Better With Sprinkles

The Colourful Side to Healthy Living.

WIAW # 8–Birthday Eats.

31 Comments

First off: Happy Halloween!!! Eat buttloads of candy, k? I know I’m going to be sneaking into my chocolate stash (I only hand out chocolate, no candy. It was always my favourite when I was a kid, so I might as well continue with that…plus then I love the leftovers that much more Smile with tongue out)

So…sick of me talking about my birthday yet?

Because I’m going to talk about it again, WIAW-style. Fortunately, my birthday was on a Wednesday (although it was last Wednesday) so I deem it 100% appropriate to still be talking about it a week later (can it be my birthday again?)

And believe me, they’re not healthy but they are definitely treats. Smile with tongue out

Thanks to Jenn, as always for hosting!

Breakfast

Clearly, a special birthday breakfast was in order. And sprinkles had to be included.

DSCF1970

Birthday french toast!

I mixed 1/4 cup greek yogurt, about 1/4 scoop protein powder, and a tablespoon of maple syrup to make a sweet sauce with a bit of added protein. Topped with sprinkles, of course.

Lunch

DSCF1971

Wednesday is an 11:30-2:30 class day, so lunch was taken to class and consumed on my break.

DSCF1971

Spinach salad with sweet potato and smoked salmon. Smoked salmon and sweet potatoes = two of my favourite foods. Successful lunch. Smile

Post-Workout

Wednesdays are gym days, so I headed there after class.

DSCF1974

The usual post workout smoothie. 1/2 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk, a frozen banana, 1 scoop protein powder and a handful of spinach. Never fails me!

A piece of chocolate on the side, because it was my birthday. Smile with tongue out

DSCF1978

Dinner

Of course, the most exciting part is birthday dinner. Smile My parents, my brother, his girlfriend, and my best friend all came up from London so we could go out. We decided on Gus and Guido’s – a Greek/Italian restaurant in Brantford I had heard good things about. (you’ll have to forgive the poor quality of photos, I forgot my camera at home so I had to use Eric’s phone).

Birthday wine = 100% necessary.

IMAG0091

I’m not sure what kind it was (my parents know wine better than I do so I let them order bottles for the table) but it was a light, fruity Pinot Grigio. More than one glass was consumed. Smile with tongue out

A bread basket to start – some homemade fresh bread and pita (definitely covering both Italian and Greek, aren’t they?). They came with three spreads: one caviar spread, oil/balsamic vinegar, and a potato spread.

IMAG0087

Bread with the caviar spread. I’ve never actually had caviar so I don’t know how close this was to tasting like it, but to me it tasted kinda like smoked salmon. No complaints there.

IMAG0088

Bread with the potato spread. It was literally like spreading bread with garlic mashed potatoes – a little odd, but tasty nonetheless.

For dinner, I ordered the Stuffed Chicken a la Greco – chicken stuffed with roasted red pepper, zucchini and goat cheese.

Unfortunately we ran into some service issues here. Everyone had been served except me – It took them about an extra 10-15 minutes to bring me my dinner. Slightly frustrating, because everyone was more than halfway done by the time I got my meal.

IMAG0092 Well, I don’t know if it was worth that long of a wait, but it was definitely tasty. The chicken was jam packed with fillings, and the potatoes and veggies on the side were delicious as well.

IMAG0094

So much goat cheese – just the way I like it. Smile

As I was finishing up, I suddenly found myself with two shots next to me.

IMAG0096

Umm…what?

IMAG0097

Shot number 1 down: this one was a Polar Bear – Crème de menthe and Crème de cacao. One of my favourites from my early bar days.

IMAG0098

Apple pie shot – I had no idea what was in it at the time, but it definitely tasted like it’s namesake! Apparently it’s apple juice, vodka and cinnamon. Good, but at the time all the cinnamon on top went up between my teeth and my top lip – kinda awkward.

(between the wine and the shots, it’s definitely a good thing I was NOT driving home).

Hello, dessert.

IMAG0101

Six-layer chocolate cake – very rich and incredibly chocolate-y…just the way I like it! I had a few bites and sent it around the table.

Even though we had some issues, it was definitely a great dinner. Due to my wait time, the restaurant comped my meal, one of the shots, and the dessert – thanks Gus and Guido’s! I’ll definitely be back in the future.

Dessert, Round 2

Back home for presents and cake! My mom had been telling me for weeks that she had an amazing cake for me, but wouldn’t give me any sort of clue as to what it was.

DSCF1981

Eagerly awaiting…

DSCF1984

Oh my goodness…they were shoe cupcakes.

DSCF1987

One thing you should know about me: I am a huge shoe person. I pride myself on my shoes and it’s my goal to have a shoe closet one day. So it was ridiculous how perfect these were. They were half chocolate, half red velvet – aka, my two favourite flavours.

