Better With Sprinkles

The Colourful Side to Healthy Living.

WIAW # 7–Send in the Candy Corn.

22 Comments

Doing the birthday dance today!

Of course, today being a Wednesday means that I don’t have any crazy plans, but I am ridiculously excited because my parents, my brother and his girlfriend, and my best friend are all coming up tonight and we’re going out for dinner! Clearly, just seeing them makes the day amazing.

And then this weekend will be the actual big celebration…of course, looking forward to that Smile with tongue out

And today being a Wednesday, that means…

WIAW. Of course. Open-mouthed smile

Thanks to Jenn as always for hosting!

So, this is all my eats from yesterday, so I don’t have birthday eats for you. But, look for those as the topic for next weeks WIAW!

Breakfast

Well, it’s not a protein pancake, so you can be surprised about that.

DSCF1934

But it is oatmeal, aka: my second-most-eaten breakfast choice.

In the mix:

  • 1/3 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • 1/3 cup water
  • dash salt
  • 1/3 cup oats
  • 1/3 cup egg whites
  • 3-4 tablespoons pumpkin.

Microwaved for about 5 minutes (stirring after every minute) with stevia, cinnamon and maple extract (best decision EVER) stirred in. Topped with maple pumpkin butter and peanut butter.

Side note: I am obsessed with this peanut butter.

DSCF1931

As in, this happens every time I pull it out of the fridge:

DSCF1932

Seriously, I just can’t stop. I’ve been eating almond butter for a long time now, so maybe I’m just really, really enjoying the switch.

Lunch

Egg obsession in full force.

DSCF1944

2 eggs (they were both supposed to be runny yolks, but my egg-cracking ability failed me) with brie over a sweet potato with green beans on the side.

I promise there’s a sweet potato under there…

DSCF1942

See? Told you.

After lunch, the ever present sweet tooth kicked in.

DSCF1940

A few pieces of candy corn did the trick.

P.S. I’m almost out of candy corn – unacceptable. Send in candy corn reinforcements.

Snack

Still working my way through the pile of Larabars.

DSCF1938

Chocolate chip cherry torte, eaten in class. Larabars are definitely a good, quiet, middle-of-class-snack. Smile with tongue out

It was my first time trying this one, and while it was tasty, I didn’t find the cherry flavour to be particularly prominent. Disappointing, because I love the chocolate and cherry combo.

After class, I walked down to the grocery store because I forgot to pick up Greek yogurt over the weekend. And clearly, I’m not going to survive until Saturday without Greek yogurt. It was cold and drizzly, but I had just been sitting in class for 3 hours (minus 1 bathroom break) so I didn’t mind the desperately-needed walk.

DSCF1947

I started buying this stuff recently. It’s more expensive than my usual brand (President’s Choice) but it’s ridiculously thick and isn’t overly tart, so it’s worth it.

I also stopped at the dollar store and grabbed some tennis balls.

DSCF1952

(tennis balls…dog toys…same thing).

I was reading Annette’s tips on de-stressing, and she mentions rolling your foot over a tennis ball as an instant foot massage. It reminded me that I had been meaning to pick some up for a while now, so I grabbed a package. I’m also going to use it for the muscles on my legs…after my workout Monday they are super tight! I desperately, desperately need a foam roller.

Afternoon ACV:

DSCF1957

Hello, slightly-awkward-drinking-from-a-straw-face. And shelf of pantry items because I don’t have nearly enough cupboard space. Moving on…

Dinner

I had a lecture tonight, so dinner was super quick.

DSCF1960

Monday’s leftover roasted chicken, shredded and tossed in buffalo BBQ sauce and reheated. Throw it on a bun and you got BBQ chicken sandwiches!

