Better With Sprinkles

The Colourful Side to Healthy Living.

WIAW #12: Cut Squash, Not Fingers.

39 Comments

Good morning! How’s your week going so far? I’ve been ridiculously busy with school this week, so it’s been going by fast. No complaining though, I’m definitely counting the days until Christmas vacation!

Yup…it’s definitely Wednesday. Thanks to Jenn for hosting! These are my eats from yesterday:

Breakfast

Kind of an unusual one for me, but it worked really well.

DSCF2520

I figure sweet potatoes are sweet enough to be a breakfast food, right? I made one up quick in the microwave, added a scoop of peanut butter and threw two sunny-side up eggs on top.

DSCF2523

Sweet potato, peanut butter and eggs….is that weird? Whatever, it was delicious and it will definitely be a breakfast repeat. Smile

Lunch

I love Tuesdays because I don’t have to be at school until 1. This means I actually get to eat lunch at home, as opposed to packing something to take to school with me.

DSCF2530

I had a veggie burger on a sandwich thin with a side of steamed broccoli and cauliflower.

DSCF2531

The burger had romaine, tomato, banana peppers, pickles and honey mustard.

When I was a kid, I absolutely hated pickles (as well as a lot of other food…I was a picky eater, to say the least). Now they’re a burger must-have; so good!

after-lunch palate cleanser:

DSCF2536

Werthers, you are fabulous.

Snack

The packed snack to eat during class:

DSCF2529

An ambrosia apple and a cheese string. I’m pretty sure this was my most-frequently-eaten afternoon snack during the last two years of my undergrad – felt nostalgic bringing it back!

Dinner

While I was in class today, the main dish for dinner was cooking away at home. Yup – the slow cooker. Love of my life, that thing.

So, you want to know the absolute easiest chicken recipe ever?

Here you go:

1. Buy a whole chicken that’s already tied and had the gross bits removed.

2. Season chicken with whatever you like. I went with salt, pepper, and roasted garlic – keeping it simple.

e

3. Place chicken in slow cooker. Set on low. Walk away for ten hours.

DSCF2518

And there you have it – the easiest chicken recipe in existence. It makes for a flavourful, fall-off-the-bone chicken. In fact, it was so tender I couldn’t even pull it out of the slow cooker in one piece (hence why there’s no after picture – a pile of chicken parts does not make for a pretty photo).

Since that part of dinner was taken care of, I went right to work on the sides when I got home.

Remember that spaghetti squash I bought last weekend?

DSCF2538

I figured it was a good night to try it out. Of course, cutting a squash is terrifying – especially one that’s this shape. The goal: cut the squash. Avoid fingers and other body parts.

DSCF2539

Success!

I brushed the squash with a mixture of melted butter and maple syrup, then sprinkled on salt and pepper. It went into the oven face down for 30 minutes at 400 degrees.

DSCF2542

Looks tasty to me. Smile

The “forking” process (cue uncontrollable giggles here) was actually pretty fun – this stuff has an interesting texture, doesn’t it? I mean, I would never mistake it for spaghetti, but as a side dish it’s pretty tasty.

I steamed up some green beans on the side to round out the meal.

DSCF2545

I went back for a few more bites of chicken and squash – both were delicious!

DSCF2554

I’m determined to reinvigorate my love for tea. I’ll drink it daily for a few weeks, but then I’ll stop and I don’t care less for a while. It’s tasty (especially with a few drops of liquid stevia thrown in) but maybe I’m just lazy? I have a tea press, maybe I should start brewing up some loose leaf tea something…although that means someone would have to tell me how to actually use the thing properly. Smile with tongue out

Snack

The before bed snack:

DSCF2556

Strawberry Banana Chobani with some Trader Joe’s Cat Cookies. The day that my container of Cat Cookies becomes empty will be a sad one indeed – I’ve been eating at least a few daily. Easily one of my favourite snacks right now!

And…back to the school-related grind. Have a good day!

<— Lunch: eat it at home, pack it, buy it? I don’t mind packed lunches, but I much prefer having complete access to my kitchen come lunch time.

<— Current snacktime favourites?

39 thoughts on “WIAW #12: Cut Squash, Not Fingers.