DSCF1996

The “heel” was one of those long, chocolate filled wafer cookies and the “shoe” was a wafer covered in icing. One of my mom’s friends at work made them – thanks Judy! They were delicious!

I had about 3/4 of this one (chocolate) and went back for about 3/4 of a red velvet one. Too die for – super thick, sugary icing and super moist (yes, I know that word is dreaded but it works in this case) cake. Amazing!

All in all, a pretty fabulous birthday!

Now, I’ve got Halloween and a bowl of Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups in my kitchen…I’m thinking there’ll be some more sweet eats today. Smile

<— Are you a shoe person?

<— When you were a kid, were you more excited about the mini chocolate bars or little packs of candy? Did you have a system/order in which you ate them? I ate the chocolate first, then candy, then the flavoured chips. I would usually throw out/trade the suckers and the plain chips – they were no fun.

31 thoughts on “WIAW # 8–Birthday Eats.

  1. I love your shoe cupcakes!! So adorable! Happy Halloween to you! PS, you will never want to work in a shoe store, once you realize how great of a discount you can get on shoes you will never pay full price again. 🙂

  2. Is it wrong that my mind totally zeroed in on the apple pie shot? 😆 I’m not a lush, I’m just completely obsessed with anything and everything apple right now. The rest of your eats look delicious though – especially the desserts 😉 I’m definitely a shoe person… and a purse person… and a jewelry person. Ugh. It’s horrible – I just love cute accessories though! Pairing classic, neutral outfits with statement pieces? Looooove.

  3. I love greek food, that looks delish! And the shoe cupcakes are absolutely adorable!

  4. So cute to put sprinkles on your toast. Living up to your blog name!

    Those shoe cakes are the cutest ever! I want to be a shoe person….but I usually stick to the same 4-5 pairs of shoes, except for really special occasions!

  5. what cute friends, those cupcakes take mad dedication. sprinkles makes everything that much better, in my opinion at least

  6. The shoe cupcakes are amazing! I l think it’s so lovely how much care your mum took to make sure they were special 🙂
    Definitely a chocolate person but I never said not to candy either.

  7. Sounds like the best birthday ever! Those shoe cupcakes are AMAZING!!!

  8. Looks like a ridiculously delicious day of eats. I’ve never heard of a garlic potato “spread” served with bread at a restaurant, but it sounds right up my alley. How talented your moms friend is to make those cupcakes into shoes! I was definitely more of the small chocolate bar kinda kid. My mom works at a hospital, so my sister and I had 3 days to eat our candy, and after that it was brought to the hospital for the kids, so our strategy was basically gobble up as much as possible in 3 days! Happy birthday and happy halloween!

  9. What cute cupcakes, your family really went all out! Happy belated Birthday!

  10. All of your eats look absolutely mouth-watering… NOM! Happy belated birthday! I love the blog. <3333

  11. Your breakfast is so cute! Love the b-day sprinkles!

    And I would say that that stuffed chicken was worth the wait if it tasted as good as it looks– juicy and delicious!

    Shoe cupcakes=awesome. I’m not a shoe person, but I can totally appreciate the food that doesn’t look like food… 🙂 Happy Belated Birthday. All of those cakes and sweets look wonderful!

  12. You are too cute! I love that you had sprinkles for breakfast on your birthday! It’s perfect! Everything else looks great too! What a wonderful day of birthday food!

  13. ADORABLE! Your mom is a pure genius to think of such an awesome birthday “cake” idea! I absolutely love it!

  14. Is it bad that I’m eyeing your French toast over all that luscious dessert? And I mean, c’mon…there’s SPRINKLES!!! 😀 Looks like you had a FABULOUS birthday m’dear! Happy belated by the way! Those shoe cupcakes are adorable…so creative! And that chicken? With the mound of goat cheese? Yeah, I could pretty much face plant into that!

    I am definitely a shoe person although I change my mind frequently as to what kind of shoe I’m currently obsessed with. Right now it’s sneakers…but I’m pretty sure in the next few weeks it will be BOOTS! 😉

    I was probably equally excited about the chocolate and the candy when I was little (as long as the chocolate was Reese’s pb cups) and the candy was M&M’s, Skittles, and Starbursts! The suckers, hard candy, and horrible peanut butter taffy like things (these: http://www.candyblog.net/blog/item/melster_peanut_butter_kisses) were always traded out or thrown away!

  15. Pingback: Goal Talk–November. « Better With Sprinkles

  16. Your birthday french toast looks so cute!Those shoe cupcakes are ABSOLUTELY ADORABLE :D!

Leave a Reply

