Better With Sprinkles

The Colourful Side to Healthy Living.

What Makes Me Happy.

9 Comments

Yesterday was a good day.

Nothing big happened – it was a pretty run of the mill day, actually. But, I noticed a lot of little things that made my day awesome. Smile

1. A fancy breakfast.

DSCF1698

An egg white omelet with green onion, red pepper, turkey, goat brie and dill. A slice of toast with almond butter and maple pumpkin butter on the side. I can’t remember the last time I made an omelet for breakfast – it needs to be done more often.

 

2. I went to the gym in the morning and it was 100% empty. I had it all to myself – kind of a dream situation for me. I look at exercise as my personal time, so not having to engage in idle chatter or wait for machines was amazing. I also upped my weights on my deadlifts – yay improvements in strength!

 

3. The entire flat of eggs I picked up at the farmers market.

DSCF1700

Eric and I eat eggs daily. So having that many in my fridge makes me extremely happy.

 

4. This squash.

DSCF1708

It’s called a Sweet Mama – how could you not want it?

 

5. Fancy chocolate.

DSCF1701

Fair trade dark chocolate with coconut? DEFINITELY makes me happy.

 

6. An afternoon of baking.

DSCF1704

Baking is quite possibly one of my favourite pasttimes. It’s relaxing and you get something delicious at the end of it – cannot go wrong. It’s Canadian Thanksgiving this weekend, and I was given the task of making dessert for my family get-together Sunday. Anybody in the family reading this – look forward to Sunday. It’ll be good. Open-mouthed smile

 

7. The best part of baking.

DSCF1706

Salmonella, what?

 

8. A long, cuddle-y nap with Eric late in the afternoon. Yes, we are nauseatingly cute sometimes.

 

9. Making stuffed chicken for the first time in ages.

DSCF1710

Chicken stuffed with honey baked ham and goat brie (the amount of goat brie I’ve eaten today makes me happy in itself), topped with Italian seasoning. Cauliflower and a dinner roll on the side.

 

10. Getting (almost) caught up on the new season of Glee. I was worried that with a lot of the cast leaving, the show would get lame (reminiscence of Degrassi: The Next Generation, if anyone watched that show. As soon as characters started to graduate, it became pretty unwatchable) but so far they’ve been able to keep it together.  The music’s been good and I’ve been loving Kate Hudson’s character!

All, in all – happy day. Smile

 

<—What’s something that’s made you smile lately?

<—What’s your ideal gym situation? Completely empty, a few people milling about, half-full?

9 thoughts on “What Makes Me Happy.

  1. these are all great. my things that make me happy have to be family, some good roasted squash (well duh!) and a peaceful night at home.

  2. What a great post, Sam 🙂 I love reading posts like this because they show how such simple everyday things can make a great day. Some things that have been making me smile lately: breakfast for dinner, cups of hot tea, time with my family, browsing Thanksgiving dessert recipes, baking, warm fuzzy socks, and peaceful mornings.

    Hope you’re having an awesome Saturday!

    • It’s been a while since I had breakfast for dinner – I should get on that!

      My Saturday’s been great so far, it’s actually involved a few things on your list: Baking (a Thanksgiving dessert recipe) and looking forward to seeing my family tomorrow.

      Have an awesome weekend!

  3. This is a happy post Sam 🙂 I agree about the fancy breakfasts, batter when baking is the greatest thing ever too! For the record, I have been eating raw batter/dough for basically my whole life and have never gotten food poisoning… although now I am going to furiously knock on wood! 😉
    That stuffed chicken you made sounds wonderful! Enjoy the rest of your weekend pretty lady

  4. Pingback: Rehashing October. « Better With Sprinkles

Leave a Reply

