Better With Sprinkles

The Colourful Side to Healthy Living.

Bad-Weather Seafood Lasagna.

26 Comments

First off:

DSCF2027

Look! A different breakfast!

One egg + egg whites (about 1/3 cup) + an english muffin with wildberry jam and peanut butter. Still not particularly creative, but it counts as shaking things up, right?

DSCF2030

Wow, those are some green eggs. I went to add a dash of dill while the eggs were cooking, but I accidently opened the wrong side and dumped a whole bunch on top. This is why I shouldn’t be allowed to cook before 8 am.

Still tasty, but I kinda felt like I needed to throw some ham in there too (who doesn’t love a Dr. Suess reference?)

Dinner

So with Sandy bearing down on all of us yesterday (I hope everyone managed to stay safe!) I knew that a homey, warm, comforting meal was in order. Something that the boyfriend and I could hunker down with in our apartment and eat while we caught up on The Walking Dead and Dexter. (My favourite shows involve serial killers and zombies. Yup, I’m an odd one).

I had noticed shrimp and crabmeat on sale at the grocery store on Sunday, so I wanted to work with those. When I think of comforting, I also think cheesy, buttery sauce…so I went with a seafood lasagna with white sauce. I used whole wheat lasagna noodles, ricotta cheese, and added snap peas and spinach to keep the nutrition level high. The result? A delicious, homey pasta dish that the boy literally raved about for hours – he’s super excited for leftovers all week. Smile

Bad-Weather Seafood Lasagna

(serves 8. Adapted from the Looneyspoons Collection)

Ingredients

  • 11 whole wheat lasagna noodles (you’ll use 9, but I like to make extra in case some break)
  • 1 cup snap peas, ends cut off
  • about 1/3 package frozen spinach
  • 1 1/2 cups ricotta cheese
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup parmesan cheese
  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • 1 tablespoon minced garlic (you can take this down a bit, but I  love garlic)
  • 1 1/2 cups 2% milk
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • 1/4 cup whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1 chicken bouillon cube
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon dill
  • 1 lb shrimp, de-tailed and thawed
  • 1/2 lb imitation crab meat, in chunks (could substitute for the real thing, but I’m cheap)
  • 1/2 cup shredded cheddar cheese

Directions

1. Place lasagna noodles in boiling water and cook until al dente. Drain and rinse in cold water – set aside. Mix ricotta, egg and parmesan cheese in a medium bowl and et aside.

DSCF2033

2. Put spinach and snap peas in microwave safe dish with a bit of water. Microwave for about 3 minutes, drain and set aside. Melt butter in pan on medium low. Add garlic and cook for one minute.

DSCF2034

3. Mix milks in medium bowl. Add flour and stir to combine. Add to butter/garlic mixture and whisk in. Cook until thickened and bubbling, about 5 minutes.

DSCF2036

4. Add chicken bouillon cube, salt, pepper and dill. Stir to combine. Add shrimp and cook until pink, about 5 minutes.

DSCF2038

5. When shrimp is cooked through, add peas, spinach, crab meat and 1/4 cup cheese. Cook until cheese is completely melted. Remove from heat.

DSCF2040

6. Layering time! Spray a 13 x 9 pan with cooking spray. Place 3 noodles on the bottom layer. Add 1/3 of the seafood/veggie sauce.

DSCF2043

7. Add another layer of noodles, then layer the ricotta mixture. Cover with another 1/3 sauce.

DSCF2045

8. Add the final layer of noodles, and then the final layer of sauce. Top with 1/4  cup shredded cheese.

DSCF2047

9. Cover with tinfoil and place in oven for 35 minutes at 350 degrees. Cook for 35 minutes. Remove and let stand for at least 5 minutes.

DSCF2049

Umm, how freakin’ delicious does that look?!

DSCF2051

Easily one of the best meals I’ve made in a long time. Eric and I could not stop mmm-ing through dinner! So, so good. The most exciting part? A lasagna that makes 8 servings + 2 of us = lots of leftovers. Open-mouthed smile

FreEDom From Perfection

So a little while ago, I got an email from a delightfully awesome blogger (the wonderful Sloane) about an amazing campaign she was starting. The official launch is next week, but I wanted to get the word out as much as possible about her little project. Whether or not you’ve had an eating disorder, everyone has little secrets they feel ashamed of. Well, guess what? There is absolutely no reason to be ashamed! Your perceived “flaws” are part of what makes you beautiful! Here’s the adorable Sloane herself explaining her campaign a little further:

I will definitely be contributing to this campaign, and I hope you do too! So what’s my first “secret”? Sloane actually mentions it on the video – I didn’t contribute it, but I completely agree with it. It might make me a bad healthy living blogger, but it’s the truth.

I hate kale.

kool-kale

I’ve tried it cooked, I’ve tried it raw, I’ve tried it massaged…I can’t do it. I know how good it is for you and how nutrient dense it is, but I hate it. #sorryimnotsorry

Make sure you click over andcheck out the campaign, mmk? Smile

<— For my photography lovers: how do you deal with nighttime food photography? I cannot for the life of me make my meals look pretty lately. How do you work around the lighting issue?

