Better With Sprinkles

The Colourful Side to Healthy Living.


30 Comments

WIAW–Holiday Guilt.

Yup – it’s Wednesday.

While they weren’t Halloween or Healthy, I definitely have some treats for you this week. Smile

Thanks to Jenn for hosting, as always!

So Sunday I had my family Thanksgiving at my aunt’s house. Instead of recapping yesterday’s eats, I figured a holiday would be more fun. Smile

 

Breakfast

Considering Saturday’s dinner feast with Eric’s family, when I woke up Sunday I wasn’t too hungry. I did some yoga and bummed around a bit before finally working up an appetite for breakfast.

DSCF1731

Eggy oats! 1/3 cup oats with 2/3 cup water and 1 egg, heated in the microwave (clearly…holy messy bowl). I added vanilla, cinnamon, sliced banana, peanut butter and jam. While I think the whole egg in the mix is a little weird, it’s a good way to add some much needed protein.

 

A few hours later, we were read to head over to my aunts. I grabbed a small handful of roasted peanuts to quell any minor hunger pains.

DSCF1732

This was my first time being home in a month, so I was definitely excited to see family.

DSCF1737

Hi Mom! (and my uncle’s beer…a regular occurrence at these things Winking smile)

Of course, I went straight for the appetizers.

Meatballs were a good place to start.

DSCF1735

Crackers, cheese, dip, olives and stuffed peppers.

DSCF1738

I love action shots.

DSCF1736

I hope it was a good olive!

And last but certainly not least, these little pinwheel thingies:

DSCF1739

I have no idea who made them, but they need to make them again. I know they involved cream cheese, cheese, tomatoes and ham (maybe) rolled up in tortillas. I had 3 or 4, they were amazing!

After appetizers and spending some time catching up with the family, it was dinnertime.

Glass of wine to start:

DSCF1745

From my aunt’s stash – it was nice! I definitely prefer my white wine over red.

Hello, full plate.

DSCF1746

We’ve got turkey, brown sugar-glazed carrots, stuffing, scalloped potatoes, a deviled egg, cabbage, and roasted veggies. I definitely went back for one more deviled egg – my family has a minor obsession with them. I can never eat just one!

 

And the fun part – the desserts.

(I wish I had more pictures of all the desserts whole, they were quite the sight).

We had two birthdays in the family, so I made a chocolate cake. I also had the maple bacon cupcakes – which got an interesting reaction! I feel like half the table thought it was the best thing ever, while the other half thought I was crazy.

There was also a chocolate bundt cake and a pumpkin walnut cake.

Clearly, pieces of everything.

DSCF1754

 

Two forks, because Eric and I shared.

And by we shared, I mean he got 1 bite for about every 3 of mine. Smile It was delicious! Definitely happy with how the cupcakes turned out – it takes the sweet/savoury aspect to a whole new level.

 

Holiday Guilt

Something I still have issues with when it comes to the holidays is feeling ok about the abundance of food. Although I’ve been recovered for a while now, that little ED voice always creeps in again after the holidays.

I have fun and enjoy myself during the events, but afterwards I get that voice in my head telling me “You overdid it!” and I feel like I have to restrict my food intake and up my exercise for the week or so.

This is incredibly frustrating for me, because I AM recovered. Why do I still have this problem?

It drives me insane. I want to be able to enjoy my holidays and enjoy my desserts without worrying – but that’s not the case. Realistically I know that I won’t gain anything from one weekend of indulging and that restriction isn’t necessary. I just have to remember that it tasted awesome, I enjoyed it, and it’s time to move on.

At this point, all I can do is acknowledge it, remind myself why it isn’t true and move on. The most important thing is that I do NOT engage in what that voice is telling me to do – and I can tell you that I haven’t been. If I eat a salad, it’s because I want to eat a salad. But if I want ice cream a few days later, then imma have some ice cream.

The best distraction ever from disordered thoughts:

DSCF1756

Dancing. Duh. Smile

 

<— Do you get post-holiday guilt? How do you deal with it?

<— Must-have at the dinner table for Thanksgiving?