Cauliflower with cheese curds on the side – Eric doesn’t like cauliflower all that much, but I figure that if you add cheese curds, it must be tasty. This applies to all vegetables, by the way. Smile with tongue out

Late Night Snack

I always used to freak out about eating late at night. I didn’t want to go to bed hungry, but I was always concerned that as soon as I fell asleep, whatever wasn’t digested by that point would just kinda stick around and accumulate on my body.

Yes, I’m ridiculous (and my blogger bud Amanda has a great post on this very topic! She’s a smart cookie). Clearly, that is not true and now I enjoy an evening snack almost every night an hour or so before bed (well, an hour before I plan on going to bed. How often that actually happens is a completely different story).

DSCF1964

1/2 cup of Greek yogurt, 1 scoop casein protein, a few splashes of unsweetened vanilla almond milk and some drops of liquid stevia. A small scoop of chocolate peanut butter on top.

Yup, it looks gross (especially that peanut butter), and it is messy, as my food tends to be (worst food stylist ever) but I can assure you, it was quite delicious. And filling and full of protein as well.

And now, birthday time! Open-mouthed smile

Have a fabulous Wednesday!

<—Nut butter fan? What’s your favourite kind? My favourite kind of nuts are cashews but I’ve never tried cashew butter. I should get on that.

<—Do you foamroll? I used to at the gym all the time, but they don’t have any at this one. I need to invest in my own because they’re definitely useful.

22 thoughts on “WIAW # 7–Send in the Candy Corn.

  1. Ohhh Ned ❤ Slightly obsessed with GoT 😉

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY! Eeee! So excited for you. I hope you have an awesome one, and if you don't do anything too crazy today, make sure to have some fun on the weekend. That’s right… drag it out for as long as you can 😀

    Oikos 2% is probably my favorite Greek yogurt. It’s definitely a bit pricey, but you’re right that the taste is so worth it. And when it comes to nut butter, roasted almond all the way. I’m kind of limited in what nut butters I can eat because of my peanut allergy, but thankfully I’ve found one that I love… and I’m clinging to it like a madwoman. Aaaaaand yes to foam rolling. I curse like a sailor when I’m doing it, but it definitely feels so good after.

    Happy Birthday! (again) ❤

  2. i always like a late night snack, my thing is i usually have my biggest meal at 8 pm at night because of my crazy schedule which means no matter what I am eating later than usual no matter what. good to kick those negative thoughts out, no need to over think it for sure

  3. Mmmmmm, candy corn, this is a dangerous time of year! Never fails I eat it until my stomach hurts & then regret it…but do it again the next day 🙂

  4. HAPPY BIRTHDAYYYYYYYY!!!!!!! Yayyyy celebrate lots and lots–you totally deserve it!
    ps. our cereal stash is almost identical. TWINS!
    Go get yourself some more candy corn and have a wonderful day!
    xoxo

  5. Happy Birthday, Sam! Hope you got to enjoy it even though it was a Wednesday! Celebrating with your family and friends is the best way to do it.

    Nut butters are great and you should definitely give cashew butter a try! It’s one of my favourites though which one isn’t? I’m not discriminating nut butters :D.

  6. Happy birthday, Sam!!!!

  7. HAPPY BIRTHDAY GIRL!!! You deserve to have the best day possible.. also, you really need to head to the store now & get yourself some more candy corn 🙂

  8. Do you not eat the tops of the candy corns? lol

  9. Happy Belated B-DAY! If you like candy corn, you should check out Fitnessista’s recipe for candy corn popcorn. I made it this weekend and my mom loved it!

  10. Love that peanut butter! So creamy! I’ll flirt with various other nut butters on occasion, but I ALWAYS come back to my beloved peanut butter! 😉 Cashew butter is…different. Honestly, I don’t think it tastes the same as whole cashews. I know, sounds weird.

    There you go taunting me with that yogurt again! Damn you woman!

    I need to try the tennis ball thing for sure…you know, since my live-in masseuse is on vacation at the moment! 😉

    PS, candycorn….ICK! 😛

Leave a Reply