<— Give me a healthy food that you don’t like. I can also add eggplant to that list – unpleasant.

26 thoughts on “Bad-Weather Seafood Lasagna.

  1. Wow that lasagna looks incredible! I’ve never had seafood in a lasagna before but now I really want to try it!

    Hmm a healthy food that I don’t really like is asparagus. I’ll eat it if it’s served to me, but wouldn’t choose to buy it for myself.

    • I definitely recommend it! I love traditional lasagna, but but this was a tasty change – easily one of the best dinners I’ve ever made.

      That’s fair! I don’t mind asparagus, but it needs to be local/in season, otherwise it doesn’t have enough flavour. Although I do have a recipe for bacon-wrapped asparagus that I always like – bacon solves everything :-p

  2. OHHH my I am DYING over that lasagna! Seafood and warm creamy cheezy lasagna are my two biggest weaknesses. I need to make this end of story. GOSH you’re brilliant.
    And THANK YOU SO MUCH for posting and giving me a shoutout! You’re amazing!
    xoox

  3. Look at you getting all creative in the kitchen! Stop making me look bad 😛 I’m allergic to seafood, but I do love the sound of a comforting lasagna. Hope Sandy hasn’t been treating you too badly!

    As for healthy food that I can’t stand… kale is definitely on the list. I’ve tried to like it, but it’s just not happening. I’m also not big on eggplant, olives, chia seeds, or cauliflower. Oh, and fish. I know things like salmon are supposed to be the holy grail of health, but I’ve never been able to get past the smell 😳

    • Ugh, no seafood would make me sad. You could probably sub out the seafood for chicken though! Everybody needs a creamy lasagna in their life.

      And it’s not too bad here, last night got pretty windy and my class for today was cancelled (prof comes in from Toronto and it was pretty bad up there). Hopefully Edmonton didn’t get hit too bad!

      Glad I’m not the only person who hates kale and eggplant! Can’t do it. :-p

  4. I AM THE SAME WAY< can;t do kale at all. Really can't unless it is in those kale chips smothered in cheesy sauce. Yum. But they are so expensive. I am super impressed by your cooking, I mean seriously girl! We have the same taste in shows. I actually meant to tweet at you yesterday because when I was stuck at home I watched Grave Encounters on Netflix thanks to your suggestion. Creepy shit. I am so happy you are doing the campaign too!

  5. I’ve never had a seafood lasagna but holy yum!!! That looks delicious. I’m sure I’d love it since I love seafood. I’m not much of a photographer, but I usually set the ISO really high since it’s so dark. I also turn on a bunch of lights. The pictures still come out “ehh” but I can usually edit it a bit on the computer to make it look somewhat appealing. A lightbox would be helpful but I haven’t gotten that serious yet ha ha 😀

  6. WOW girl. You are way talented. I am WAY impressed by this recipe! It seriously looks so wonderful. I’m very very inspired and am craving seafood like mad now hahaha. You have a lucky man to have such a creative cook in his life.

    I am so excited for Sloane’s campaign! I don’t like a lot of fruits. I dislike watermelon and grapes a lot, and am not a big fan of apples. I also cannot get into pomegranate despite all those antioxidants!

  7. I love Italian food. I love crab. How have I never had seafood lasagna? Must try. As soon as this competition is over and I can EAT.

    Food I don’t like: white potatoes. Hate. Them.

  8. healthy food I dislike – peanut butter! I would rather eat whole peanuts. I dislike the feeling of the stickiness sticking to the top of my mouth .. lol.

  9. I was craving peanut butter this morning. I was still craving it about an hour ago. AND NOW I SEE MORE PB! ahhhhhhhhhhhh

  10. That looks delicious. Anything with spinach and cheese I will try- even though I’m not a huge seafood fan. I love making large batches of amazing meals to look forward to leftovers- what’s better? I have to admit that I never have and probably never will like mushrooms. I also cannot stand the texture of bananas. I really wish I could because they are awesome and so many people eat them for a healthy breakfast or snack, but if they’re not blended into a smoothie or baked into a dessert, I just can’t stomach them.

  11. Oh man, that lasagna looks INSANE!! I’ve never had seafood lasagna before…that needs to change ASAP! I’ll be over for dinner tomorrow…save me a plate, mmkay? 😉

    Nighttime food photography + Instagram filters = Happy food blogger…like seriously, I won’t even pretend to act like I reach for my “real” camera! Lol

    Healthy food I don’t like: Are radishes healthy? Because I’ve NEVER been a fan…unless they’re pickled!

  12. Pingback: Rehashing October. « Better With Sprinkles

  13. Pingback: Freedom From Perfection {kickoff week!} « Strength in Freedom

  14. Pingback: Meal Inspiration + White Chicken Chili. | Better With Sprinkles

  15. Pingback: Meals and Fitness for the Week: 4/14. | Better With Sprinkles

Leave a Reply

