Better With Sprinkles

The Colourful Side to Healthy Living.

Canadian Classic.

18 Comments

Happy Thursday!

It’s an especially happy one for me! My Thursday class today was cancelled, and I don’t have classes on Friday. Four day weekend? I think so. Smile

Something I learned yesterday: A frozen banana makes a post-workout smoothie that much better.

DSCF1873

Lately after every gym session, I follow up with a protein smoothie with a frozen banana, 1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk, 1 scoop protein powder, and a handful of spinach.

When I got home yesterday, I realized I didn’t have any frozen bananas on hand. So I just chopped up a regular banana and threw it in. Yea, just not the same. Almost like a juice instead of a smoothie, which for me is unacceptable. I like my smoothies to be almost soft-serve consistency.

Yoga

With Courtney’s current October yoga challenge, I’m trying to get two sessions of yoga in per week. Last Sunday, I realized I only had one session for the week so I needed to squeeze in a second. After my interval run at the gym, I planned on coming home and doing a podcast. For some reason that thought didn’t really appeal to me.

So what did I do? I ended up grabbing a mat at the gym, going into a room that wasn’t in use (it was not crowded that day whatsoever) and taking myself through my own little flow.

I’ve never actually done that before – I’ve always used videos or gone to classes. But my verdict? I loved it! I actually felt more relaxed than I usually do following yoga. It was just me, the mat, and the music pumping through the speakers (which I actually enjoyed the top 40 music a lot more than I did the regular soothing yoga music). I took myself through a few savasanas, some warrior flows, a couple of balance poses and some hip stretchers.

I usually find myself looking at the clock hoping it’ll end after about 15 minutes of a flow. But on Sunday I looked at the clock and was surprised to see 30 minutes had gone by. I’ll definitely need to do my own flows a little more often! (Speaking of which, I need to get a session in today!)

Homemade Healthified Poutine

I stand by the theory that if you are Canadian and you haven’t eaten poutine, you are being extremely unpatriotic. Smile with tongue out It is more or less our national dish, you know.

And of course, I happen to live with someone who is poutine obsessed.

DSCF1481

The guy pretty much can’t go a week or two without wanting a fix.

While poutine is delicious, it’s not exactly the heathiest dish. Fries, gravy, and cheese curds. Then you get fancy (Mexican poutine, bacon poutine, pulled pork poutine…I’ve even seen cheeseburger poutine before) and the toppings just add to it.

So, I decided I needed an at-home version so we could get our poutine fix in a somewhat healthier way. It has baked fries, and the addition of chicken and peas for some protein and veggie action. It’s all about balance, right?

And because I’m obsessed with all things Mexican food, I needed a Mexi version. Smile

Healthified Mexican Poutine

(Serves 2-4. Probably closer to 2, because it’s pretty much a rule that when you eat poutine, you need to eat a lot of it).

Ingredients

  • 4 potatoes, washed and cut into fries
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • french fry seasonings – I chose dashes of salt, pepper, chile powder and cumin.
  • 2 chicken breasts, chopped
  • 1/2 cup frozen or fresh peas
  • 1/4 cup salsa
  • 1 packet poutine gravy mix (if you can find a low-sodium option, go with that – I couldn’t find one)
  • 1/4 cup white cheese curds
  • Toppings of choice: sour cream, Greek yogurt, guacamole, salsa, green onion, ect.

DSCF1880

If you can’t find cheese curds, you can use shredded cheese. But really, then it only half counts as poutine (my pet peeve = poutine made with shredded cheese. It’s just not the same).

Directions

1. Preheat the oven to 425 degrees. Wash potatoes and cut into fries (you could peel if you wanted to, but I never bothered. A lot of the nutrients are in the skin anyways!). Add fries, olive oil and seasonings to a sealable bag and shake until coated. Place on a tinfoil-covered pan that has been sprayed with cooking oil.

DSCF1876

P.s. you probably shouldn’t crowd the pan as much as I did – it takes longer to cook. Do what I say, not what I do. Smile with tongue out

2. Place fries in oven for 40 minutes or until done, turning occasionally.

3. When fries are about half done, start the chicken. Cut two breasts into small pieces and season with the same spices you used for the fries. Place in pan with olive oil or cooking spray at about medium-low heat.

DSCF1878

4. Cook chicken until no longer pink. The, add salsa and peas to the pan. When peas and chicken are cooked through, set aside.

DSCF1882

5. Start the gravy. Cook according to directions.

DSCF1883

6. When everything is ready, build your poutine! Start with a layer of fries, add 1/4-1/2 of the chicken/peas/salsa mixture, add a few spoonfuls of gravy, and top with cheese curds.

DSCF1884

7. Add toppings (I used salsa, sour cream, and guacamole). Devour.

DSCF1886

And there you go! A Canadian classic, healthified a little bit for weekday use.

Enjoy!

 

<— What’s your favourite yoga pose? I’m a fan of half pigeon (so good for my tight hips) and dancer pose (I have no idea why, I just love it).

<— Have you ever eaten poutine?

<— What food is representative of your area? (country, state, city, whatever).

18 thoughts on “Canadian Classic.

  1. Haha oh I definitely had to laugh about the idea of eating poutine being patriotic. I’ve had it on a few occasions, so I paid my respects, but I was never crazy about it. Putting a Mexican twist on it is something I can definitely get behind, but then is it still really Canadian? 😉 Either way, you can never go wrong with salsa and guac!

    • Hehe that is a fantastic question! Canadian with a Mexican flair? And yes, salsa and guacamole pretty much make everything better. Between the tacos on Tuesday and the poutine last night, my Mexican tooth is pretty much satisfied. 😀

  2. ok i have never had cheese curds but have been DYING To try them, I know weird but i love trying new foods like that. jealous of your week!

  3. I’ve done yoga on my own before and it really is amazing how quickly the time passes.

    So jealous of your 4 day weekend haha I loved when that would happen 😀

  4. Poutine is seriously SO delicious and one of my favorite restaurants in Seattle serves it, but I can rarely justify ordering it/making it :/ Thank you for healthifying it, I plan on concocting a vegan version myself! Also, I’m more into Pilates than I am yoga, and every time I try to do them on my own at the gym, I get self-conscious about my inflexibility…..baby steps!

  5. I absolutely NEED to have frozen banana in my smoothie. I don’t know how people use fresh ones. It’s mind boggling!

    I have never had or heard of poutine… until now! It sounds/looks spectacular so I’ll have to give it a shot!

  6. Dancer is my favorite too! I read once that it is the representation of Shiva’s dance of transformation. Since you have to find a balance between stillness and intense motion in the pose (trying to balance while also actively kicking and reaching) it supposedly helps you to find serenity in the midst of the intense motion of our lives–especially if we are in a state of major change or transition. Isn’t that beautiful? Love that you found your own rhythm and flow–sometimes that’s so much more beneficial than a studio led class or a DVD (especially if its the same damn DVD you do multiple times a week…ha). Did I send you an email today? I sent out several, and some bounced back to me.
    xoxo

  7. Ugh. I miss the four day weekend college days!

  8. I’m terrible at yoga. I’ve tried a few times and it’s not for me. I know with practice maybe I’d be a tad better LOL. On that note, maple syrup is represented by upstate NY though really it’s a Vermont thing..that is NY for you, stealing other states things…LOL

  9. Pingback: Rehashing October. « Better With Sprinkles

Leave a Reply

