Better With Sprinkles

The Colourful Side to Healthy Living.

Chicago Recap: Suzie the T-Rex.

17 Comments

(Chicago Recap Day 1, Day 2).

Hi friends! Happy Thanksgiving to my American buds…and happy Thursday to everyone else!

So continuing on with my recap week, day 3 in Chicago.

Breakfast

DSCF1820

In the morning, I went straight for the breakfast buffet. Scrambled eggs, bacon, melon and french toast. I ended up going back for my bacon – one of those foods that I don’t eat as often as I should, considering that I do really enjoy it!

Another morning at the conference – more interesting presentations! Because I plan on focusing a lot of media for my MA thesis next year, I stuck with media-related presentations for the most part. One of the presentations I attended was a round-table discussion focusing on crime representations in the media. I’m really critical when it comes to media/news, so it was interesting to hear the opinions of people who actually work in it. They have a lot of the same issues with it as I do, so I enjoyed being able to listen to their discussion.

Lunch

so…any SNL fans out there?

You remember the Cheezeborger, no fries, chips, no Pepsi, coke skit with John Belushi?

Well…I ate there for lunch.

DSCF1827

Also happens to be the same area where the chase scenes in Blues Brothers and The Dark Knight were filmed!

So, I had to do John Belushi proud and get the “cheezeborger, double cheeze”.

DSCF1822

And, while watching the season 2 premiere of Anthony Boudain’s The Layover on Chicago, I couldn’t help but notice we ate our Billy Goat Tavern burgers the same way – added ketchup and pickles. Weird things make me happy. Open-mouthed smile

Really, the cheeseburger wasn’t anything special, but the story behind it made it pretty awesome.

DSCF1826

I didn’t try it, but I was intrigued!

After some more walking, we headed up to the Field Museum.  The Field Museum is a museum of natural history that first opened in 1893. I had no idea they had such an impressive museum in Chicago.

DSCF1840

The museum is also home to Suzie, the most complete t-rex skeleton in the world.

DSCF1830

Impressive! When I showed Eric this picture, he told me that scientists have recently discovered that t-rex’s were actually covered in feathers, not scales as we assumed. So basically, Suzie would have looked more like a giant chicken than anything else.

DSCF1831

That’s one hell of a chicken.

Unfortunately, we got to the museum too close to closing time to be able to see all the exhibits, but we were able to see two of the three special exhibits. The Maharaja exhibit, which focused on Indian history, and the Extreme Animals exhibit, which was awesome. I’m definitely an animal lover (I wanted to be a veterinarian as a kid) so it was cool to find out more about them. Unfortunately, no pictures were allowed in the special exhibits, so I can’t show you guys any of the cool things in there.

But they were allowed in the rest of the museum – we made sure to hit up the Egyptian exhibit. Being an archeologist was also on the list of things I wanted to be at some point in my life (seriously, I did – and continue to – change my mind every 7.5 seconds about my future career) because I found Egyptian history so fascinating. I’ve done at least 5 projects throughout my life on Cleopatra – she was one impressive woman!

DSCF1832

Mummies are interesting, but a little creepy to look at. There’s a dead person wrapped up in there!

DSCF1838

Egyptians sure loved their cats, didn’t they?

After closing, we made the walk back to the hotel (a good 2.5 miles) just in time for the Manager’s Reception (I told you we took advantage!)

DSCF1848

Sangria is one of my absolute favourites!

We didn’t feel like wandering too far for dinner, so we headed to Volare, an Italian place up the road.

DSCF2351

(pictures are a bit blurry…might have something to do with that sangria Winking smile)

We got an appetizer of calamari for the table.

DSCF2355

I swear, you can always judge a restaurant by it’s calamari. It’s so easy to overcook and have it go all rubbery on you, so if the calamari’s good you know you’re in for a good meal.

This definitely passed the test! I adore calamari, and Volare’s version was perfectly crispy and tender. So, so good.

Because I had filled up on calamari (and apps at the hotel) Nicole and I decided to split a few dishes.

DSCF2357

We ordered the Insalata di Fagiolini – green beans, roasted tomatoes, crab meat, toasted almonds and pecorino cheese with a garlic dressing. Definitely unlike any salad I’ve had before, but I enjoyed it.

DSCF2358

You can never go wrong with a shrimp cocktail, can you? These shrimp were almost as big as my fist – ridiculous.

DSCF2363

And meatballs are absolutely necessary in an Italian restaurant, right?

Overall, this was a fabulous meal!

We talked about going out that night to check out the Chicago club scene, but I’m pretty sure we were all passed out by 11. Party animals, clearly. Smile with tongue out

Italian food, a famous burger and a giant t-rex…definitely a great day!

<— What dish do you judge a restaurant by?

<— Do you like museums? Any favourite exhibits?

17 thoughts on “Chicago Recap: Suzie the T-Rex.

  1. Italian food and burgers? Doesn’t get any better than that! Have a wonderful day 🙂

  2. Mmmm calamari….one of my favorite apps…and I totally judge a restaurant on how they make it…bread too (if bread is involved)….now I want Italian food and it’s 7:51 on Thanksgiving morning….problem haha. Have a wonderful holiday hun 🙂

  3. Every time I see a mummy I think about how the person in there used to be alive thousands of years ago and it totally creeps me out! I love exhibits about the first North Americans though. Also Vikings, cause they were pretty cool. 😀

    It depends on the restaurant, but for Italian food I judge them by their pasta noodles. They have to be homemade!

  4. Sangria! My kind of drink 🙂 I would have loved that Maharaja, given my love for everything Indian. I tend judge restaurants by their salads. If they’re cooking pasta, pizza, etc they can always add more cheese and butter to make it good, but if a restaurant can make lettuce delicious? Now I’m impressed.

  5. I had no idea there was a huge museum in Chicago! I’m definitely a fan of museums, and really, really want to see the one in NYC. The museum we have here in Edmonton is pretty boring, so I’ve never gotten to see any interesting exhibits. There’s a huge dinosaur museum in Drumheller, though, so at least I got to see some dinos 🙂

  6. There vegetarian dishes! Restaurants only offer a few and there always the same. If its a dish that is outside the box then they get my approval. I Love museums, my fave exhibit is BodyWorlds!

  7. Mummy’s are so freaky yet at the same time super interesting. It’s so fascinating to me! I wish there were bigger museums here in Victoria, but there aren’t really any neat ones. It looks like you had a blast!

  8. Agree with you about calamari being a test of a good restaurant – I had calamari as an appetizers at a Bistro today!!! So good, I could eat a pound of that stuff!

  9. Pingback: Chicago Recap: Fish, Planets and Deep Dish. « Better With Sprinkles

Leave a Reply

