Better With Sprinkles

The Colourful Side to Healthy Living.

Wanna Eat Some Cookies?

19 Comments

(Taking a moment of silence today for Remembrance Day!)

 

I’ve eaten a lot of cookies/cookie dough today. And every bite has been delicious. Open-mouthed smile

I’ve had the baking itch for the last couple of days, and what’s better than baking up a batch of cookies? Usually, I try to health-ify recipes a bit, but I was craving old fashioned buttery, sugary, delicious cookies. Enjoy!

Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

(makes 4-5 dozen. Adapted from this recipe)

 

Ingredients

  • 1 cup butter, softened
  • 1 cup peanut butter (I use Skippy Natural)
  • 3/4 cup white sugar
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 package peanut butter and milk chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup old fashioned oats

DSCF2201

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Cream butter, sugars and peanut butter in a large bowl until smooth. Beat eggs one at a time.

DSCF2188

2. Mix flours, baking soda and salt in medium bowl. Gradually add to butter mixture in increments, beating until combined. Add vanilla extract and combine.

DSCF2197

3. Add chocolate chips and oats. Mix until combined.

DSCF2202

4. Line baking pans with baking parchment. Drop cookies by rounded spoonful unto pans, approximately 3 inches apart.

DSCF2207DSCF2210

5. Bake for 8 – 12 minutes, or until done.

DSCF2212

Delicious, classic peanut butter and chocolate chip. Cannot go wrong with this combo – and I love the mix of peanut butter and chocolate chips! Extra peanut butter is not a bad thing at all.

DSCF2215

Definitely make these! The only issue: I have a lot of cookies right now.

DSCF2216

So…wanna come over and eat some cookies?

Despite the cookie dough (and two cookies right out of the oven) consumed, I still managed to get some sort of appetite for dinner.

DSCF2220

When I was a kid, I didn’t like tomato sauce – AKA, did not like pizza. The only exception? Hawaiian.

DSCF2221

So after making baked ham and pineapple for dinner Thursday night, I knew the leftovers needed to go towards a Hawaiian pizza. Ham, pineapple and mozzarella with pizza sauce on a whole wheat crust – cannot go wrong!

DSCF2223

Delicious. Smile

Because I’m not going to be around next week, groceries this week involved a lot of frozen stuff for the boy. He asked me for snacks, so when I saw this I couldn’t resist.

DSCF2219

I might have to steal one of these. I am obsessed with all things chocolate chip cookie dough!

My parents are coming up today and taking us out for lunch. Should be a great day!

<— What’s your favourite kind of cookie?

<— When was the last time you had a poptart? It’s gotta be at least like 6 years for me.

19 thoughts on “Wanna Eat Some Cookies?

  1. I’ve never had a PB cookie (duh, that would kill me), but I really want to try making them with soy nut butter! My favourite kind of cookies are my mom’s chewy chocolate chip cookies. I swear she puts crack in them!

  2. Mmm cookies with real butter and sugar. Looooove. These look flippin’ amazing! (minus the PB, of course 😉 ) When it comes to favorite cookie, I think I’m gonna have to go with oatmeal raisin. I used to think it was oatmeal chocolate chip, but a recent slew of delicious oatmeal raisin cookies has changed my mind, I think. And PopTarts! Oh gawl. It’s probably been like 6 years for me too. Sad sad. I used to love the s’mores ones, and eat one for breakfast pretty much every morning. Probably not the healthiest way to start my day, but it sure was tasty.

  3. Oh my stars pizza and cookies are true comfort food. I was craving cookie dough SO BADLY last night! I should have made myself some good old homemade chocolate chip cookies. Tonight I’m trying a healthified pizza. Soo good!
    My mom never let me eat poptarts as a kid, so they don’t have that same excitement for me.

  4. I wish I was more of a baker, I just can’t master it!

  5. These look amazing! The dough is always my favorite part 🙂

  6. Oooooo damn those cookies look amazing! I was literally drooling. I would say my fave cookie would be a soft chunk and ooey gooey chocolate chip cookie. And I think the last time I had a pop tart was in high school–15 years ago–lol. Wow I’m old.

  7. Your cookies look amazing but I dont think I could ever eat one 😦 I havent had a cookie in years and as for a pop tart, the last one I had was when I was 16 just before my eating disorder started. I am 37 so that was over 20 years ago 😦 Maybe some day I will get up enough nerve to try one again.

  8. Oh so theeeeese are the cookies you made. They look awesome. I’ve been such a sucker for peanut butter lately, so I would have gobbled these right up!

  9. Pingback: Scolding Hot Gravy. « Better With Sprinkles

  10. Pingback: WIAW #10: …And a Cookie. « Better With Sprinkles

  11. Pingback: Rehashing November + Christmas Challenge. « Better With Sprinkles

Leave a Reply

