreed that it was tasty – demolished.

 

Relearning My Tastebuds

So, I want to talk a little bit about one of the ingredients in dinner tonight.

DSCF1591

Last week, I had mentioned to Eric that tuna was on sale and I was going to pick some up for sandwiches. He requested that I grabbed some mayo too – for proper tuna salad.

I’m not a fan of mayo. But, I saw this stuff on sale so I grabbed a bottle.

For dinner tonight, I was trying to think of something I could use instead of mayo. The only greek yogurt I had in the house was pineapple and mango – clearly wouldn’t work. I decided I might as well just make Eric’s with the mayo, and have mine without.

Well, I opened the bottle, tasted a little, and lo and behold – I like this mayo. It had a nice tang that worked great with the tuna.

It got me to thinking…why didn’t I think I liked mayo? I remember this as the taste, and it’s pretty damn good.

You know what it was? When I first started “eating healthy” (that then progressed to an eating disorder), I tried to convince myself I “didn’t like” unhealthy foods. I told myself I didn’t actually like cookies, mayo, or french fries. If I didn’t think I liked them, then I wouldn’t be tempted to eat them. Ridiculous, right?

While I know how I feel about cookies and fries (both delicious) apparently, I did such a good job convincing myself that I actually forgot that I like mayo.

But, now that I know, it may be working it’s way into my diet more often. Especially this olive oil version!

 

Dessert – 9:30

DSCF1589

Some pineapple Chobani and Dulce De Leche Cheerios to appease the sweet tooth.

Definitely a satisfying day of eats. Smile

<— Do you take the eat-multiple-times-a-day approach?  I don’t understand people that only eat 2-3 times a day. Craziness.

<—Have you ever tried to convince yourself you didn’t like a certain food?

20 thoughts on “WIAW #3–Relearning My Tastebuds.

  1. I used to only eat 2 or 3x a day! It’s simpler when you work at a job that doesn’t allow eating or meal breaks =0)

  2. Oh I have to eat every 2-3 hours. If I didn’t, my stomach would be making some unnecessary noises! haha 🙂

  3. I always try to convince myself I don’t like mayo, but then I remember I do 🙂

  4. I have to say I am a huge Mayo fan especially the olive oil mayo. Nothing wrong with some healthy fat!

  5. I definitely eat every 2-3 hours haha I actually have my alarm set on my phone or else my stomach will start growling haha I actually can’t remember the last time I had mayo… growing up I was never a fan of it, but it always smelled good… I think I just preferred mustard on my sandwiches (but that was just me lol) but I totally know what you mean about convincing yourself that you don’t like something.

  6. Pineapple is the perfect before bed treat! Here’s hoping you enjoyed some tropical dreams. 🙂

    Amy
    @Chobani

  7. I love tuna melts! I make one at least once per week 🙂

  8. I most definitely eat several times a day… 2 to 3?! I.dont.think.so….never ever! haha. I do indeed love mayo. A sandwich I adored as a child was- a few slices of American cheese on white bread with plenty of mayo and garlic salt. Nom 🙂

  9. The salad lunch looks so good! I love the diff flavor combos you did. And my salads are about 80% bulk ingredients too. Who needs lettuce, right?! 😛
    Dulce de leche cheerios?! Hold upppp when did Cheerios add to their already impressive flavor repertoire?!
    I am an eat every few hours person too. How do people eat twice or three times a day ? I wouldn’t even want to get full enough in one sitting to make that “work”.
    How nice that you could enjoy a slow morning on a rest day! I feel like I rarely get those because I have work in the morning and on weekends I like to get my workout done ASAP so I can go play 😀 but this weekend I am working out with a friend at 11am so I will get a slow morning!

    • Yup, my mom picked those Cheerios up for me when she went to Michigan a few weeks ago…they’re super sweet, so definitely more of a dessert cereal!

      I’m still getting used to having so many rest days, but I’m starting to appreciate the extra time it gives me!

  10. Pingback: WIAW # 3–Upping My Protein. « Better With Sprinkles

Leave a Reply

