Better With Sprinkles

The Colourful Side to Healthy Living.

Lara and Sunshine.

28 Comments

Before I get to the bulk of this post, a few things I need to mention.

1. Reading through my comments on yesterday’s post, I just have to say that you guys are freakin’ awesome. Thanks for all your support! You guys reminded me that most people get that sort of guilt, and I just have to keep in mind that it’s the ED and I need to keep it at bay. Thanks loves! ❤

2. I haven’t been posting a lot of breakfast pictures lately because it’s been either protein pancakes or oatmeal – yea, you guys know what those look like. I finally made something a tad bit more creative yesterday…

DSCF1776

2 sunny side up eggs on a toasted english muffin with pumpkin butter and goat brie. I get points for trying, right?

3. I let out a minor squeal of excitement when I got home from school yesterday.

DSCF1777

The variety pack of Larabars I won from Kenzie last month FINALLY arrived! This is so big, you guys. In Canada (at least around here) I can usually only find them in about 6 or 7 different flavours. So getting 16 different ones just made my day.

DSCF1779

The hardest part is deciding which one to try first. I’m thinking blueberry muffin, carrot cake or chocolate chip cookie dough. Open-mouthed smile

4. The lovely Amanda at running with spoons nominated me for the Sunshine award!

If you don’t read this girl’s blog, you need to start. Like now (Well, read this post first. Then go find her Smile). I just found her blog a little while ago and it’s become one of my favourites – she’s a fantastic writer and has one of the best outlooks on food I’ve ever seen. And her food photography induces drooling.

Thanks Amanda!

Rules

~If you are nominated, you must include the link in the blog, linking it back to the person/blog who nominated you

~You must answer some questions and nominate 7 fellow bloggers and link their names in this post

~Let the people know you have nominated them!

1. Who is your favourite philosopher?

Really? This is a question? *desperately racks brain trying to recall anything from philosophy*

I took an intro philosophy course and a philosophy of law class in my undergrad.While it was interesting, I didn’t like it enough to keep going with it. I’m going to say Plato for this question, just because the only thing that really jumps out of my was his allegory of  the cave thing.

2. What is your favourite number?

I don’t know that I ever really had a favourite number. I chose 12 as my number when I played field hockey in high school, so we’ll go with that!

3. What is your favourite animal?

These are difficult questions! When I was a kid I was one of those “I-want-to-be-a-veterinarian!” types – clearly an animal lover. So it’s hard to narrow down my absolute favourite. But some of the top picks:

Polar bears – it’s a slightly weird obsession. Whenever I go to the zoo, they’re the first animal I make a beeline for. I just think they’re gorgeous.

Pugs. because I really, really want one.

Koalas. 100% because this meme exists. Pretty sure I died laughing the first time I saw it.

4. What are you Facebook and Twitter?

On the list of things to do: get Facebook for the blog.

I do have twitter though: @Sprinkled_Sam – follow me! Smile

5. What is your favourite time of day?

Since I moved my workouts to afternoons, I’ve been thoroughly enjoying mornings. I wake up, throw on my robe, make some tea and read blogs for a little while before I have to get ready for school. It gets the day started on a nice, relaxing note – definitely necessary for a student.

And of course, just the simple fact that it’s breakfast time makes it pretty awesome too. Smile

DSCF0811

6. What was your favourite vacation?

That’s hard to say! I went to Mexico last May, and it was amazing.

DSCF0931

I basically ate and drank my way through the week and was able to relax and enjoy myself. At the same point, I remember being pretty damn excited when I went to Disney when I was 8. Smile with tongue out

I’m really hoping to be able to go to Europe sometime in the near future – I’ve never been! My mom’s a travel agent so the desire to travel is definitely ingrained in me.

7. What is your favourite physical activity?

Lately, I’ve been loving the heavy weights. I love watching my muscles get bigger and the size of my weights go up – I just feel accomplished. While I do still like running, it doesn’t feel like my first exercise love anymore. But who knows – that could change in the future!

