Better With Sprinkles

The Colourful Side to Healthy Living.

The ACV Update.

19 Comments

Morning Loves!

Today is my last day as a 22 year-old. Yes, I’m ridiculously excited for my birthday (Umm, I have a tattoo that says Princess on my leg. Clearly, I am all about a day dedicated to me).

Breakfast

On Mondays, I have class from 8:30 – 11:20 and then 11:30 to 2:30. 8:30 is far to early for my liking and I like to sleep as late as I can get away with. I’ve learned that a premade breakfast = my best friend Monday mornings.

DSCF1922

The Fitnessista’s breakfast cookie is always a good way to go! I made this one with pumpkin instead of banana and sweetened shredded coconut mixed in. Opening the fridge and finding breakfast? Brilliant.

Dinner

I’m pretty sure this is the third time I’ve done this since we moved.

DSCF1923

Roasted a chicken!! I always hear people say that they’re afraid to roast a chicken, but it really is one of the simplest meals to make. It’s time consuming (1 – 2 hours in the oven, depending on big your chicken is) and you have to wash your hands/counter about 12 times during the process, but it’s so easy.

If the bag of gross bits is inside the chicken, pull it out. You can even use tongs so you don’t have to touch it. See? I just made it that much easier on you.

Pat chicken dry with paper towels, rub with olive oil (pull the skin up on the breast and rub some on the inside there too – makes it extra crispy), Add salt, pepper, and whatever other seasonings you like; I went with Italian seasoning.

DSCF1924

I had half a lemon in the fridge, so I shoved that up the chicken’s fun little cavity there along with a few garlic gloves. It ended up being a great addition – added a light, citrusy flavour. I chopped an onion and threw that in the tray along with some baby carrots and more garlic – done.

I put it in the oven at 425 for 40 minutes, then turned it down to 375 for another 40. Throw it in the oven and forget.

DSCF1926

Along with a sweet potato (butter and cinnamon) and a green salad, you’ve got a pretty fabulous dinner.

So please, (assuming you eat chicken, of course) just try roasting a chicken. It’s so much more satisfying than the grocery store rotisserie versions.

DSCF1927

On that note: PLEASE eat the skin. It is crispy and flavourful and delicious. If you roast a chicken and throw away the skin, I’ll know. Then I’ll cry a little.

ACV Update

So I’ve been drinking apple cider vinegar for about a month now.

DSCF1930

Although the benefits of the stuff aren’t proven, it’s supposed to help with bowel irregularity, aid in maintaining a proper pH levels in your body, regulate blood pressure, clear your skin, and break down fats, among a host of other benefits (got this from the ever-informative Brittney!)

In a month, what have I noticed?

Well…a few things. My skin has seemed clear, I’ve lost an inch from my stomach and although my digestion still isn’t fantastic, there seems to be a bit of an improvement.

It’s hard to say whether this is strictly from the ACV though. I started a new workout plan, changed my eating habits a bit and starting drinking a daily ACV cocktail all around the same time, so I can’t really say that any positive benefits I’ve had are strictly from the vinegar.

But it doesn’t seem to be hurting, so I’m not going to stop drinking it! Once I got used to the acidity, I started to enjoy my daily ACV cocktail.

DSCF1490

  • 1/4 cup apple juice
  • 2 tablespoons ACV
  • the rest of the glass filled with water
  • about 8 drops liquid stevia
  • a shake of cinnamon

Of course, enjoyed through a straw as to not damage the enamel on my teeth. Yup, I’ll keep these around for a while.

Hope you have a wonderful Tuesday!

<— Please tell me you eat the skin off of roasted chicken. Seriously, delicious.

<— Do you get excited for your birthday?

<— What do you drink on a daily basis? On a regular day, I drink water and one ACV cocktail. I drink tea a few times a week and when I’m having a particular craving, Diet Coke/Coke Zero (I know, awful) or a Zevia – kinda pricey but so good!

19 thoughts on “The ACV Update.

  1. Eee! Happy pre-Birthday 😀 You betcha that I still get super excited when my big day is coming up. Maybe not like I did when I was younger, but who doesn’t love a special day devoted to them? And I’m one of those people who get intimidated by the idea of roasting a whole chicken… but you make it sound so easy! I think I’m going to have to give it a shot because I really do love a good roasted bird, and it’s actually kind of hard to find one here that hasn’t been coated in a tonne of preservatives.

    I drank ACV for about 4 months before I gave up on it. I really didn’t notice any differences at all, and I was just getting tired of the prep 😆 These days I drink water, coffee, and tea on a pretty regular basis.

  2. Happy almost birthday! Roasting a chicken does sound easy and delicious!

  3. i really need to try this stuff. i am seriously getting super frustrated with my stomach so i need all the digestion help i can get. i have been dying to roast a whole turkey but am terrified to. i hope i get to one day though

  4. YAY for your birthday tomorrow!!! Happy almost birthday love!

    I actually did a chicken in the crock pot the other day! I put chicken,onions, potatoes, carrots,and chicken stock all in! The boys loved it!

    I drink ACV daily too, I actually just love it for a sweeter and healthier drink! I know it has great benefits though too 🙂

  5. Happy last day of being 22!!! 😀 I always get excited before my birthday haha

    I drink ACV every morning.. just a tbsp and water though and I actually like it.. I started taking it because I read it’s supposed to keep you healthy and your immune system working– last year it worked haha I rarely got sick 🙂 but we also had a very mild winter lol

  6. OBVIOUSLY I eat the skin off roasted chicken. I laughed at the lemon in the “fun little cavity”. Fun flavor for you , not for Mr. Chicken!
    I drink 1TBSP of ACV mixed with water each morning ever since my stomach started acting up. IDK if it has made a difference but I enjoy it (I don’t even add anything else to it, I know I’m a weirdo) and will keep drinking it! I use the same brand (Heather recommended it to me).
    Happy early birthday!

  7. I’m also a fan of the roasted chicken! Of course I eat the skin!

    I actually don’t get too excited for my birthday. I don’t mind getting older, but it’s just another day for me. I always like to make my birthday low-key. I’ve been like this since I was a kid.

    I drink water every day because I take my vitamins with it, but I don’t always have more than just enough to wash the vitamins down. I gave up caffeine when I got pregnant and now while I’m breast feeding. I used to e a big coffee drinker, but I don’t miss it at all. Very rarely I make juice in our juicer at home or buy fresh juice from the juice bar at my local co-op. Maybe 4 times a year, max. Lately I’ve been wanting to get more into juicing though. The only other things I drink are hot vegetable broth or bone stock.

  8. I think the ACV thing is a bunch of crap. Haha sorry, had to say it.

    I drink a Kombucha daily 🙂

  9. Pingback: WIAW # 7–Send in the Candy Corn. « Better With Sprinkles

  10. OMG, the skin is the BEST part!!! And I swear by the ACV cocktail. I’ve been drinking it for months now and it’s made a huge difference with my skin. I actually ran out for a week or so and ended up having a breakout! That’s all the proof I need right there!

    Sadly, I don’t find myself getting excited for the big B day anymore. Last year I had to work on my birthday and it made it suck even more. I vowed to always try to take the day off from now on…which is happening this year…so we’ll see if my excitement comes back. I do believe in the “I can do this because it’s my birthday” mentality…I always try to treat myself to “me day” activities and special treats the few days before and on my birthday.

Leave a Reply

