Better With Sprinkles

The Colourful Side to Healthy Living.

WIAW #10: …And a Cookie.

11 Comments

So, I’m living it up in Chicago right now. But of course, I’m not going to forget about the jewel that is WIAW!

Of course, I had to throw one of these in here this week – thanks for hosting, Jenn!

Although, whether or not I actually find a computer today to link it up remains to be seen…

But I digress. Monday’s eats!

Breakfast

Well hello, almost-empty Skippy jar.

DSCF2266

Of course, this means OIAJ.

DSCF2272

1/3 cup oats cooked in unsweetened almond milk, 1 egg and a few spoonfuls of pumpkin. Cinnamon and maple extract mixed in and thrown in the jar. I topped it with wildberry jam and chocolate peanut butter – there wasn’t quite enough left in the jar for my liking Smile with tongue out (and chocolate peanut butter, why must you always look so gross?)

Morning Snack

Because I eat breakfast around 7:45 Mondays and don’t usually eat lunch until around 1, I throw a snack in around 11:30 to tide me over.

DSCF2265

One of my peanut butter chocolate chip energy balls definitely does the trick!

Lunch

Packed lunch, eaten in class.

DSCF2259

Salads are always one of my favourite things to pack for lunch! And I’m loving this salad dressing right now – Italian is a classic.

DSCF2261

Spinach (I promise it’s under there somewhere), ham, sweet potato, baby carrots, and cheese curds. It definitely hit the spot!

After class I headed over to the gym. It definitely made up for Sunday’s subpar workout – it was fantastic! I upped my weights (new PR’s) on barbell squats, barbell deadlifts and reverse flyes. I also upped my speed on the on/off treadmill routine – I love progress! Open-mouthed smile

Snack

The always-present post workout smoothie.

DSCF2274

Almond milk, chocolate protein powder, a frozen banana and a handful of spinach. Delicious.

DSCF2279

My mouth felt the urge to crunch, so I grabbed some of the always present baby carrots from the fridge.

Dinner

I wanted to make a big dinner so there was leftovers during the week. Enter one of my old favourites:

DSCF2284

Lasagna! I’ve made it so many times I don’t even need to look at the recipe anymore.

DSCF2292

Delicious. And for once in my life, I found the patience to let it sit long enough that it didn’t fall apart when I took it out of the pan. Smile

Palate cleanser:

DSCF2300

I’ve developed such an obsession with these things – so good.

Snack

The always necessary before bed snack:

DSCF2297

Chocolate peanut butter casein pudding (almond milk, a scoop of chocolate casein protein powder, a teaspoon or so of chocolate PB2 and a few drops of liquid stevia. It doesn’t taste exactly like pudding, but it’s easier to call it that than name it resembles-chocolate-pudding-but-only-tastes-kind-of-similar-mush) topped with a crumbled peanut butter chocolate chip cookie. A cookie is pretty much the best way to end a night, don’t you agree?

So there you go! For the next couple of days I’ll have guest posts from some fabulous ladies, so please come by and read them!

<—What’s your favourite salad dressing right now?

<—What’s your current nighttime snack?

11 thoughts on “WIAW #10: …And a Cookie.

  1. That lasagna looks killer! As does your salad for lunch 🙂 My favorite dressing right now is my homemade lemon/dijon mustard/honey mix that is delicious! And nighttime snack right now is a piece of pumpkin banana bread topped with a little Trader Joes Greek Froyo…and sprinkles…delicious 🙂 Have a great time in Chicago!

  2. OMG all your meals look delicious… especially your night time snack..can I come over lol? I never use salad dressings, which people find odd but I just think it kills the veggies flavors. I usually just add a bit of apple cider vinegar and olive oil and I’m good to go. My current favorite night time snack has to be cottage cheese mixed with dark cocoa powder and topped with natural nut butter:)

  3. Oh my gosh I want that lasagna! I’ve been wanting to make one for myself lately and then I realized I don’t have a rectangular baking dish. How have I been cooking for myself for the past 4.5 years without one?!

    My favourite salad dressing is just a homemade combo of olive oil, aged balsamic vinegar, and a small squeeze of honey. I love how sweet it is haha.

    And my night time snack is almost always some form of Greek yogurt with mix ins and toppings. It’s the only thing that keeps me satisfied til the morning!

  4. I love packing salads for lunch too! Fave. Yours with the sweet potato looks fantastic. Mine also always have hiding spinach haha. Spinach = minimal ingredient compared with the bulky stuff! In my home salads I rarely use salad dressings b/c I put so much in there that is already moist (roasted veg with EVOO, beans, etc) that dressing would just make it a soggy mop. But at restaurants I love an interesting vinaigrette like a maple!
    That lasagna looks so incredible. Definitely a good go-to recipe! My mom makes lasagna and I swear every time she does it grows. I saw a recipe once that used cottage cheese instead of ricotta and I want to try it!
    Probably one of the only reasons I wish I liked oatmeal is so I could eat oats in a jar, hahaha, that sounds so good.
    Glad you had a workout that made you feel proud! I love that. I sometimes get stuck on having a bad workout but the next one is always better!

  5. Okay now I have a serious craving for some lasagna… and it’s only 9 AM! And cookies too? Gah! Girl, what are you doing to me?! I definitely believe that a cookie is the perfect way to end the night, but since I don’t currently have any (sad face), I’ve been making do with some kind of yogurt/cereal/fruit/AB mix… it’s like a mini breakfast before bed 😀 As for salad dressing, I don’t get too fancy. Usually it’s just a drizzle of olive oil, lemon, and honey.

    Hope you’re having an awesome time in Chicago!

  6. Um that lasagna looks amazing. I could totally go for some good old fashioned comfort food right about now. And those energy balls look delicious too! I may have to try those.
    Munching on carrots is my personal favorite way to snack 🙂
    Can’t wait to hear about your trip!

  7. I have never had casein powder but I keep hearing more about it. I consider myself a carrot monster, I love carrots. I could eat them everyday and never get sick of them. probably the crunch I love the most.

  8. Yum I love the look of your packed lunch! And Werthers are the best 🙂

  9. I haven’t had lasagna in forever! Must fix this.

  10. Man seeing how delicious your lasagna looks makes me want to run out to the store & buy all the needed ingredients (but bc i’m lazy, ill just continue to drool over yours:))

  11. love oats in a jar – i think it always makes them test better!

Leave a Reply

