Better With Sprinkles

The Colourful Side to Healthy Living.

Awesome Things–Recovery Edition.

24 Comments

Have you ever heard of The Book of Awesome?

If the answer to this question is no, you should really think about picking up a copy.  The book is based on the blog 1000 Awesome Things. Basically, it’s all about the little things in life that makes life awesome. Some of my favourite examples: snow days, popping bubble wrap, and figuring out that the little arrow next to the gas sign on your gas gauge actually points to the side of the car that the gas tank is on (I actually never realized that – good thing to know!)

So in that spirit, here are some reasons why ED recovery is awesome.

1. Bacon.

DSCF1714

Because adding bacon and/or bacon grease to ANYTHING makes it better. I have yet to see this theory disproven.

2. The fact that I can shave my armpits properly again.

Seriously. When I was deep in my ED, they were too concave. I couldn’t do it without missing spots. Smile

3. Being able to walk up more than 2 flights of stairs without feeling like I’m going to have to have a heart attack.

DSCF1619

When I was in my undergrad, I had a lot of classes on the third floor of my school. Because I would never dream of taking the elevator (walking burned more calories) I would walk those stairs every day. When I got to the top, I’d have to stop and rest – my heart would be absolutely pounding and I’d be gasping for breath. Not only was this uncomfortable, it was pretty damn terrifying.

4. Having a bum. Winking smile

DSCF1254

Seriously, much better than sagging jeans. Open-mouthed smile

5. Having a somewhat regulated body temperature.

My circulation has always been pretty bad, so I’ve always gotten cold easily. But when I was deep in the ED…I’ve never felt cold like that before. You’re freezing ALL THE TIME, and you feel it right down to your core. Not fun.

6. (Relatively) Stress free vacations.

PicMonkey Collage

Basically, spending a week in Mexico with delicious food, deliciously alcoholic drinks, and relaxing by the pool. Without worrying about the excess alcoholic calories or the lack of working out. It was pretty fantastic.

7. Desserts.

Desserts

Basically, I have a sweet tooth.

It must be satisfied pretty much daily, whether that’s with a Werther’s or a massive cup of froyo. There is absolutely nothing wrong with that.

8. Licking the spoon.

DSCF1704

No fear of extra calories (or salmonella, for that matter) here. Easily the best part of baking.

9. Randomly awesome lunches like this one.

DSCF1785

2 rice cakes with cream cheese, one with ham and one with smoked salmon, green beans, and leftover roasted squash. Really, it just had to be included because it makes me happy.

P.S. I kind of want roasted squash for every meal. Goodness, that is delicious.

10. (Because leaving it at number 9 would be too weird) You guys. You’re just awesome. ❤

 

<—Tell me something awesome in your life (recovery related or not)!

24 thoughts on “Awesome Things–Recovery Edition.

  1. Mmm yes bacon is Awesome- so is cooking everything in bacon grease, most people don’t know it, but thats the secret recipe to my amazing chili! Some awesome things in my life– Drinking a large Starbucks every morning, so small, but my favorite part to my day. 🙂

  2. !! Love this post! Omigosh YES, there are so many great things about recovery. You already listed a lot of the good ones, but I’m going to add: not being covered in peach fuzz, being able to sleep through the night, ice cream, being able to think about things other than food, not feeling like I’m going to faint all the time… just everything about life in general 😀

  3. I can relate to all of this (well except the bacon) lol it’s amazing how much more you can enjoy life once you get past and ED 🙂

  4. My favorite “awesome thing” of all time, I actually LOLed when I read this, “Taking a cool metal chain and slowly coiling it into your palm.” <— I swear I thought I was the only person who did this, does anyone else do this???

  5. AMEN. I love this. I will add a few even though I agree with all of yours. Not being cold allthe time is a huge thing – love that. Also, eating things straight from the can aka whipped cream. adore.

  6. omg number two made me laugh LOL. totally agree.

    btw, did you ever suffer from digestive issues in recovery? How long did it take to overcome them, if you experienced them?

    my addition would be: less heartburn, since back the ed days my stomach constantly produced acid b/c it would be empty all the time!

    • Definitely! Once I started eating carbs on a regular basis (especially white bread), my stomach would massively protest. Bloating and some of the most uncomfortable cramps I’d ever experienced. It just took some time and my stomach eventually calmed down and now it’s not a problem. It probably took 6 months to a year for them to stop completely.

  7. I’m so happy for you that you get to enjoy these things again! 🙂

  8. This is fantastic Sam… how crazy (awesome) it is how much BETTER life is after an eating disorder… or even just in the midst of recovery! You start seeing how much more enjoyable things are out there and THAT is worth it enough to continue 🙂

    • Definitely no comparison! It’s amazing how much more enjoyable life is when you’re not counting down the minutes until you’re “allowed” to eat again. 🙂

  9. LOVE!!!!! Oh my God Sam, seriously post is so simple but just awesome. The stairs thing is HUGE. I remember thinking “How can I be this out of shape?? I train ALL the time!” Did it cross my mind that maybe i was on the verge of passing out because I was so depleted? No. Clearly it meant I wasn’t training hard enough. WHAT?? I never want to feel that way again. You’re right that its scary as hell. Another awesome thing: being able to watch TV or a movie, or read a book, or sit in class without standing up, shaking my legs, or doing other weird “calorie burning” activities.

    • Definitely agree with you there Sloane! I remember refusing to sit down at the bus stop for the sake of calorie burning – makes sense to you at the time but in retrospect so.effin’.DUMB!

  10. Awesome post girl! I really hope those who need this post see it and get inspired by it!

    Amen to desserts and bacon. 😀 Also being able to go out to restaurants and not have to ask for modifications to my meal. The food tastes SO much better when you just eat it the way the chef intended you to eat it, instead of asking for plain fish and steamed veggies. 😛

    • Hehe amen to that Chelsea! I would always go to restaurants and figure out which dish looked like it had the least possible calories and order that, instead of, y’know, ordering what actually sounds good. Ridiculous.

      Hope you’re having a great weekend!

  11. Pingback: Fast Food and Weekend Rambles. « Better With Sprinkles

  12. Pingback: Rehashing October. « Better With Sprinkles

Leave a Reply