DSCF0712

8. What is your favourite non-alcoholic drink?

It’s boring, but I drink more water than anything else. I hate coffee (as I’ve made extremely clear) and drink tea a few times a week. I have a weakness for diet coke, but I try to keep it to once a week or less.

180px-DietCoke

9. What is your favourite flower?

Calla lilies. Definitely my future wedding flower – so pretty.

10. What is your passion?

God, there’s so many things I love. This blog. Writing. Food. Helping others fight the battle with EDs. School. Fitness. Working with youth.

The ultimate goal is to find some sort of career that pretty much covers everything. Smile

And now the nominating part.

And y’know, whoever else wants to fill this out. Smile

Have a great Thursday!

<— Any other diet coke addicts out there?

<— Favourite Larabar flavour?

<— Pick any (or all) of the above questions and answer them!

28 thoughts on “Lara and Sunshine.

  1. Lol omigosh that picture of the koala just killed me. And pugs are seriously the most adorable things ever. A friend of mine has two black ones and they just crack me up… they’re so piggy like! When I hear about how addicted some people are to Diet Coke, it seriously makes me happy that I never had one. I drank a lot of Coke, Pepsi, and other sodas… but never the diet kind. At least you can keep things in check though!

    • I just can’t resist the pug face, they’re just so damn cute!

      Man, when I was in my first year of undergrad (and the beginning of the ED) I would drink about a litre of Diet Coke daily – it was awful! So after that, I’m proud of myself for getting it down to a can or so every week or two – it was not an easy feat.

  2. Thanks for the nomination!! I was definitely one of those kids who was convinced they were going to be a vet!

  3. I have a weakness for diet coke too… luckily I only get it when it is free or i am not paying for it. But then when i go home and my parents have it all around the house, it is like they have unleashed a beast. one habit I just can’t kick. thanks for the nomination!

    • That’s fair! I try not to keep it in the house so if I want it, I have to pay for it at a restaurant or whathaveyou. Makes it less tempting when the price is jacked up.

      And not a problem! 😀

  4. You are too cute! And I would have had the same answer for #1 LOL

  5. Hi love!!

    YAY for an awesome giveaway win! Enjoy those bars!

    LOVE Amanda, I am so glad she is back to blogging!

    Have a wonderful day ❤

  6. I love eggs on english muffins!!

    Your pancake pic looks tasty too, are those grilled banana slices?

    • I just throw them in the pan for a few minutes and caramelize them on both sides – it brings out the sugars and tastes amazing. 🙂

  7. I was a vet kiddie too! Now I’m a vegetarian, does that count for anything? No matter still love me some little dogs. I got a yorkie and always wanted a boston terrier (kinda looks like a pug right?! trying to make connections here haha).

    P.S. That breakfast looks amazing and we spend our mornings the same way!!!

  8. LOVE lara bars, my goal is to start making my own by the end of the year. That bundle looks so yummy! I didn’t even know some of those flavors existed. Cherry Pie is still always my go-to, I’m really curious to see how that Chocolate Chip Cherry Torta tastes

    • That’d be such a great idea! I can’t afford to buy them a lot so making my own would save some cash.
      Cannot go wrong with chocolate and cherry. 😀

  9. I always get breakfast envy when seeing your pics! 🙂

  10. they look so easy to make too! Just dates & whatever fruits/nuts you wish to add to it….theoretically.

  11. Thanks for the tag! I need some goat brie 🙂

  12. Pingback: Monday Morning Sunshine

  13. That breakfast! That polar bear cub! Mexico! I want all of these things in my life RIGHT NOW. 😉

  14. Pingback: WIAW # 6–Taco Tuesday. « Better With Sprinkles

  15. Pingback: Fast Food and Weekend Rambles. « Better With Sprinkles

  16. Pingback: WIAW # 7–Send in the Candy Corn. « Better With Sprinkles

  17. Have you tried the chocolate chip cookie dough one yet? If not, you HAVE to pop it in the microwave for a couple of seconds. I never knew the delicious difference it made until I had one in the middle of summer that had been sitting in my car all day….SO GOOD!

Leave a Reply