  1. Haha, no way!! My post today is all about spaghetti squash! So if you’re looking with something to do with the leftovers… But be careful, I never even attempt to cut them open raw, I always microwave them first

  2. That spaghetti squash sounds awesome!! I’ve only ever just thrown it on my pan and then topped it with marinara sauce…definitely trying it your way next! I always have to pack a lunch during the week, so I love the weekends or the rare day off where I can make whatever I want and eat it on a real plate! Mm and current snack time favorites are cottage cheese topped with cereal, nut butter, and fruit, chocolate covered almonds, plantain chips, apple crisps, pretzels and pb, and greek froyo 🙂

  3. I’ve made spaghetti squash twice before- first time, didn’t like it. I didn’t know how watery it can be and so the second time around, I baked it in the oven, then pressed the strands in a collander for a few hours. Then it was all gravy- I added it to my stirfry dishes and used it as a filler for my wraps. I’m thinking about getting another before they go out of season…

    I always have to pack a lunch now that I’m working again- but I’m like you, I love having the access to my kitchen. I feel more relaxed and able to ‘kick back’ so to speak. Saturdays and Sundays are the days when I can make my favorite meal (toast with bananas/pb/cinnamon/nutmeg with an apple or pear, handful of nuts) and watch Law and Order on Netflix. I look forward to those times so much…

    ED’s made it difficult for me to have a ‘snack time’. Trying to improve on that. But I do LOVE yogurt with any kind of granola, cookies, etc crushed in it- that combination is heavensent 🙂

  4. Ok first of all, that breakfast seriously sounds delicious. I’ve never thought about combining sweet potatoes, [AB], and eggs, but holy.wow… if there was maple syrup involved, I’d probably be in heaven. And I’m definitely feeling you on the apple and cheese string snack bringing back tonnes of nostalgia – that was probably one of my most common college snacks too! As for lunches, I really prefer being able to have them at home, but when I think about it… I usually end up eating the same thing I would normally pack anyways 😆

  5. man what a great dinner. i am too intimidated to cook a whole turkey or chicken like that but I really am craving turkey. one day!

  6. I usually either do sweet potatoes with egg or sweet potatoes with pb and never thought to combine it – looks good actually!! Werther’s have always been my favorite hard candy 🙂 And I agree with you about packing lunches, I’d much rather not have to think ahead what I will feel like and have full access to my kitchen at lunch.

  7. Strange combo or not, your brekkie looks delicious! Lately my fave snacks have been KIND bars & yogurt bowls with applesauce and almonds!

  8. those cat cookies…..confession: I ate an entire jar of those in one day. that was literally all i ate. too good! also I might try that breakfast looks interesting!

  9. My classes are basically all in the afternoon this semester, so I almost always get to eat at home. I way prefer it to packing my lunch!

    My favourite snacks are apple + flavoured almonds, a homemade granola bar, or Greek yogurt + granola.

  10. I have a squash waiting for me! I need to make some spaghetti squash asap! I have been slacking WAY too much on that!

    Oh the ginger cat cookies, yes they are good! You did tell me you have been loving those!

    Happy Wednesday love!

  11. I LOVE spaghetti squash! My favorite way is steamed with butter and ranch seasoning… Amaze

  12. That breakfast combo looks a-freaking-mazing. I keep seeing sweet potatoes with nut butter and sweet potatoes with eggs on Instagram. But now you’ve done all 3 and I think you’re a genius.
    I really like the “walk away for 10 hours” step in that chicken recipe. It may be my favorite recipe step ever.
    I love that you showed your snack and said “the snack” not “a snack”, as in it’s a usual thing. I feel that, girl. I love my Chobani with a carb mix in like you have. I have that almost each night. I can’t eat a cookie by itself. It has to be crumbled into something i can eat with spoon. I can savor it longer that way!
    That tea flavor sounds delish. I’ve found that with flavored teas like that with dessert-like flavors, it just never ACTUALLY tastes like caramel cream or anything like that. But I also drink my tea plain so maybe a bit of honey or Stevia would fix that.

  13. spaghetti squash really is such a pain to cut! i am also counting down the days til xmas, i feel every yr i get in this school funk around this time and just cant wait til the semester over lol.. my fav snack atm is popcorn or chocolate avocado “pudding” with a banana.. so addicting!

  14. I see it’s already here as a comment, but I was going to say to just pop some holes in the bad boy and pop that squash in the microwave for a few minutes to soften it. I wasn’t allowed to used knifes until high school and had safety scissors until grade 7 because I was always so clumsy with sharps (now I work with needles all day, go figure!!) — so this trick was the first that my Mom showed me when she learned I wanted to cook squash in university.
    I’m definitely a lunch packer. I can’t justify spending 5-10x as much money on the same lunch that I’d probably end up packing anyway.
    I absolutely LOVE your day of meals — well balanced with sweetness and wholesomeness and Werther-y goodness. So fabulous!! 😀

  15. I was about to buy that tea! How is it? What other Stash teas have you tried?

  16. Ah, so glad you had success without cutting off any fingers! 🙂 Lately for a nighttime snack I’ve been enjoying 1/4 cup pumpkin, 1/2 scoop chocolate protein powder & pretzels for dipping. It’s like dunkaroos 🙂

  17. Mmmall llooks great! Sweet potatoes definitely qualify as a breakfast food 🙂 i had kabocha squash for breakfast the other morning 🙂

  18. Pingback: Rehashing November + Christmas Challenge. « Better With Sprinkles

Leave a Reply

